Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wicked Shrimp by Mean Chef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wicked Shrimp by Mean Chef

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2004

      Mean, these are wicked, evil, wicked, inferno like, wicked, molten lava-type shrimp! Did I mention wicked, lol? But absolutely delicious! It's a struggle, because they're so spicy, that you want to stop eating them, but they taste so damn good, so you have to have another, then another, and so on, lol. A great change of pace, that's for sure. I used McCormick's Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning, and all the other ingredients with no changes--we chose to use Guinness, good stuff. These cook up so fast, and the prep is minimal, but with great results. Thanks again Mean, another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      This does exactly what it says on the package. I served it over fettuccine as well with some stir-fried and a loaf of black olive ciabattia bread. Wonderful stuff! My only caution would be to make sure you don't use a steak seasoning with a lot of salt in it. I did, but just increased the amount of sauce to dilute the salt a bit. Next time I'll find a lower-sodium brand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      Great spicy flavor! I didn't have prawns available, and subbed a smaller shrimp. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly (except doubled it). At the last minute some friends dropped by unexpectedly. I sauteed some onions and red and green pepper strips in olive oil with a bit of butter, boiled some fettuccine and tossed the shrimp, pasta and veggies all together in a large pasta bowl. I had heated a baguette and tossed together a quick salad. Every last bite of shrimp (and pasta) was devoured. The last drops of the sauce were soaked up with chunks of the warm bread. My friends left with full tummies and smiles on their faces. Hubby has requested this shrimp again...I am thinking that he doesn't want to share next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Definitely wicked! We loved this shrimp dish! I used McCormicks Grill mates for seafood and that lent a little bit of lemon flavor as well. Of course, I ate mine with lemon wedges ;) Crusty bread to soak up the sauce...ice cold beer and a football game. Heaven! I actually made a pound and a half and made extra "sauce" as we love dunking the bread. Can't brag on this one enough, Mean...another fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I have had this recipe sitting in my "want to try" folder for 5 YEARS!!!! I finally made it tonight and I do not know what took me so long. Loved it. My husband thought it was a bit too spicy, but this is not a surprise. It was terrific. Slight chance I will tone it down for him next time. Served simple w/ bread and a salad. Can't wait to make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      This shrimp was awesome. It is really spicy but it has a wonderful flavor. Really quick and simple to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      We loved this. I made it with onions, green and red bell peppers, and fetuccini like ms_bold suggested and it was amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This is SO good! Super spicy, but I like it like that... was a little much for my hubby, he couldn't finish it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      WOW! These definately have a massive KICK! Very delicious! I didn't have any rosemary, so I left that out. Next time I'll be sure and stock up, though. Also, I can't have beer or flour (gluten intolerance), so I just used 3/4 cups of white wine to make up for the beer, and used cornstarch in place of the flour. GREAT stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I loved this with some crusty bread to soak up the sauce. I should have remembered a previous review to watch out on the salt, my steak seasoning had a lot of salt in it and I probably could have done without the salt, but still, not a drop went to waste and I doubled the recipe. I will be making this again.. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      Very tasty. I have tried several of your recipes and all were winners. One note however, add the salt and peppers gradually to taste. I added all the salt AND used a steak seasoning that included salt so this dish was extremely salty. Next time I will NOT add the kosher salt. Other than that-- this dish was very quick, easy and tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      HUBBY LOVES THIS DISH! I got fresh shrimp from the Gulf when he came home a couple of weeks ago and he really loved this recipe. He is bringing more shrimp home so he can make it this weekend. It was a little too "HOT" for my tastes, but a great recipe over all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Awesome! Very, Very, Very Good! Hot & Spicy, Yummy :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      This was excellent!! Easy, yummy, and HOT! My sweetie and I were both sweating by the end, but it was just so delicious - and great idea about the rustic bread... what better to mop up the sauce and put out the flames! Highly recommended - and I don't usually go for spicy things!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wicked Shrimp by Mean Chef

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.0
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    42%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 346.8 mg
    115%
    Sodium 2306.3 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    steak seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites