17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I added an extra cup of flour as the dough was very thin and I was afraid I would have frisbee sized cookies. I used a cup of marshmallow cream in lieu of the egg whites in the filling. I also recommend letting the dough sit for about 30 minutes before baking as it makes cookies "puffier." I love this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msdancingbear January 31, 2010

These are the REAL Amish whoopie. Maybe Maine whoopies have the light marshmallow filling and cake-like cookie. Not these. My mother has been searching to replicate the Amish whoopies from the Syracuse, NY Farmer's Market for years now and tomorrow she will be receiving a "tower of whoopie" for her birthday cake thanks to this recipe of perfection. Dense filling and dark, almost shiny "cookie" are the markers of the great Amish whoopie.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cupcakequeenie November 02, 2009

These were really good. I used a heap of dough on a big table spoon and they came out pretty big. My cookies were less flat and more plump on a dark, cool cookie sheet. They took 10 minutes in my oven, I used the toothpick test. For the cookie I used half shortening, half oil. I would probably try half butter half shortening next time to see if they puff more. For the cream I used a big dollop of whipping cream instead of the egg, and once it was chilled I piped it from a zip bag with the corner snipped. I kept the finished product wrapped individually in the fridge.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom July 19, 2011

These were pretty great! I was a little disappointed in how flat they were at first. I like them more puffy, so I added about 3/4 cup more flour and 1 teaspoon of baking powder. Then I added about 1/4 cup of cocoa and 1/4 cup of brown sugar to counteract the flour taste. I also used shortening instead of oil in the cookies. They came out perfectly delicious and were nice and plump after that! I really enjoyed the filling as well. I had whoopie pies all of the time growing up next door to the amish and this recipe has been the closest in taste that I have found so far! Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper for sure!!! Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Tooth Lyndsay December 23, 2009

Great! Cannot believe how much of a ringer for the real deal they are. I used canola oil and it worked great. I found that the batter thickened as it sat and the last few I baked had much greater height to each cookie. I will probably let batter sit for at least 1/2 hour to 1 hour prior to baking next time. That may be different if using shortening for batter, I'm not sure. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Top of the Hill November 04, 2009

Wonderful! I'm from 'Amish Country' too, and these are an authentic taste! I have made a recipe that was too light on chocolate flavor. THIS recipe is perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 07, 2013

Just made these and they came out great. I used special dark coca powder, cake flower and butter flavor crisco for the cookies. Came out yummy. For the filling I used another reviewers suggestion and used whipping cream instead of egg whites. Best filling ever.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellady February 08, 2013

Excellent recipe. I love the filling - used dried egg whites as suggested by some and this turned out fantastic. Definitely let the dough sit a few minutes - it will thicken nicely. I'll definitely make these again. Very easy also!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulclynnc November 05, 2011

I used a different filling, but the cookie parts turned out amazing despite the tweaks: I ran out of eggs beforehand, so I used two T ground flaxseed and 1/2 c pumpkin puree (also, used Crisco for the shortening). I then ran out of time, so I stuck the batter in the 'fridge for two hours.
They puffed nicely and are delicious!
Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tatooinedweller October 22, 2011

My husband is from south Jersey and has been to Amish country many times just for whoopie pies. I've had this recipe for several years and we just now made them today..what were we thinking waiting so long?! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! We used shortening instead of oil, and they were perfect. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Missy June 14, 2009
WHOOPIE PIES - the REAL Deal - Lancaster Co. Recipe