Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      This rice was delicious! I used a mixture of white and wild as that is all that I had on hand - I cooked it for 20 minutes. I also added a bit of chopped red pepper for some colour. It was very easy to prepare and a huge hit at our thanksgiving dinner. I highly recommend this recipe! I also noted that it only took 30 minutes to reheat the entire product (after mixing in veggies and cheese).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      Served this with cornish game hens, it was a big success. Could even be made the day before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I made this for dinner last night, and my husband said (for the first time in 24 years of marriage) "we could serve this dish to guests!" LOL-I hope that isn't a comment on my usual cooking! I substituted carrots for the bell peppers, as no one in my house will eat peppers, and used about twice the veggies that the recipe called for. Next time I will try it in my slow cooker. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Really tasty! I used less butter and omitted mushrooms because I don't eat them. I had a Chinese wild rice and barley mixture to use in this recipe. The nut and cheese mixture was great! Not a weeknight dish because the rice needs to be pre-cooked, so I did that the day before and made the rest of the recipe the next day. I served it with a salad (no meat, we are vegetarians). Next time I will add a few carrots for some vitamin A. BF really liked this too. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Delish! I did sub carrot for pepper, and I probably used more veggies than the recipe called for. Other than that followed the recipe and it was great. I'll definitely make this again. I haven't had wild rice before, and I'm glad I started with this. Served it with lemon chicken. Husband didn't care for this, but he doesn't like wild rice at all, so his opinion didn't count! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Great vegetarian wild rice recipe! I added a few chopped carrots for color and left the cheese on the side (for anyone to add, if desired). I actually made the wild rice part of it ahead of time (1 day in advance) and the remaining steps seemed to take no time at all. Brought it to a potluck tonight and it went over well! PS - the almonds are a MUST.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      this was really great!! i just cooked some wild rice and used the directions on the box. then i followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out great! it added awesome SHABANG to plain wild rice! the flavor was great with all those veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Given all the complimentary reviews, maybe I did something wrong. But this turned out quite bland for us. It's pretty, no doubt, but the flavor was eh. I used my rice cooker instead of cooking on the stovetop, and I used bella instead of white mushrooms - other than that, we followed the recipe. If I try again and it turns out better, I'll update my review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Very good side dish. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      beautiful side dish!! i used a box of uncle ben's wild rice that i prepared and then mixed with my sauteed veggies. the only changes i made to the veggies were to go a little light on the mushrooms (about 1/2 cup), use red bell pepper instead of green, add fresh parsley and minced serrano peppers. loved the crunch of the almonds! i made this up a day ahead of time and then all i had to do was bake. this is a keeper side dish! thanks a lot sue!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      very good, will make again for sure. Altered to soak rice for 7 hours prior to cooking, still had good flavor and texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

    • on June 27, 2008

      Very, very good. I made just as written, except that I used beef broth because that's what I had on hand. The taste was nutty and earthy and we loved it. The only thing is...we couldn't really taste the cheese in this dish. (I used a medium cheddar) We didn't miss it so next time, I will just leave it out and skip the extra calories and fat. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      My husband and I really enjoyed this dish! I used half wild rice and half barley(I had some leftover). Delish!Thanks Sue! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was excellent. The almonds gave it texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Positively delish! I served it as a side to Herbed Balsamic Chicken (Herbed Balsamic Chicken Breasts). It made a superb supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Great way to dress up wild rice and can be made in advance and baked at the last minute. Though I wouldn't say that this is 8 servings. I would say about 4 in my house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This was a wonderful side. Came out beautifully! It was easy to prepare, and the family really enjoyed it. Very tasty! Thank you for posting. I will definitely make this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Yum! I substituted chopped red peppers for color, used baby bella instead of regular button mushrooms, and used reduced fat cheddar cheese (you'd never know it!). I didn't rinse the rice first (I imagine this is to get rid of the starch/stickiness, but the consistency still turned out great), and I ended up having to cook it for about an hour. I mixed everything up in advance, poured it into the greased casserole dish, covered with foil, and kept it in the fridge until 30 minutes before dinner. I baked the cold casserole -- still covered with foil -- for 30 minutes at 375 to heat through, and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This recipe is fantastic! I can rarely get my husband to eat wild rice and he gobbled this right up. I served this with Halibut Olympia and they went nicely together. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    53%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 22.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 172.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes