Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Rice Mushroom Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Rice Mushroom Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2003

      MMMMMMM Doubled the recipe and couldn't stop eating it after step 10 - before I even heated through. Found this to be a little moist so will reheat leftovers without a cover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Karen, I love wild rice in my stuffing! This recipe is delicious! The only changes I made were using whole wheat bread and adding a pkg of dried porcini mushrooms (after soaking...and the liquid went into the gravy) for a more mushroomy flavor. The texture was perfect...not too wet or dry. Thanks, Karen! M&Mers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      WONDERFUL!!! i have been looking for a non-traditional stuffing because I do not like stuffing. This is excellent, definitely will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Excellent stuffing - I stuffed a roaster chicken and cooked the extra on the side in a casserole Instead of French bread I used home made Potato bread, buttered the slices and broiled them, until gplden, then cubed them. The remaining butter I used as directed to saute the veggies. Thankyou Karen for an addition to my stuffing recipes definately a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Wonderful! I used whatever bread I had kicking around, a packaged mix of brown & wild rice, a pkg of dried porcini mushrooms rehydrated in red wine (because I didn't have any fresh mushrooms), and added 2 stalks of celery and an apple. I don't think you can mess this recipe up. I used it to stuff acorn squash, and have a bunch leftover to just eat. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      no left overs here. Wow. this was great. We're vegan so I used vegan butter & vegan chicken broth. I also make this a day ahead of our thanksgiving feast and put it in the slow cooker for 2-3 hrs. before dinner time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      My husband and I loved this recipe - this is the recipe we will use for Thanksgiving and Christmas dressing for now on! I did make several changes: used whole-grain bread, only 2 tbsp butter, fresh herbs, and left out the pecans. We also used a mixture of shiitake, oyster, portabella, and button mushrooms. Very simple to make, and had excellent flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      This is one of my favorite recipes. I make it for Thanksgiving every year and every year I am asked to make it again. Pretty simple to make and it tastes simply awesome (even better the 2nd day). I always use baby bella mushrooms in it. <br/><br/>This exact recipe was in a 2002 holiday addition of Easy Home Cooking magazine - I use that one issue quite often. Wondering if somebody should have cited a source. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Hey thanks for the recipe Foods.com. Read some of the reviews and it sounds like a winner. I'm going to get the ingredients tonight. Happy Thanksgiving to everybody, I hope everybody's dinner comes out great!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Cooked it for Christmas, and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe, and after step 11, threw it in a crockpot and set on low while I cooked other dishes. It was flavorful and moist. loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This is awesome! I cooked the stuffing in the crock pot to give myself more space in the oven. I used more broth from cooking the giblets and neck than the 1 cup called for in the recipe. A new Thanksgiving favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I cut the recipe in half and served it with my Thanksgiving meal. I used fresh sage and about twice as much broth as indicated. It was very flavorful and well received.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I consider myself a very picky stuffing person. THIS recipe is so delicious. I have a family of mushroom lovers, so this recipe was perfect for us. I used Rice a Roni Wild Rice and prepared according to package directions. I used my bread machine to make a 1.5 pound loaf of french bread for the bread crumbs, which I toasted in the oven according to the directions. Fabulous flavor and texture. I used more broth than 1 cup, I'd say more like 3 cups. This recipe was one I'd recommend definitely. Will probably use this every year for our holiday stuffing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Very good stuffing. I doubled the recipe, but thought that there was too much rice and butter. I will definitely use this recipe again, but will cut the butter and rice in half. I used half whole grain bread and half sourdough. Loved the flavor and texture. I love the addition of pecans, but DH didn't like that, so I'll probably leave them out next time. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Outstanding stuffing--the flavors and textures are wonderful (both on, and after, Thanksgiving)!! I cooked the wild rice a day ahead. And I toasted the (whole wheat) bread cubes in an ungreased frying pan on the stove--since the oven was full of other goodies. Oh, and I replaced over half of the butter with olive oil (3 tablespoons of butter and 5 tablespoons of olive oil). A very forgiving recipe--it came out great anyway! Thanks for posting, Karen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This recipe was a hit at my Thanksgiving table. I doubled the recipe and added a couple stocks of chopped celery. I am not a big fan a stuffing and neither were a few members of my family, but everyone loved this dressing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Wow oh Wow is what I heard at the dinner table when I first served this dish. I used garlic bread instead of french loaf and used extra mushrooms since we LOVE mushrooms. It turned out fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I made the stuffing to go with a big baked chicken I was making, and we really liked the change from the usual stuffing. Even the kids cleaned their plates, which is a feat in itself! Got compliments from DH too, so I guess it's safe to say it will be made again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I loved this stuffing!! I am not a big fan of the traditional, dried out bread stuffing. This was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Rice Mushroom Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.4
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    74%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 457.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    day-old French bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites