455 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You know it. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! March 04, 2011

Amazing!! Loved them....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicks Rule February 25, 2011

This is the most delicious and moist carrot cake i have ever made. The only thing that i did differently was put a little bit of coconut extract in the frosting...It was amazing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Bear 888 December 20, 2010

This recipe has turned us on to carrot cake!! Based on some other reviews and personal preference, I made the following changes:
1 1/3 c sugar (will use 1 c next time), no nuts, sweetened flaked coconut (not sure if I was supposed to use unsweetened?), 2/3 c vegetable oil instead of 1 c, 1/2 c pineapple juice. I made this in 2 9 inch round dark pans, baked at 325 for 30 min. With the frosting, I added 1 t vanilla and 1 1/2 T heavy cream to the butter and cheese. Then I just kept adding 10x until it had the consistency and sweetness I preferred. Yum!! It was awesome!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 September 06, 2010

Believe it. This is the ONLY carrot cake recipe you will ever need.

My sixteen year old daughter made this for my birthday a few weeks back, and it is incredible. Being the burgeoning pastry chef, she had the idea of including a few zips of lemon zest to the frosting, and added one more layer of flavor to this already delicious cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chow n' groove August 25, 2010

Absolutely delicious!! This is my new carrot cake recipe! 45 minutes is way too long, cake was done in 30 minutes cooking at 350

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyyally June 08, 2010

Thanks for a great recipe! I wanted to try a different Carrot Cake for an order I got. This was very easy. This recipe yields 6 cups of batter. If you need to know, 1.5 pounds of carrots will yeild 2 cups of shredded carrots. I didn't wait long enough and when I flipped my cake out of the pan, it stuck so I was able to taste the cake. YUMMY. I hope my client likes it as much as I did. I frosted with a cream cheese icing. Thanks again. It's a keeper! UPDATE: My customer shared a slice with me. It was really really good. I found my mom's recipe this morning and it is almost identical to this one. No wonder I liked it so much...LOL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz April 04, 2008

Thank you Lennie! I've been looking for this recipe for years. This is a very moist cake with lovely balance of flavors and textures. It freezes well (unfrosted). I made some adjustments: substituted 5 spice powder for half of the cinnamon because my original recipe had cloves and cardamom; applesauce for half of the oil; and golden raisins (sultanas) for half of the coconut because my DH loves raisins. I baked it in 2 layer pans for 25 minutes, and they were perfectly done, no sinking in center. I frosted and served one layer on a dessert buffet at Thanksgiving; froze the other layer and served it at Christmas. It was just as lovely as the first.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf January 16, 2007

Simply the best carrot cake I've ever had. I had forgotten just how delicious carrot cake can be. THANKS!! FYI: to make it non-dairy, I used Tofutti cream cheese for the frosting and it was still delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Chana November 08, 2006

my grandaughters love carrot cake and this one is a keeper...I have tried at leat a dozen and this one tops the list as great...so you can bet will make it often

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clance February 02, 2004
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake