Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    451 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 451

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2012

    • on March 30, 2012

      This was amazing and people kept asking for the recipe. Used less oil and more applesauce like the other reviewers suggested. Gobsmacking! :P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Lennie, You should be ashamed of yourself for posting this recipe! If somebody doesn't intervene I'm going to eat this entire cake myself. I am reminded of the scene from Sex and the City where Miranda Hobbes calls Carrie and says "You'll probably need this information when you check me into the Betty Crocker Clinic." Seriously, I never remember having made any cake from scratch, the boxed mixes are just too convenient and easy. I wanted to make something special for my husbands birthday. He is pretty fussy about his favorite cake, and finds most recipes too sweet for his liking. So I was a little concerned about all the sugar, between the cake and then the frosting. Thought I would cut some of the sugar from the frosting, but the other recipes I found actually contained more sugar. In the end, I followed your recipe EXACTLY. I will never make this cake again ... without inviting more guests to help us eat it. Having something that tasty sitting in my fridge is a lesson in self discipline. It is SO delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Thank you Lennie! I wanted to make a carrot cake from scratch and found this recipe's feedback promising.... Boy did it NOT disappoint! Super easy, moist, and hearty.. I followed gardeningRI's advice to cut down on the sugar and bleached flour ("sub whole wheat pastry flour, pare down the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, decrease oil to 1/2 cup & add 1/2 cup applesauce, and add 1/2 cup golden raisins") and made cupcakes at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. I also used my Grandmother's cream cheese frosting recipe (1 brick of cream cheese, 3 Tbl butter/marg, 1 tsp vanilla, and 2-4 cups of confectioners sugar to taste).

      They came out perfect! Can't wait to make them again for the Spring holidays :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I made this cake yesterday for a gathering of friends. It was wonderful! Moist, yet light, and not overly sweet. I made one substitution and that was I used 1/2 cup oil, and 1/2 cup applesauce to lighten it up a little. Actually, my husband came in as I was pouring the oil, and he freaked out at the full cup, so I cut it in half. I don't think it made any difference to this cake. It couldn't have been any better! I used a little over 3 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting. Just kept adding until it was the right consistency, and that was what it came out at. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      A definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This cake turned out great! I made it gluten free using gluten free all purpose flour in place of wheat flour and it still baked up perfectly. I did add raisins to ours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      I agree with everyone, this is a great cake. My husband loved it. I didn't have any sinking of the cake. The 45 minute bake time was perfect for the 9 x 13 pan size. I substituted a box of chopped dates for the nuts. I thought the icing needed something, so , I added a teaspoon of vanilla to it. I will make this often. Thank you Lennie, for a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      DH and I baked this cake together and it was very easy. The cake was lovely and moist; it had great flavour and texture. I did add a touch of vanilla to the icing, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. DH thought the icing was too sweet for his taste, but I thought it was perfect. We both give this cake 5 stars! It is a great starter cake for those of us who don't have a lot of experience with carrot cakes. I look forward to experimenting with more spices (allspice, ginger, nutmeg, etc) in the future. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      This was a huge hit. Made it for my boyfriend and him and his room mates all loved it. I'm sure I will be making this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      My Bestie requested a carrot cake for his birthday so I pulled up this recipe to try. It came together beautifully. I panned it up in 2 8 inch rounds, turned around and saw the pineapple draining in a strainer. I cooked it off and frosted it anyways. Surprise, Surprise, it was fantastic!!! This goes in my Holy Grail cookbook for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      This recipe is why I love Food.com!
      Moist, easy and guaranteed to be loved by everyone.
      As its so moist it does tend to go mouldy after a few days so best not to bake too far ahead of time, but usually none left after day one anyway so should not be a problem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      This cake was amazing! So much better than any store or bakery bought carrot cake. I made it for Easter and everyone loved it. I love how coarse the cake is with all the nuts and coconuts. This is will be our new Easter tradition and a go-to dessert recipe for company and dinner parties. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      After all the great praise for this recipe I just had to add it to my carrot cake collection. The downside, for us, is too much baking soda so had to reduce it by 1/2 a tsp. and no difference to the texture. Really detest tasting baking soda in a finished product. There was a complaint re the frosting - this is the normal (to me) cream cheese frosting recipe. Perhaps if the reviewer just omitted the butter but then the texture will be gummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      What a fabulous cake! This cake was absolutely delicious, and came out so moist. I almost considered not putting the coconut in, as I was making it for my mom, who's not a fan. However, you could barely taste it, and it added great flavor. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Very good cake, moist and very simple to make. However, I recommend tasting the frosting before you slather the cake in it, luckily I did because the taste of the frosting almost turned my stomach.

      I will look for an alternative frosting and keep the cake recipe, I dont know why the frosting tasted so horrible, probably the butter maybe I dont know but I thought it tasted awful. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      I was a little nervous preparing this cake, as it was my first baking experience outside of a store-bought box. The end result? Perfection!! I received SO many compliments, the frosting wasn't too sweet or overbearing, and the cake was incredibly moist and flavorful. Carrot cake has always been a favorite for both my boyfriend as well as my roommate, and not only did they LOVE it, the cake made a fan out of me! It will definitely be a repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      I added a teaspoon of nutmeg to the cake batter and reduced the beg. oil to 3/4 cup. I also added some lemon juice to the frosting which gave it a fresh "zing." This was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      I made this for a Family gathering over the 4th of July. Rave reviews form EVERYONE!! And many requests for the recipe. You will not be disappointed if you make this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 662.0
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    52%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 77.4 mg
    25%
    Sodium 582.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 56.0 g
    224%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites