39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Super tasty! And easy to make vegan - we sub the butter for olive oil and used silk creamer for the cream! We also added lots of garlic!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alethia December 15, 2008

Very good recipe and very easy. Two small changes, I used 2 small garlic cloves (I love garlic) and 2 shallots. I just wanted a bit more onion flavor. But otherwise as is.

I served it over pappardelle pasta and garnished with scallions just because I had them on hand. It was very very good. Rich and tasty. Will be making again. Excellent recipe. I enjoy making a meatless meal once a week and this tasted just as good or better.
Thx

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 22, 2011

Wonderful. Thinking about incorporating this into a layer of vege lasagna. I added the a few packs of the wild mushroom blends which contained 3-4 different types of mushrooms

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikechudy July 29, 2013

I had portabella mushrooms in the refrigerator that needed to be used, and thought I would try this as a side dish for beef tenderloin. It paired perfectly with the beef as a side dish, but this would make a fantastic vegetarian main dish as well. I will definitely keep this in rotation as both a side and main dish! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 12, 2011

This was awesome!!! I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebeboy03 July 30, 2009

Wow, what flavour! I made it with 2 spring onions & light thickened cream. I might add garlic next time, I may not. We love garlic but are both happy with the results as is. Thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt July 30, 2009

Excellent meal! Not difficult to make, very flavourful, and absolutely wonderful over noodles. I used a mix of different types of mushrooms, and did mince up a clove of garlic with the shallot, and it was so good, it was so hard to stop eating it! Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Runcible Spoon February 20, 2009

Enjoyed this very much. Came together very quickly. Nice dish when you don't feel like having a meal with meat. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama March 18, 2014

I really liked this! I had to use an onion instead of a shallot and Bella mushrooms as my grocery store didn't carry what the recipe called for. I did not do well making the roux which made chunks in my sauce...I'll have to work on that! Overall great taste and substitute for a dish with meat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aquallama22 December 11, 2013

THIS RECIPE IS TO DIE FOR! I would make it every night if it wasn't for my husband...He HATES mushrooms, yet this is the only mushroom dish he will eat!!!!!!! FANTASTIC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tudjeminka January 24, 2013
Wild Mushroom Stroganoff