Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Mushroom Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2011

      Oh, man. I wish I could give this ten stars I would have. My husband said this was an outstanding dinner and my 9 year old son said it was one of his favorites. My local store didn't have "cremini" mushrooms, and I just now learned they are simply baby bello mushrooms. Instead, I used a package of mixed, pre-sliced portabello & shitake mushrooms. Other than this, I made the recipe exactly as shown. I served it over rice, and hubby said he thinks it wouldn't be as good over noodles. This is definitely going to be a regular meal in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Pretty good. I love the mushrooms so next time, I think I will add a bit more of them. I did add about a clove of garlic. Since I like the twang of a traditional Stroganoff, I will add a little less veggie broth and sour cream instead of reg. cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      wow i made this recipe the other day ,it was a hit my husband loved it .I made some rice to go with it . the only thing i did differently is i sliced the mushrooms but other than that i stayed true to the recipe. Thanks for posting this recipe it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Great recipe. I altered it to be dairy-free. I used small amts of olive oil for butter and just omitted the cream. I also used nutritional yeast rather than parm. I'm sure my version was less creamy and decadent than the original, but it was still amazingly tasty and a definite repeat. Other changes were that I added 4 cloves of garlic, I used an onion because I didn't have shallots, I used closer to 5 cups worth of mushroom (sliced into long strips rather than cubed), and I added some small scallops to add protein. I served this over egg noodles and we really enjoyed it. Next time I might try a mix of different kinds of mushrooms, since they are so good. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Definitely outstanding! I served this over tricolor rotini noodles. My DH said he hopes I'm planning to make this dish a regular staple! I used dried thyme, but otherwise made the recipe as written, and it was perfect. Thanks! UPDATE: I just made a vegan version of this, and it was still outstanding! I used a vegan margarine for the butter, Silk creamer for the heavy cream, and Vegan Gourmet Monterrey Jack style cheese substitute rather than the parmesan. My family inhaled it, as did our non-veg. dinner guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      We love this! I did change it up a bit, since i was using things i had on hand. I replaced the veg broth with "not beef" broth and used a can of vegetarian mushroom gravy in lieu of heavy cream. I also upped the amount of liquids a little and just tossed in noodles and let them soften. delicious! Next time i'd like to try the exact recipe. :) thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I LOVE IT!!!! I made this as a side pasta dish to go with our meal. It is so good I wish I could give it more stars. I can't wait to use the sauce as a steak topper next time or on top of some crepes stuffed with chicken. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      A nice and easy warm meal for a cool, rainy day. I didn't have any heavy cream so instead used a combo of milk and sour cream to make it the proper consistency. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I'm getting ready to make this again. It's delicious over egg noodles for dinner. I put in some extra mushrooms and used both criminis and portabellos. I had leftovers for breakfast last time, couldn't wait until lunch. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This recipe is delicious! I made the recipe word-for-word and it turned out great! I did not have fresh thyme, but used dry and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      THIS was SOOOOO stinkin' good! If I knew it was that good I would have made double! Thank you for sharing, am saving to my favorites! XO LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      WOW!!! I've been looking for a recipe that my mom used growing up, and I think I just found it! It brough back sooo many memories. I used freshly picked Chanterelles and added chicken pieces for a complete meal. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Wow. I was in the need for a something comforting and easy and quick. This was perfect. I used low fat sour cream instead of heavy cream and rather than broth, i had some fresh wild mushrooms as well as dried morels and i used the soaking broth from the dried mushrooms. Also a little tarragon. Served over toasted english muffins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Yummy and easy to make. Like some other reviewers, I added a clove of garlic with the shallot, and when I went to add the broth I realized I was out of veggie and had to use beef broth, but otherwise made it just as stated, and served it over rice. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Wow, this was terrific!! I had only chicken broth at home so I made it with that, and used mini portabellas. They have so much flavour! We loved this recipe over curly egg noodles and topped with chopped green onion tops. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 3 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      This was simple to make and tasty! I took a previous suggestion and added a clove of garlic in with the shallot. I also used light thickened cream to reduce the fat, and it came out perfectly. I served it over fettuccine, but we both agreed that it would be better with rice to soak up the yummy sauce. Made for ZWT 3. Thanks I Cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      I made this for dinner tonight & served it over pasta. It was very tasty and the mushrooms gave it a beautiful taste. The flavours were subtle, though I think I'll add some garlic next time just to balance it out. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Reviewed for ZWT3 (Zingo). This was amazing! I made the recipe pretty much as written, although I used a slightly larger quantity of cremini mushrooms, and I had to substitute sherry for white wine. The flavor was absolutely wonderful. I can see what you mean by "heart and filling"; I served it as a side dish, but I'm thinking that from here on out, it'll be an autumn/winter main course. Really first-rate -- and my husband the mushroom-lover adored it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Excellent, Excellent Excellent. Made this just as stated and boy was this a great dish. Had it over rice. Say no more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Delicious! I tossed mine in spaghetti, and served it as a side dish with pork cutlets. It was so creamy and had great flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Mushroom Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.7
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    73%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 56.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 211.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes