12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful!!! WOW!! I did add 1/4 tsp dried thyme and 1/4 tsp dried basil to flour mixture, and used panko (Japanese) bread crumbs. I had more flour than I needed, but just the right amount of bread crumbs and egg mixture. Even though I thought 30-40 minutes was too long to cook them, I did so anyway...and they were perfect. I did uncover and cook on higher heat the last 5 minutes to crisp the outside. After serving, squeezing a lemon on top brought out the flavors. This was as good as any Wiener Schnitzel I had in Germany. Definitely a real treat and a keeper.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl April 09, 2003

Thank you so much for this recipe. My husband loved it alot and was extremely happy that I found it. I would be interested in more Austrian/German recipes so that he will be a happy boy! Thanks again.. Linda

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Kossler January 15, 2004

This is very good. I waited and waited for the veal to go on sale, finally it was so I made this recipe. My family really liked it especially with the lemon, yum. I have always wanted to try Wiener Schnitzel and it did not dissappoint. Thank you for sharing this recipe with my family and me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 19, 2010

We love Wiener Schnitzel and this one is really delicious! I did add garlic powder in with the flour and it was a great addition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cariannhillsgrove April 22, 2009

Very good Schnitzel, and so easy to make! My family and I enjoyed it very much. I did add more lemon, as we really like it on ours. This is a repeater here. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Chef Lori~ November 11, 2008

Very tasty ! This was very easy to make and the paprika was a good edition.. I did use more than directed though.. that said, it still wasn't predonimant so next time I will up the paprika yet again. I also pan fried mine in olive oil and these cook in a few minutes if you have hammered the meat out thin enough. Sadly I remembered the lemon slices in their bowl in the fridge just as we were finishing the last bites of our meal... next time I wil be sure to try this wilh lemon. DH said that for his tastes this was a little too bland.. he wanted some herbs or something extra in it, but veal isn't his prefered meat so what does he know ? LOL. Please see my Rating System: 4 excellent stars for a great Schnitzel recipe that I will be having pleasure in making again. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2008

A classic, and one of my children's favorites, which is why I made it for them today. Really not much different from my regular non-recipe - except I shallow-fried in olive oil. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 31, 2008

I really, really loved this. I had to give it four stars, because my husband insisted it's not quite right without fresh nutmeg grated on it. Once we added that, it was a 5 star for sure. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie May 29, 2008

Well I finally made this recipe and it was great!!!!! I am very pleased with the choice that I made with my first PAC and This recipe will be used again,when ever veal is on sale or maybe next time I will use chicken. I did buy the thin cutlets instead of anything thick,so i didnt cook them for too long and I used lemon juice instead of the fresh lemons. All in all it was very good and everyone loved it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef smiley #2 June 04, 2007

This was very quick and easy. The veal I bought was very, very thin, so I only cooked it uncovered instead of covered, and in butter instead of vegetable oil. I had to cook it two batches, and I probably cooked it less than ten minutes per batch. It was really a treat. I'll save my pennies until I can afford veal again (LOL) and will definitely make it as often as I can.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself May 02, 2007
Wiener Schnitzel