459 Reviews

Awesome sweets!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe July 17, 2009

I even used whole wheat pastry flour and it was perfect! I also added 1 cup of raisins. Everyone raved about this recipe. My spouse, my dad, my kids, my son-in-law! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good2bdunn June 26, 2009

So good even the anti-veg family members ate it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissusVonkysmeed June 25, 2009

I made this for my husband who loves carrot cake, and it was absolutely delicious!! I dont normally eat carrot cake but I could have easily eaten half the pan. I made it the night before and it was super moist and the frosting was perfect for carrot cake. I didnt change anything and why would you need to? Its perfect, thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MWYATT June 22, 2009

Phenominal!! I was really leary of making this cake without the raisins--pineapple and coconut..really?? But OMG--this was such a huge hit in our house! I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not add walmuts, and did 1 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg. I was waiting for the centre to sink a little, but it didnt. Next time I will double the icing, as the troops enjoyed that as much as the cake. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alsocoors June 16, 2009

My husband is a huge fan of chocolate. He wont even try any other kind of cake. The day after I made this I made him try a bite. He LOVED it! I must say it is a good cake the day you bake it but it is soo much better the next day. My mom came over and stole a few pieces to take home with her. Thanks for a heavenly recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate.1980 June 14, 2009

Was in search of a good carrot cake recipe for my wedding reception and tried this one because of the number of great ratings it had. Used the recipe as shown but left out the nuts in my trial run. Have decided to use this recipe for my carrot cake cupcakes - the texture was perfect and the little cakes turned out exactly as I hoped they would - good rise but still solid cake, wonderful flavor. I will add nuts for the real event. Can't have a carrot cake without nuts! I haven't tried the frosting yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingbeckula June 11, 2009

This cake is awesome, even though I took the advice of some of the reviewers and made it less fattening. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, egg whites, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. But my frosting made the cake. I only used one cup of powdered sugar, light butter, 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and about 1/2 cup of the left over crushed pineapple ( I bought a bigger can than needed). The frosting was a little thin but firmed up in the fridge. I think the pineapple really made the frosting. You could add some coconut too to the top of the frosting, but I didn't to keep the calories down. EXCELLENT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom May 28, 2009
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake