456 Reviews

Got rave reviews! I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 natural applesauce for the oil; unsweetened coconut; and in the frosting - 4 oz cream cheese with the 4 oz butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup powdered sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady March 20, 2014

Ok, here's another 5 star review. I made this when I first saw the recipe, about a year ago. I wanted to have a good carrot cake recipe in my repertoire, so I found a few to try. This one was really, really good. Like, the best carrot cake I've ever had :). But I kept trying other recipes, I have no idea why. And now I have to admit defeat. This is the best carrot cake recipe ever, there are no others that can even compare to it. No matter which shape you prefer, it's perfect. A little cream cheese frosting and it's out of this world. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChloeBaby March 01, 2014

FANTASTIC cake! I divided the cake mixture into 2 9-inch cake pans and made a double-layered one (baking time was 40 minutes)! After reading the reviews, I substitutes the white sugar with brown sugar and also decreased the amount to 1 cup; used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce; chopped pecans instead of walnuts. The result - it was soft, moist, and full of greatness. I especially liked the frosting. Lennie was right. The frosting mentioned in this recipe was so much better than store-bought ones. I doubled the frosting recipe for my double-layered cake! It was GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 27, 2014

BEST cake I have ever baked! I was really surprised at how MOIST this cake was (specially being a carrot cake..). Easy & no fuss! (next time ill get the man of the house to grate the carrots ^^.. which is the only time consuming thing)<br/><br/> I baked on a 23 cm round tin (tall one! this cake will raise!) 45 min exactly and it was just perfect, no sinking, no nothing. <br/><br/>For the recipe I followed the suggestions and did: <br/>1/2 cup Oil + 1/2 cup Apple Sauce<br/>1/2 cup Coconut only (as I was afraid it would make the cake dry).<br/><br/>For the pineapple I drained one of those small cans of chunks in syrup and passed it (pureed it) through the food processor (as they felt a bit hard).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizfernandez February 19, 2014

I love this recipe. Best carrot cake ever. I imagine all the oil in this recipe is why it is so moist. I'd like to try to sub the oil with applesauce one day but I never seem to have applesauce on hand. I omit the coconut because I absolutely hate coconut. Surprisingly, the pineapple is what makes it special. It adds a unique flavor that everyone loves but can never guess what it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dus January 30, 2014

1st time I make Carrot Cake because it aways seemed so complex....OH MY GOD! I followed the recipe to a T and the icing recipe and it was by far just as good as those expensive bakery carrot cakes! Will make again! Loved it! Thx for sharing:)<br/>Question: so I have made this about 5 times and I have discovered that the carrots turn green after a day? The carrots inside the cake? I have researched this and found it could be a reaction with baking soda??? Can anyone help me out with this issue? I love the cake and want to make but don't wAnt guests to be frightened by green carrots!!! Help my email is <br/>dabkeh@hotmail.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dabkeh January 04, 2014

This was a hearty and delicious carrot cake. My dad declared it the best he has ever had. It was easy to put together and will be made over and over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennygal December 14, 2013

I would have been daft to not try a cake with so many wonderful reviews! This really is an awesome carrot cake. I doubt I'll ever need another recipe! I made a few small changes. I subbed tofu for the eggs to keep things vegan, added a smidge of nutmeg, and used part brown sugar, and used pecans. My feather (lifelong carrot cake nut) said it was the best ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 13, 2013

I don't really like carrot cake, and my husband generally won't eat it, but when our CSA gave us carrots, I found this recipe.<br/><br/>Wow. It is amazing. Even my non-carrot-cake eating husband loves it. I could take or leave the frosting, but that may be personal taste, as I don't like frosting in general.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carbsurvivor July 11, 2013

Made this for dessert to a dinner I was invited to. Got so many great compliments. Felt so good. I've been asked to bring more. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dhooi July 02, 2013
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake