458 Reviews

I decided to make this for Easter and it was the first time that I have ever made a carrot cake. This is just the best!! Very moist and everyone loved it. Made exactly as written. So easy! This has become my new obsession.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean J. April 21, 2014

My son always requests my carrot cake for his birthday...have used the same recipe for thirty years....but this recipe is outstanding.....used half applesauce and half oil and no coconut.....was fantastic......this is my new recipe for his birthday from now on.......you must try this recipe......WONDERFUL....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thekds April 15, 2014

Got rave reviews! I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 natural applesauce for the oil; unsweetened coconut; and in the frosting - 4 oz cream cheese with the 4 oz butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup powdered sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady March 20, 2014

Ok, here's another 5 star review. I made this when I first saw the recipe, about a year ago. I wanted to have a good carrot cake recipe in my repertoire, so I found a few to try. This one was really, really good. Like, the best carrot cake I've ever had :). But I kept trying other recipes, I have no idea why. And now I have to admit defeat. This is the best carrot cake recipe ever, there are no others that can even compare to it. No matter which shape you prefer, it's perfect. A little cream cheese frosting and it's out of this world. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChloeBaby March 01, 2014

FANTASTIC cake! I divided the cake mixture into 2 9-inch cake pans and made a double-layered one (baking time was 40 minutes)! After reading the reviews, I substitutes the white sugar with brown sugar and also decreased the amount to 1 cup; used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce; chopped pecans instead of walnuts. The result - it was soft, moist, and full of greatness. I especially liked the frosting. Lennie was right. The frosting mentioned in this recipe was so much better than store-bought ones. I doubled the frosting recipe for my double-layered cake! It was GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 27, 2014

BEST cake I have ever baked! I was really surprised at how MOIST this cake was (specially being a carrot cake..). Easy & no fuss! (next time ill get the man of the house to grate the carrots ^^.. which is the only time consuming thing)<br/><br/> I baked on a 23 cm round tin (tall one! this cake will raise!) 45 min exactly and it was just perfect, no sinking, no nothing. <br/><br/>For the recipe I followed the suggestions and did: <br/>1/2 cup Oil + 1/2 cup Apple Sauce<br/>1/2 cup Coconut only (as I was afraid it would make the cake dry).<br/><br/>For the pineapple I drained one of those small cans of chunks in syrup and passed it (pureed it) through the food processor (as they felt a bit hard).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizfernandez February 19, 2014

I love this recipe. Best carrot cake ever. I imagine all the oil in this recipe is why it is so moist. I'd like to try to sub the oil with applesauce one day but I never seem to have applesauce on hand. I omit the coconut because I absolutely hate coconut. Surprisingly, the pineapple is what makes it special. It adds a unique flavor that everyone loves but can never guess what it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dus January 30, 2014

1st time I make Carrot Cake because it aways seemed so complex....OH MY GOD! I followed the recipe to a T and the icing recipe and it was by far just as good as those expensive bakery carrot cakes! Will make again! Loved it! Thx for sharing:)<br/>Question: so I have made this about 5 times and I have discovered that the carrots turn green after a day? The carrots inside the cake? I have researched this and found it could be a reaction with baking soda??? Can anyone help me out with this issue? I love the cake and want to make but don't wAnt guests to be frightened by green carrots!!! Help my email is <br/>dabkeh@hotmail.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dabkeh January 04, 2014

This was a hearty and delicious carrot cake. My dad declared it the best he has ever had. It was easy to put together and will be made over and over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennygal December 14, 2013

I would have been daft to not try a cake with so many wonderful reviews! This really is an awesome carrot cake. I doubt I'll ever need another recipe! I made a few small changes. I subbed tofu for the eggs to keep things vegan, added a smidge of nutmeg, and used part brown sugar, and used pecans. My feather (lifelong carrot cake nut) said it was the best ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 13, 2013
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake