455 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bye-bye bakery carrot cake, hello homemade! This recipe is amazing as written & we are so happy to have found it!!! We do make a few substitutions: sub whole wheat pastry flour, pare down the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, decrease oil to 1/2 cup & add 1/2 cup applesauce, and add 1/2 cup golden raisins. We prefer to bake this in 2 round cake pans for 30-35 minutes, though it works well as sheetcake & cupcakes alike. This recipe is fabulous as written & provides endless options for those who want to tweak it just so. Thank you for getting me out of the bakery & into the kitchen for outstanding carrot cake!

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardeningRI December 02, 2010

This recipe definitely deserves 5 stars! I made cupcakes instead and took them to work only to receive raving reviews. One lady said it's better than anything she could get store-bought. Some modifications I made after reading previous reviews: 1) applesauce instead of oil, 2) pecans instead of walnuts, 3) decreased to 1 cup of sugar 4) baked 18-20 minutes since I made cupcakes. Also, I let the dried coconut soak for about 15 minutes in boiled water. Then I strained it and added to the batter. That way the coconut is not as dry. Finally, I used a piping tip to swirl the icing on top...they looked absolutely delightful =)

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asian Sensation November 12, 2009

Looking for a delicious cake recipe and came across this one. It looked like a carrot cake recipe I had clipped from a magazine many years ago, so I thought I'd check to see how it was different. I discovered it was the same recipe (although the frosting uses only 3 oz. of cream cheese), but noticed the directions were a little more specific for the cake. My recipe says to use sifted flour and then, before adding wet ingredients, says to sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon into a large bowl. Thought I would mention it as I think this helps to assure all of the dry ingredients are mixed thoroughly. Additional comment (next day): Another change, I think that makes the directions clearer is to use sifted confectioner's sugar (called Icing sugar in the recipe) and also add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. It made a nice creamy easy-to-use frosting. I made my cake in two 9-inch round pans (baked for 40 minutes) and had plenty of frosting (using the 8 oz. package of light cream cheese) to frost both layers.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love2gardn January 24, 2010

Well, after sitting and reading ALL 280+ reviews, I decided to make this recipe into cupcakes, to serve at my wedding in 2 days! I realized that I had NEVER made my fiance his favorite cake from scratch, probably because I didn't think I liked carrot cake - WRONG!. I just finished making 2 batches, and am thinking of making another, I am sure they are going to be a BIG hit! They are SO moist! I can't wait for them to sit a bit for the spices to come to full flavor. The preparation went quickly- after grating the carrots. I did incorporate a few changes as recommended in some of the reviews... 1) cut sugar to 1 cup, 2) 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce for half the oil, 3) added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg & 1/2 tsp. allspice, 4) added an extra 1/2 cup carrots, 5) omitted coconut & walnuts to appease fiance and new in-laws =), 6) baked 18 minutes for cupcakes - yielded approx. 18 cupcakes per batch, using an ice cream scoop to measure. I have only tried one w/o frosting, I think they will definitely be sweet enough once frosted, I like the extra spice, yet it isn't overpowering, I think the applesauce helps to "lighten" the finished product and reduces the chance of "sinking", and I love the pineapple! I used the frosting recipe, but added 1 tsp. vanilla. Will definitely update after the wedding! Thanks for the recipe! I am so glad I decided to try it!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shelly #1242723 November 19, 2009

I'm not sure what another 5 star review is going to do for something that is already rated so high, but I'll give it a shot. I thought this cake was outstanding. I love carrot cake and I think I am a good judge of a quality cake. I did make a few changes. First, I hate walnuts so i substituted pistachios. I skipped the coconut, because I can not see a purpose other than an extra flavor to distract from the already solid flavor foundation. I also added some fresh ground nutmeg and some ground ginger since I think they are good complimentary spices. Now the frosting is insanely good. I think it will go good on anything. Cake, scones, muffins, spoons, fingers, maybe even a steak. All in all, this is a great recipe and I know why it is so highly rated.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ROV Chef June 19, 2011

This cake is wonderful! It's moist and flavorful. The only change we used was to replace 1/2 of the oil with applesauce and it was still fantastic.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle April 21, 2011

This cake was great. Everyone that ate it loved it. However, I did make some changes to make it healthier for my family. Here are the changes I made: I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of regular flour, 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 ¾ cup of white sugar, and ½ cup of oil and ½ cup of apple sauce instead of 1 cup of oil. I also used another frosting that was very similar it calls for: 1 8oz cream cheese, ¼ cup of powder sugar, and 3 tablespoon of orange juice concentrate. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making it again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m_d_geist November 24, 2010

This recipe is as good as everyone says. The only change I made is to add finely grated orange peel to the frosting. My daughter and I once had carrot cake at a shop and they had added orange peel to the frosting. We talked about that cake a number of times until we were both back in that area again. We rushed into the shop for a piece of the cake...and they had no idea what we were talking about! The manager said they DID have "girl" "awhile back" who was always making things DIFFERENT from the recipes, and they had to let her go. YIKES!!! Try the orange peel and see how it adds a wonderful new dimension to an already complex and delicious cake! THANK YOU for this recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctreisen January 15, 2012

Wow!! This is a really lovely cake. I followed the recipe to the letter. Perfect! It did not go down in the centre even though the recipe said it might.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Navidad April 18, 2011

This is beautiful! Since there's enough rave reviews, I'd just like to add that for the cream cheese frosting, I ended up adding 3 cups of icing sugar for it to reach piping consistency, hope that helps some!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cabnolen March 23, 2011
Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake