455 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my first carrot cake that I made :) and followed this receipe! Turned out very tasty, little bit dry(well-not that moist as I wanted). But I think I didn't put enough oil, I also put half oil and half apple sauce. Also added ground nutmeg and ginger, since I like the taste of them in cakes usually :) frosting was awesome!!! This receipe is a keeper and I will definitely use it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grundaliene March 30, 2015

GREAT!! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deringler December 03, 2014

This is almost the same as the recipe I have from my Pillsbury cookoff cookbook. I love scratch cakes better than from a box and they don't take more than 5 minutes more to put together. The dry ingredients should be sifted together and I sift the flour before measuring. I don't like a very sweet cake so I usually cut the sugar in the frosting by half a cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Hawaii November 18, 2014

Let me just say everyone in my house hates carrot cake (except me), especially with coconut. I made it and didn't tell anyone what was in it. Everyone has been raving about this cake, even after I told them what was in it! This is my go to carrot cake recipe...perfect in every way, cooking time is exact as well. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Joe November 02, 2014

I discovered this recipe 8 years ago when I was searching for a carrot cake recipe for my husband's (then boyfriend's) birthday. I have made this carrot cake every year since! DH's birthday is tomorrow, so I am once again turning to my favorite recipe. The only change I make is to omit the nuts. Other than that, this carrot cake is perfect, always comes out moist and delicious. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acissej505 September 26, 2014

This recipe is a keeper. It's just a really amazing carrot cake- what more can one say?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer April 30, 2014

I decided to make this for Easter and it was the first time that I have ever made a carrot cake. This is just the best!! Very moist and everyone loved it. Made exactly as written. So easy! This has become my new obsession.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean J. April 21, 2014

My son always requests my carrot cake for his birthday...have used the same recipe for thirty years....but this recipe is outstanding.....used half applesauce and half oil and no coconut.....was fantastic......this is my new recipe for his birthday from now on.......you must try this recipe......WONDERFUL....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thekds April 15, 2014

Got rave reviews! I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 natural applesauce for the oil; unsweetened coconut; and in the frosting - 4 oz cream cheese with the 4 oz butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup powdered sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady March 20, 2014
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake