13 Reviews

Well my hubby is a "Mainah" and I just love everything Maine so this includes the whoopie pie. It was hard not to eat the shells by themselves. They were OH SO GOOD!!! I would say the only 'problem' I had with the recipe is the filling was a little too sweet and not as stiff as I remember it but that didnt stop anyone from eating them. There will be a next time when I make these but I will adjust the filling to my liking. Totally recommend it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pillsbury12 November 14, 2010

these are easy to make and quite pretty. They are super sweet and somewhat greasy though - I think if I make this again I'll cut back on the oil and sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos March 29, 2009

Yummy! Pumpkin and cream cheese filling! I halved the recipe but added in an extra 1/2 cup flour. They were gobbled up by our family! THanks for the great recipe, KelBel!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady November 03, 2007

These were made for a take-home pac for my DS who is a pumpkin-lover and who also has a sweet tooth lol! I would have prefered a little firmer cookie, next time I might increase the flour slightly, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 08, 2006

These are AMAZING!!! Great with the cream cheese filling but I may try them with a chocolate filling. Hopefully they freeze well because so far this batch is making a lot of pies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvbeagles65 January 20, 2012

My 8 year old son Joel made these with me for Thanksgiving. My Dad's eyes got very wide when he saw our pie-sized whoopie pies, and he dove in. We made ours WAAAAY too big... we think they should probably be more Oreo-sized, rather than pie-sized! And we used Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Classic White frosting rather than the cream cheese filling, because my Mother's lactose intolerant. Also, we added about 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla and reduced the canola oil just slightly to compensate for the liquid. Somehow the pumpkin, eggs (maybe sposed to beat these first???), oil and brown sugar never got "fluffy," which made me very nervous, but they turned out great. HUGE. Don't use large ice cream scoop like someone suggested. Use some kind of tiny little scoop like a gravy spoon or something. Anyway, we got a hoot out of these rich, delish whoopie pies. We think your Dad's eyes will pop when you bring them out for dessert, too, just like my Dad's. Thanks for posting these, KelBel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilachandler73 January 13, 2012

Excellent! I followed another reviewer's advise and added more flour and they came out perfect. For doubling the batch, I added an extra cup. However, I came out short on the filling. So next time I'll increase the filling ingredients too. I took them to work and got rave reviews and lots of requests for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn October 12, 2011

These are absolutley heavenly. I am making them for my 4 year olds fall party at school and he absolutely loves them too. Actually having eaten the pumpkin whoopie from Wicked Whoopies in Freeport this summer I can attest that the taste is spot on!

Being new to Whoopies I did find that the cookie part is terribly sticky. They were sticking to my cooling rack, once cooled and stored they stuck to the platter they were stored on. Seems like the best way to keep them without missing peices from being stuck is to fill and store in individual baggies. I freeze mine as we prefer them cold! I also used 2 Tsp of vanilla instead of the water because I wanted to even out the cream cheese flavor. But that is totally a personal choice!

I can't wait to try making the chocolate ones!! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacnMya'smom October 25, 2010

Yumm! These are tasty! The only thing I kind of didn't like was that the filling was very cream-cheesy, if I could find a way to bring the strong flavor down it would be a 5 star for me! Thank you for sharing this, I love wicked whoopie pies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina September 20, 2009

YUM YUM YUM !!!! When I first made the batter, I was a bit taken back by how loose the it was. I stood there for a few minutes wondering if I had done something wrong or left something out. I decided to throw a few in the oven just to see what would happen. They came out perfect. Nice and moist, and not over done with the spices. They reminded of the pumpkin rolls the sell at church but much, much easier. My kids were attacking these even before I could get them filled. The only things I did different was to add nuts and 1/4 tsp vanilla to the filling. Just a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue-eyed 70's Chick December 20, 2008
Wicked Pumpkin Whoopie Pies