17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and heart warming soup. I had a second bowl because I just couldn't get enough. I halved the amount of onion as I'm not a big fan and I just simply sauteed them for 5 minutes. I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow because I know it will be even better, if that's even possible. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp February 27, 2012

This was really excellent. I made this vegan by using veggie broth and vegan butter. I also added a good handful of chopped fresh mushrooms in step 5. I agree that the onions too much, much longer to caramelize. I'm not sure I tasted the caramelization so I'd probably skip that step next time and just sautee them. I thought it tasted much better and richer the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain January 27, 2010

I was excited to see a recipe that used dried mushrooms as well as barley so gave this a try. I've given it a mid-range rating because I thought the taste was just OK. It lacked a certain richness that I think mushrooms call for. Maybe if I had added some cream or more butter it would have fixed the problem, but didn't try that. I followed the recipe very closely, and even used my wonderful homemade beef stock which I thought would pretty much make any soup spectacular. It didn't. It's a nice first course kind of soup as far as the chunky and thick qualitites, so I served it before a roast beef entree. The flavor did go well, but it just lacked something (maybe a bottle of beer or a jar of beef gravy?) I don't think I'll make this again as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest December 26, 2009

This soup is absolutely wonderful. made as directed, except didn't carmelize anything, added 8 oz. fresh mushrooms, just cause I had them, and added a little half and half at the end. The will be a repeat, especially in cold Montana.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serri in Montana January 21, 2009

My husband is still raving about this delicious soup!! What a wonderful, easy and flavorful recipe. This will be a great addition to our winter repetoire. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EinyOpi December 11, 2008

Bliss. Delicious, flavorful and hearty soup. I did add a touch of extra sherry and the juice from a lemon, but otherwise followed your recipe exactly. Yummmmmm. And healthy to boot! How can you go wrong??? So good. What a wonderful post. Thanks, mama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly August 07, 2008

Yummy soup, though word of warning--I have no idea how one could caramelize onions in 15 minutes, on low heat. It took me over an hour on low heat, with finely diced onion! I referenced a bunch of other sites, and it either takes several times longer than 15 min, or increasing heat to medium. The recipe author did not accept an edit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juls.tran April 15, 2008

It is hard to go wrong with mushrooms and barley with me because I love them both. I really enjoyed this soup and it made just enough for the two of us to have two big bowls and some bread as our whole meal. I will certainly make this again and use it as a base maybe to experiment too. I can see adding a bit more veggies and of course more mushrooms. Made for PAC Spring 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne April 02, 2008

Great soup for a winter's night - I made this for ZWT3 and the family did enjoy it - I stuck to the recipe but it is very versatile and a whole range of vegies could be substituted - next time I will add more mushies to give it a stronger flavour and more thyme - and then the children probably won't eat it !! I am a mad soup lover and this will definitely be added to my repertoire so thanks to mama's kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 08, 2007

We used both dry and fresh mushrooms, plus mixed some vegetable with some chicken broth. I don't think you can go wrong with this one. I usually share our leftovers with friends or neighbors.... not this time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplyCV January 23, 2007
Wild Mushroom and Barley Soup