Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Grape Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Grape Jelly

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2013

      I've used this recipe several times and my jelly has turned out perfect each time. I've canned for 30 yrs and this recipe is a great one. I've read some of the reviews on here and there are many reasons jelly won't set. Never double a jelly recipe, if your recipe calls for liquid pectin do not sub powder, they are made totally different and from different things, make sure once you add your pectin you bring it back up to a rolling boil for a full minute, this is a must. Hope that helps for those of you that had problems with this recipe. Happy canning!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      Why I started this project: lots of wild grapes at our summer place and a project for my 3 year old granddaughter. We/I picked tons of grapes: it was a good year! Then I spent two evenings stemming grapes because my mom always did. I used lots less water when cooking them -- I/2 cup per four cups of grapes. Then I froze the whole thing while I waited for my mom's jelly bag to arrive. I let it drip overnight and just squeezed it at the end. The jelly bag is a prised family heirloom -- now I know why my mom stemmed the grapes -- it's easier on the bag! I ended up with 9 cups of juice and started to follow this recipe at that point. I am just finished my first batch, which looks and tastes wonderful!! My mom warned me not to double/triple the recipe -- so two more batches to go. A moment of madness because I had no time to do any of this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      I tried this - as a novice - I was totally impressed - it worked out so well I use it in my holiday gift baskets. This is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      I followed the recipe I had if anything just a bit over 3 pounds. I added water just like this recipe called for but when I read the Certo insert that recipe said 1/2 cup. Anyway I ended up with 8 cups of juice. I don't know what grapes Jan has- mine are Vitus Riparia here in Minnesota that might make some difference - in any case a very abundant yield this year. The Certo package also said to use 85ml per 4 cups of juice and 7 cups of sugar so I used 2 packages of Certo and 7 cups of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

    • on July 25, 2010

      This worked well for me. It didn't jell perfectly, but I don't blame the recipe -- I think jelly can be unpredictable that way. I got more juice than I expected, and used the extra to make some awesome sorbet. The jelly tastes pretty good. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This is how my mom made wild grape jelly. It always set except one time in my childhood...and we made a lot of batches back in the '80's. Anyhow, the one time it didn't set we used it as syrup on pancakes and it was so good. Of course, we never had tons of sugar in our diet...Anyhow, this tastes great, better then regular grapes even.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      I used this recipe & had pretty good luck. I ended up w/4 cups of juice, so maybe you'd want to use less water to start with. I did only use 3c of finished juice & froze the other 1c for future use. I used powdered pectin, using the pkg directions for bottled unsweetened grape juice. Be sure to follow those directions if you use powdered pectin, because the order is a little different. I washed the grapes & left them on the stems, like the other recipe...it's sure a lot easier than picking them all off! Good Luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      It is a good recipe only i added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice. I was told years ago not to double any jelly recipe as it would not jel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I had poor results. The jelly never set. I followed the directions to a T and I also had 6 cups of juice in step 4. I doubled the pectin because I had double the juice and it still did not set. I would not recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      this recipe is great - even better than the one I had been using. I like that it uses a little less sugar than other recipes. Making wild grape jelly is a wonderful way to celebrate the harvest season and welcome in the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I just tried this one and it did not work. This recipe is very odd? Calls for 3 cups of water and 3 lbs of grapes ? That makes way more (6 cups) of juice. It states in recipe it will make 3? Mine did not come out well at all and I wasted a lot of time. Just followed the one on the sure gell and it worked like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      I did not take the grapes off the vines - I started, and found this too messy. My mother used to make this all the time but her recipe is gone. This tasted just like hers, which is a real compliment. Very easy, especially if you don't mind picking grapes in the bush. I did not let my jelly drip - I squeezed my jelly bag, but the final product is still pretty clear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Grape Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (2972 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 884.3
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    47%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 229.2 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 221.7 g
    887%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid pectin

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes