Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    452 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 452

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2014

      Probably more like a 3.5 rating, but rounding up because it's decent. It's just not what I expect out of carrot cake (which is far and away my favorite kind of cake). First of all, the cake itself is a bit too salty. And that's saying something, coming from someone like me who prefers salty to sweet. I would highly recommend cutting the salt in half, especially considering that as is, it has 582mg of sodium per serving (more than in 3 oz. of salted potato chips). Second, perhaps I've been spoiled by some really great carrot cakes, but I think this could stand to be more dense. It just seemed a bit too airy for me. That's a matter of personal taste, though. Bottom line: reduce the salt, and if you're a fan of really dense carrot cake, you'll probably want to try a different recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      This recipe is a keeper. It's just a really amazing carrot cake- what more can one say?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

    • on April 21, 2014

      I decided to make this for Easter and it was the first time that I have ever made a carrot cake. This is just the best!! Very moist and everyone loved it. Made exactly as written. So easy! This has become my new obsession.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      My son always requests my carrot cake for his birthday...have used the same recipe for thirty years....but this recipe is outstanding.....used half applesauce and half oil and no coconut.....was fantastic......this is my new recipe for his birthday from now on.......you must try this recipe......WONDERFUL....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Got rave reviews! I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 natural applesauce for the oil; unsweetened coconut; and in the frosting - 4 oz cream cheese with the 4 oz butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup powdered sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      Ok, here's another 5 star review. I made this when I first saw the recipe, about a year ago. I wanted to have a good carrot cake recipe in my repertoire, so I found a few to try. This one was really, really good. Like, the best carrot cake I've ever had :). But I kept trying other recipes, I have no idea why. And now I have to admit defeat. This is the best carrot cake recipe ever, there are no others that can even compare to it. No matter which shape you prefer, it's perfect. A little cream cheese frosting and it's out of this world. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      FANTASTIC cake! I divided the cake mixture into 2 9-inch cake pans and made a double-layered one (baking time was 40 minutes)! After reading the reviews, I substitutes the white sugar with brown sugar and also decreased the amount to 1 cup; used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce; chopped pecans instead of walnuts. The result - it was soft, moist, and full of greatness. I especially liked the frosting. Lennie was right. The frosting mentioned in this recipe was so much better than store-bought ones. I doubled the frosting recipe for my double-layered cake! It was GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      BEST cake I have ever baked! I was really surprised at how MOIST this cake was (specially being a carrot cake..). Easy & no fuss! (next time ill get the man of the house to grate the carrots ^^.. which is the only time consuming thing)<br/><br/> I baked on a 23 cm round tin (tall one! this cake will raise!) 45 min exactly and it was just perfect, no sinking, no nothing. <br/><br/>For the recipe I followed the suggestions and did: <br/>1/2 cup Oil + 1/2 cup Apple Sauce<br/>1/2 cup Coconut only (as I was afraid it would make the cake dry).<br/><br/>For the pineapple I drained one of those small cans of chunks in syrup and passed it (pureed it) through the food processor (as they felt a bit hard).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I love this recipe. Best carrot cake ever. I imagine all the oil in this recipe is why it is so moist. I'd like to try to sub the oil with applesauce one day but I never seem to have applesauce on hand. I omit the coconut because I absolutely hate coconut. Surprisingly, the pineapple is what makes it special. It adds a unique flavor that everyone loves but can never guess what it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      1st time I make Carrot Cake because it aways seemed so complex....OH MY GOD! I followed the recipe to a T and the icing recipe and it was by far just as good as those expensive bakery carrot cakes! Will make again! Loved it! Thx for sharing:)<br/>Question: so I have made this about 5 times and I have discovered that the carrots turn green after a day? The carrots inside the cake? I have researched this and found it could be a reaction with baking soda??? Can anyone help me out with this issue? I love the cake and want to make but don't wAnt guests to be frightened by green carrots!!! Help my email is <br/>dabkeh@hotmail.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      This was a hearty and delicious carrot cake. My dad declared it the best he has ever had. It was easy to put together and will be made over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I would have been daft to not try a cake with so many wonderful reviews! This really is an awesome carrot cake. I doubt I'll ever need another recipe! I made a few small changes. I subbed tofu for the eggs to keep things vegan, added a smidge of nutmeg, and used part brown sugar, and used pecans. My feather (lifelong carrot cake nut) said it was the best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      I don't really like carrot cake, and my husband generally won't eat it, but when our CSA gave us carrots, I found this recipe.<br/><br/>Wow. It is amazing. Even my non-carrot-cake eating husband loves it. I could take or leave the frosting, but that may be personal taste, as I don't like frosting in general.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Made this for dessert to a dinner I was invited to. Got so many great compliments. Felt so good. I've been asked to bring more. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Love, love, love this cake. I make this often, and everyone tells me it is the best cake they ever had. If there is any left over, I freeze it in single servings so on those nights my husband has a sweet tooth, he can just grab on out of the freezer, wait 15 minutes, and he is set.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I just made this for the 2nd time. First time i made a large cake, this time I made cupcakes. Absolutely outstanding. I made the cake mix exactly to the recipe. The quantities in this recipe made 26 cupcakes (although 2 disappeared during the baking process.... hehe). This meant I had to make an extra half batch of frosting to cover them all. I'll be making this again no doubt. Fab!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      For a carrot cake I am sure it's 5 star but as for just a cake I am giving it 4stars. It's good but I am not dying for more. I omitted the nuts since it was for my one year olds birthday cake. I reduced then sugar to 1&1/4 cups. I added 1/2tsp nutmeg and 1/8of all spice. I did add 1/2 cup of tea soaked golden raisins soaked for 15min or so. I soaked the coconut in hot water for about the same. I used half the oil 1/2 cup apple sauce. The icing I added 1/2tsp vanilla and zested a small orange. If I make again I will not do raisins not a big fan. I loved the orange zest in the icing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      Although I made some substantial changes based on personal preferences and suggestions from other reviewers, this was definitely the best and most moist carrot cake I've ever had. I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and added a cup of apple sauce. I removed the pineapple and replaced it with 2 heaping tablespoons of marmelade. I replaced the walnuts with pecans. I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup. I baked it in one round cake pound for 45 minutes and it was just right. The frosting was perfect although I did have a little excess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 662.0
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    52%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 77.4 mg
    25%
    Sodium 582.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 56.0 g
    224%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites