Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Mushroom and Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Mushroom and Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2012

      Delicious and heart warming soup. I had a second bowl because I just couldn't get enough. I halved the amount of onion as I'm not a big fan and I just simply sauteed them for 5 minutes. I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow because I know it will be even better, if that's even possible. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      This was really excellent. I made this vegan by using veggie broth and vegan butter. I also added a good handful of chopped fresh mushrooms in step 5. I agree that the onions too much, much longer to caramelize. I'm not sure I tasted the caramelization so I'd probably skip that step next time and just sautee them. I thought it tasted much better and richer the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I was excited to see a recipe that used dried mushrooms as well as barley so gave this a try. I've given it a mid-range rating because I thought the taste was just OK. It lacked a certain richness that I think mushrooms call for. Maybe if I had added some cream or more butter it would have fixed the problem, but didn't try that. I followed the recipe very closely, and even used my wonderful homemade beef stock which I thought would pretty much make any soup spectacular. It didn't. It's a nice first course kind of soup as far as the chunky and thick qualitites, so I served it before a roast beef entree. The flavor did go well, but it just lacked something (maybe a bottle of beer or a jar of beef gravy?) I don't think I'll make this again as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This soup is absolutely wonderful. made as directed, except didn't carmelize anything, added 8 oz. fresh mushrooms, just cause I had them, and added a little half and half at the end. The will be a repeat, especially in cold Montana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      My husband is still raving about this delicious soup!! What a wonderful, easy and flavorful recipe. This will be a great addition to our winter repetoire. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Bliss. Delicious, flavorful and hearty soup. I did add a touch of extra sherry and the juice from a lemon, but otherwise followed your recipe exactly. Yummmmmm. And healthy to boot! How can you go wrong??? So good. What a wonderful post. Thanks, mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Yummy soup, though word of warning--I have no idea how one could caramelize onions in 15 minutes, on low heat. It took me over an hour on low heat, with finely diced onion! I referenced a bunch of other sites, and it either takes several times longer than 15 min, or increasing heat to medium. The recipe author did not accept an edit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      It is hard to go wrong with mushrooms and barley with me because I love them both. I really enjoyed this soup and it made just enough for the two of us to have two big bowls and some bread as our whole meal. I will certainly make this again and use it as a base maybe to experiment too. I can see adding a bit more veggies and of course more mushrooms. Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Great soup for a winter's night - I made this for ZWT3 and the family did enjoy it - I stuck to the recipe but it is very versatile and a whole range of vegies could be substituted - next time I will add more mushies to give it a stronger flavour and more thyme - and then the children probably won't eat it !! I am a mad soup lover and this will definitely be added to my repertoire so thanks to mama's kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      We used both dry and fresh mushrooms, plus mixed some vegetable with some chicken broth. I don't think you can go wrong with this one. I usually share our leftovers with friends or neighbors.... not this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Yummy yummy! I used fresh mushrooms, but otherwise followed the recipe. So good! This freezes and reheats well too. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      I love mushroom soup, with the addition of barley it makes a perfect vegitarian soup! I used vegetable broth (ashamed to say canned) At your suggestion is sub. sherry with apple cider it was perfect! I used dried shitake mushrooms which is one of our favorites. Thank you Hope!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This is a delicious soup that my whole family enjoyed. I used beef stock, but omitted the sherry. Delicious blend of flavours, and I just love barley. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Loved this hearty soup! barley my favorite grain with earthy mushrooms does a body GREAT! Thanks Hope!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      This is a nice thick soup and I had to add an additional cup of water close to the end of cooking. I used porcini mushrooms which gave a very intense flavor, chicken stock and used the orange juice sub for the sherry. The soup was served with JQ's Sesame Raised Cornmeal Muffins Sesame Raised Cornmeal Muffins and a side salad for a satisfying dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      A delicious soup which I made with my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock. I love mushrooms, so in addition to the dried mushrooms, I added an additional 250 grams of field mushrooms, finely chopped in step 5. I’ve found they take longer to soften than smaller mushrooms, but that they are very flavoursome. I loved it that the mushroom broth was used in the recipe. I would have included it anyway, but in so many recipes it seems to just get thrown out. All that flavour and nutrition: such a waste! And the thyme blended so well. We ate it with warm crusty bread rolls. Thanks for a great recipe: everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      This is a great soup. I made a few substitutions to reduce the fat and cholesterol. Used Smart Balance spread to replace butter, replaced sherry with water, and used vegetable stock. Very enjoyable soup for lunch today. Thanks mama.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Mushroom and Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.6
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    11%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 355.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites