Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / WHOOPIE PIES - the REAL deal - Lancaster Co. recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    WHOOPIE PIES - the REAL deal - Lancaster Co. recipe

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2010

      I added an extra cup of flour as the dough was very thin and I was afraid I would have frisbee sized cookies. I used a cup of marshmallow cream in lieu of the egg whites in the filling. I also recommend letting the dough sit for about 30 minutes before baking as it makes cookies "puffier." I love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      These are the REAL Amish whoopie. Maybe Maine whoopies have the light marshmallow filling and cake-like cookie. Not these. My mother has been searching to replicate the Amish whoopies from the Syracuse, NY Farmer's Market for years now and tomorrow she will be receiving a "tower of whoopie" for her birthday cake thanks to this recipe of perfection. Dense filling and dark, almost shiny "cookie" are the markers of the great Amish whoopie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      These were really good. I used a heap of dough on a big table spoon and they came out pretty big. My cookies were less flat and more plump on a dark, cool cookie sheet. They took 10 minutes in my oven, I used the toothpick test. For the cookie I used half shortening, half oil. I would probably try half butter half shortening next time to see if they puff more. For the cream I used a big dollop of whipping cream instead of the egg, and once it was chilled I piped it from a zip bag with the corner snipped. I kept the finished product wrapped individually in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      These were pretty great! I was a little disappointed in how flat they were at first. I like them more puffy, so I added about 3/4 cup more flour and 1 teaspoon of baking powder. Then I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa and 1/4 cup of brown sugar to counteract the flour taste. I also used shortening instead of oil in the cookies. They came out perfectly delicious and were nice and plump after that! I really enjoyed the filling as well. I had whoopie pies all of the time growing up next door to the amish and this recipe has been the closest in taste that I have found so far! Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper for sure!!! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Great! Cannot believe how much of a ringer for the real deal they are. I used canola oil and it worked great. I found that the batter thickened as it sat and the last few I baked had much greater height to each cookie. I will probably let batter sit for at least 1/2 hour to 1 hour prior to baking next time. That may be different if using shortening for batter, I'm not sure. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Wonderful! I'm from 'Amish Country' too, and these are an authentic taste! I have made a recipe that was too light on chocolate flavor. THIS recipe is perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Just made these and they came out great. I used special dark coca powder, cake flower and butter flavor crisco for the cookies. Came out yummy. For the filling I used another reviewers suggestion and used whipping cream instead of egg whites. Best filling ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Excellent recipe. I love the filling - used dried egg whites as suggested by some and this turned out fantastic. Definitely let the dough sit a few minutes - it will thicken nicely. I'll definitely make these again. Very easy also!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      I used a different filling, but the cookie parts turned out amazing despite the tweaks: I ran out of eggs beforehand, so I used two T ground flaxseed and 1/2 c pumpkin puree (also, used Crisco for the shortening). I then ran out of time, so I stuck the batter in the 'fridge for two hours.
      They puffed nicely and are delicious!
      Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      My husband is from south Jersey and has been to Amish country many times just for whoopie pies. I've had this recipe for several years and we just now made them today..what were we thinking waiting so long?! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! We used shortening instead of oil, and they were perfect. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      These are the most incredible things ever!!! They're like oreo cakesters,sort of.lol I've made them JUMBO and small.They always bake up perfectly, so now they're my trademark recipe.:) Thanks WJKing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      WOW, these ARE the real deal! OMG! I used Wicked Whoopie Pies for the filling, because I wanted to use marshmellow fluff as an ingredient. Oh, I also used all shortening, rather than oil in the batter. You should update that! It made the most fluffy moist cake. Oh Man Oh Man Oh Man... so bad for me but oh so yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Excellent!! I followed the recipe exactly as printed, using canola oil for the cookies. At first I thought it was a mistake, that I should have used shortening, but the batter thickened up nicely after a few minutes. These are the REAL deal!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I can truly only comment on the first part of the recipe, because I used a different filling. I must admit I was skeptical about brown sugar instead of white sugar in the ingredients, but I decided to go for it. My only confusion was the recipe calls for oil, then says to cream the shortening with sugar and eggs. I actually decided to use half shortening and half real butter. The taste is phenominal, it is truly dead on. But for the puffiness, next time I will use only shortening and hopefully they will rise perfectly. Thanks for sharing the REAL PA recipe with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      This is almost identical to my aunt's recipe. Wonderful treat that you know the ingredients of so you don't have to worry and a wonderful memory

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for WHOOPIE PIES - the REAL deal - Lancaster Co. recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (2846 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.7
     
    Calories from Fat 270
    52%
    Total Fat 30.0 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 32.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 232.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 42.4 g
    169%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites