455 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my husband who loves carrot cake, and it was absolutely delicious!! I dont normally eat carrot cake but I could have easily eaten half the pan. I made it the night before and it was super moist and the frosting was perfect for carrot cake. I didnt change anything and why would you need to? Its perfect, thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MWYATT June 22, 2009

Phenominal!! I was really leary of making this cake without the raisins--pineapple and coconut..really?? But OMG--this was such a huge hit in our house! I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not add walmuts, and did 1 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg. I was waiting for the centre to sink a little, but it didnt. Next time I will double the icing, as the troops enjoyed that as much as the cake. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alsocoors June 16, 2009

My husband is a huge fan of chocolate. He wont even try any other kind of cake. The day after I made this I made him try a bite. He LOVED it! I must say it is a good cake the day you bake it but it is soo much better the next day. My mom came over and stole a few pieces to take home with her. Thanks for a heavenly recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate.1980 June 14, 2009

Was in search of a good carrot cake recipe for my wedding reception and tried this one because of the number of great ratings it had. Used the recipe as shown but left out the nuts in my trial run. Have decided to use this recipe for my carrot cake cupcakes - the texture was perfect and the little cakes turned out exactly as I hoped they would - good rise but still solid cake, wonderful flavor. I will add nuts for the real event. Can't have a carrot cake without nuts! I haven't tried the frosting yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingbeckula June 11, 2009

This cake is awesome, even though I took the advice of some of the reviewers and made it less fattening. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, egg whites, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. But my frosting made the cake. I only used one cup of powdered sugar, light butter, 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and about 1/2 cup of the left over crushed pineapple ( I bought a bigger can than needed). The frosting was a little thin but firmed up in the fridge. I think the pineapple really made the frosting. You could add some coconut too to the top of the frosting, but I didn't to keep the calories down. EXCELLENT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom May 28, 2009

Oh my! Back away from the carrot cake! This was absolutely finger licking good. The feedback I got from several was "this is hands down the best carrot cake I have ever had". I made it this past Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. The only tweaks I made to this was to omit the pineapple because I didn't have any on hand and I added about 1/4 cup of raisins. I've been asked to make it again for a family gathering coming up this weekend. p.s. I didn't have the problem another reviewer had with not having enough frosting for two 9 inch cake pans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papayaraya May 22, 2009

This was good, and improved the longer it sat in the fridge. The frosting was the best part and easy to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marissa Genta Pineda May 16, 2009

This cake is no joke. It is absolutely AMAZING in every single way. The batter looks like crap. Like it will never pull together. It really isn't very appealing. But somehow, this cake turns out of the oven, a bit chunky (and I omitted the nuts) but absolutely delicious, moist, and perfect. Only getting tastier and tastier in the fridge as time goes by. The icing is truly phenominal. I tasted it and immediately this reminded me of Trader Joe's Carrot Cake that I love so much...except that THIS is BETTER. MUCH MUCH better. I literally can't keep myself away from the cake. I baked it only because I needed to make myself a 30th birthday cake from ingredients I had on hand...and I had some organic carrots I needed to move out, so I figured I'd "settle" for a carrot cake. Wow. I am SO glad I did. One of the top recipes on the Zaar. Hands down. Everyone and their mother (I say on Mother's Day) should try this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel May 10, 2009

Not only is this cake moist and delicious, it's super easy to make too! I used just 1 cup of sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 cup each of coconut and pecans (in lieu of the walnuts). I chose to incorporate the sugar into the dry mix before making the well for the eggs, oil, and vanilla and it worked fine. For the icing, I reduced the butter to half a stick and used just 2/3 cup of icing sugar. The entire thing was perfect and not overly sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 06, 2009
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake