Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Mushroom and Barley Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Mushroom and Barley Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2010

      Really nice flavour and very healthy! I added some dried garlic towards the end of cooking to boost the garlic flavour and this was lovely with some grated parmesan sprinkled over the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This is so delicious, Debb! Yum! I added a couple of white mushrooms and a couple of cremini mushrooms to the three portabella that made up just over 8oz. I also couldn't find my dill, so I used my favourite mushroom herb partner, thyme. I also stepped up the pepper. I only had one cup of barley, so I used 1/4 cup of brown rice to make up the amount, and that worked perfect. This is so, so, so, good!!! Thanks, Debb, for posting it! Made for 1-2-3 Hits Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Great side dish to a roast chicken. I cut the recipe in half with no problem. We don't like dill so I used marjoram, which pairs well with mushrooms. Will be making this again! Made for Fall 2012 PAC game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Wow! This is really yummy! I love barley, and this is such a great way to prepare it. The end product is so rich and creamy; you'll completely forget the fact that it's good for you. I didn't have any fresh mushrooms, so I used 1/2 oz of dried porcini, then used the soaking liquid instead of part of the broth. All I had was dried dill, so I used dried instead of fresh. Loved, loved, loved it! I'll definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Russ and I have been eating quite a bit of barley lately-I'd have to say this one is my favourite so far. It was ever so quick to put together, then needed no watching while it cooked. My sort of dish!. I used fresh thyme from my garden instead of dill and added that early on, then finished the dish with fresh parsley. More than 5 stars in our opinions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This is delicious in a very earthy fashion. I love it made as directed using Vegetable Stock. Thanks, Debbwl! Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I really loved this! I used baby portabellos instead of the full sized ones. I also added a little bit of toasted pecans to the mix. I'll do this one again. Its very hearty and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I had 10 ounces of portabella mushrooms. I needed to add 1 cup of chicken broth near the end of cooking cause the barley was too crunchy. The dill weed is a great addition. Thanks Debb :) Made for Holiday tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This was fabulous! I used the suggested Portabella and the vegetable stock option. I would highly recommend using the more robust mushroom. I believe the button variety would not yield the depth of flavor. Also, don't leave out the fresh dill. It added so much to the dish. Made for TYM Tag Game. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Mushroom and Barley Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (1291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.3
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    16%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 70.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites