Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wienerschnitzel! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wienerschnitzel!

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2009

      Followed the recipe to a tee and the only suggestion I would make is to let the cutlets sit in a buttermilk bath prior to dipping in the egg mixture. The buttermilk bath will tenderize the meat and add a nice zip that will also help the flour stick to the cutlets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Had this for dinner and it great! I used veg. oil and a splash of olive oil. I'll be picking up more veal to make and freeze these cutlets for a couple of easy dinners. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This was super easy and super simple. The nutmeg and lemon added a nice, authentic flavor. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Sometimes simplicity is best. This is a fine example. Simply delicious. I especially loved the hint of nutmeg and lemon!! I used less olive oil, about 1/2 cup, and it worked just fine! Danke for posting. ~Made for ZWT6 Zee Zany Zesty Cookz~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This recipe was wonderful....I have never made Wienerschnitzel before. I had friends over to rate this and it got a 5! Made for Spring PAC 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      excellent basic recipe. I made this but used panko bread crumbs with saltine crackers crumbled and used milk in the egg instead of water and also put yellow mustard in with the egg mixture...Just like Guy Ferrari does! it was excellent and VERY tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This was our main dish for our Christmas Eve- Eve meal. I served with Caraway Cabbage and my guys were humming with every bite. I had to use ground nutmeg but next time I will be sure to use fresh. I've noticed other recipes w/o nutmeg but it definitely put it over the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Delicious and easy to make! I would strongly suggest using another oil for frying the meat though. Olive oil at high heat takes on a strange smell and taste. I used safflower and only perhaps a quarter of the amount. The fresh nutmeg and lemon are a tasty combination! Make sure the breakcrumbs are finely ground. Served with spaetzle for our Menu #22502 . Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I loved this dish. I made it exactly as written, except that I didn't have plain breadcrumbs so I had to used seasoned breadcrumbs. The fresh nutmeg and lemon really added a great taste to this dish. This was even better than the Weinerschnitzel that I had gotten at a local restaurant. It reminds me of the time I was traveling with some friends through Colorado and stopped at a quaint little German town at the base of the Rocky Mountains. We decided to try one of the German restaurants, and I had chosen the Weinerschnitzel. This dish tastes exactly like theirs. This recipe is going right into my keeper file. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I grew up in Germany, but had never been aware of the nutmeg. My mother must have kept that a secret. It sure adds a lot. Not to be piccky But it is :WIENER Schnitzel. The "I "is before the "E". Just like the city "WIEN" By the way the restaurants there are not allowed to call it that unless veal is used. They must say Schnitzel nach Wiener Art.( Vienna style! Koechin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      So glad I finally tried this recipe! I've had my eye on it for a while. Honestly, I was going to make Veal Scallopini tonight but I didn't have any plain breadcrumbs and only had rye bread. I used the rye bread for this and the caraway seeds added a unique and great flavor. Sorry to steer away from such a traditional recipe but I wanted to use the veal and I'm glad I made this!! It was easy and delicious. I served this with another recipe I'd had my eye on back when we were touring thru Germany in ZWT4 - "Horseradish Mashed Potatoes With Caramelized Onions"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Would you believe! My butcher's machine that cuts these things was broken so I used some thin steaks our Mexican community use for malenesa (?). Turned out GREAT! Nice and tender and the lemon adds a great taste. Don't forget the leftovers (if there are any)! Makes absolutely GREAT steak sandwiches with a little mayo, lettuce and tomato. Not like the usual TOUGH steaks I wind up with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      The kids kept asking, "What is this again, Mom?" and I would say Weinerschnitzel. And then they would say, "I really like this Weinerschnitzel!" which had me in stitches with their attempts at pronouncing it!. It was outstanding. Loved the little bit of fresh nutmeg and the burst of fresh lemon. It was melt in your mouth. I could not for the life of my obtain vela this week, had to go with turkey cutlets. Best turkey outside of the Thanksgiving Day bird we have ever had. You made our dinner just Duckie! Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      DH, who is not a schitznel connosieur, but has had schnitzel, says, "this is one fine schnitzel!" Our veal cutlets were moist and tasty. The lemon was essential, in my opinion. Thanks for posting, we had a very nice meal tonight. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Very good ! This was very easy to make and the nutmeg is a good edition to the over all taste. I added these to German Home Fried Potatoes for a very German dinner and a small green salad on the side. I didn't use very much salt and next time I think I would add more becuase everyone had to add more later, and next time I will take more time to pummel my meat as thinly as possible with the tenderising mallot because the thinest bits were lovely and crunchy on the outside whilst the meat was soft and cooked on the inside. Please see my rating system: 4 lovely stars for wonderful weekday meal. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wienerschnitzel!

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.2
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    82%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 70.5 mg
    23%
    Sodium 90.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    veal cutlets

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes