9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really nice flavour and very healthy! I added some dried garlic towards the end of cooking to boost the garlic flavour and this was lovely with some grated parmesan sprinkled over the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud April 06, 2010

This is so delicious, Debb! Yum! I added a couple of white mushrooms and a couple of cremini mushrooms to the three portabella that made up just over 8oz. I also couldn't find my dill, so I used my favourite mushroom herb partner, thyme. I also stepped up the pepper. I only had one cup of barley, so I used 1/4 cup of brown rice to make up the amount, and that worked perfect. This is so, so, so, good!!! Thanks, Debb, for posting it! Made for 1-2-3 Hits Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen November 28, 2009

Great side dish to a roast chicken. I cut the recipe in half with no problem. We don't like dill so I used marjoram, which pairs well with mushrooms. Will be making this again! Made for Fall 2012 PAC game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey October 07, 2012

Wow! This is really yummy! I love barley, and this is such a great way to prepare it. The end product is so rich and creamy; you'll completely forget the fact that it's good for you. I didn't have any fresh mushrooms, so I used 1/2 oz of dried porcini, then used the soaking liquid instead of part of the broth. All I had was dried dill, so I used dried instead of fresh. Loved, loved, loved it! I'll definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH June 10, 2012

Russ and I have been eating quite a bit of barley lately-I'd have to say this one is my favourite so far. It was ever so quick to put together, then needed no watching while it cooked. My sort of dish!. I used fresh thyme from my garden instead of dill and added that early on, then finished the dish with fresh parsley. More than 5 stars in our opinions!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 13, 2011

This is delicious in a very earthy fashion. I love it made as directed using Vegetable Stock. Thanks, Debbwl! Made for PRMR tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 02, 2010

I really loved this! I used baby portabellos instead of the full sized ones. I also added a little bit of toasted pecans to the mix. I'll do this one again. Its very hearty and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 13, 2009

I had 10 ounces of portabella mushrooms. I needed to add 1 cup of chicken broth near the end of cooking cause the barley was too crunchy. The dill weed is a great addition. Thanks Debb :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 09, 2009

This was fabulous! I used the suggested Portabella and the vegetable stock option. I would highly recommend using the more robust mushroom. I believe the button variety would not yield the depth of flavor. Also, don't leave out the fresh dill. It added so much to the dish. Made for TYM Tag Game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 01, 2009
Wild Mushroom and Barley Pilaf