25 Reviews

This rice was delicious! I used a mixture of white and wild as that is all that I had on hand - I cooked it for 20 minutes. I also added a bit of chopped red pepper for some colour. It was very easy to prepare and a huge hit at our thanksgiving dinner. I highly recommend this recipe! I also noted that it only took 30 minutes to reheat the entire product (after mixing in veggies and cheese).

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert October 14, 2002

Served this with cornish game hens, it was a big success. Could even be made the day before.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Morrison January 03, 2003

I made this for dinner last night, and my husband said (for the first time in 24 years of marriage) "we could serve this dish to guests!" LOL-I hope that isn't a comment on my usual cooking! I substituted carrots for the bell peppers, as no one in my house will eat peppers, and used about twice the veggies that the recipe called for. Next time I will try it in my slow cooker. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann1wp October 31, 2011

My husband said that he had never tasted anything like that before...we both loved it. I used toasted pecans in place of the almonds and cooked the rice in my rice cooker (1 c. of rice to 4 c. of water). It was even better the 2nd day. Thanks for posting! I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy April 24, 2015

Really tasty! I used less butter and omitted mushrooms because I don't eat them. I had a Chinese wild rice and barley mixture to use in this recipe. The nut and cheese mixture was great! Not a weeknight dish because the rice needs to be pre-cooked, so I did that the day before and made the rest of the recipe the next day. I served it with a salad (no meat, we are vegetarians). Next time I will add a few carrots for some vitamin A. BF really liked this too. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 30, 2014

Delish! I did sub carrot for pepper, and I probably used more veggies than the recipe called for. Other than that followed the recipe and it was great. I'll definitely make this again. I haven't had wild rice before, and I'm glad I started with this. Served it with lemon chicken. Husband didn't care for this, but he doesn't like wild rice at all, so his opinion didn't count! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie March 03, 2012

Great vegetarian wild rice recipe! I added a few chopped carrots for color and left the cheese on the side (for anyone to add, if desired). I actually made the wild rice part of it ahead of time (1 day in advance) and the remaining steps seemed to take no time at all. Brought it to a potluck tonight and it went over well! PS - the almonds are a MUST.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atiekay November 27, 2011

this was really great!! i just cooked some wild rice and used the directions on the box. then i followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great! it added awesome SHABANG to plain wild rice! the flavor was great with all those veggies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAGGZ!! November 17, 2010

Given all the complimentary reviews, maybe I did something wrong. But this turned out quite bland for us. It's pretty, no doubt, but the flavor was eh. I used my rice cooker instead of cooking on the stovetop, and I used bella instead of white mushrooms - other than that, we followed the recipe. If I try again and it turns out better, I'll update my review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish May 07, 2010

Very good side dish. I'll definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan March 07, 2010
Wild Rice Casserole