8 Reviews

These came out perfect! I even messed up a little. While making the filling I read the recipe wrong and accidentally mixed the sugar in with the milk and flour. I was short on sugar so I kept the mixture and boiled it with the sugar. It still came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellet004 February 10, 2013

My mom used to make these for us when I was a child, and even thinking of them makes me smile. They brought back such memories for me while I was mixing them up. The filling came out perfect and with the chocolate of the whoopie pies and the filling it was a double taste sensation that I love love love!!! I made some big ones, so it only made 6. The bigger the better is my motto :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen January 12, 2009

Anyone that knows how to bake can make these taste like heaven just by following the recipe. I loved that they are not overly sweet. They are just like the whoopie pies my grandmother used to make for us and everyone wanted another that I offered them to!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay November 29, 2008

They have been a family favorite for many years. I am so glad to have found this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me In My Pantry November 18, 2008

The filling is not supposed to be overly sweet and these are exactly as they are supposed to taste. Anyone from New England knows that :) They are awesome!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic November 10, 2008

I don't know why these got a low rating. They are GREAT! I made just as recipe directed. First of all the filling in Whoopie Pies isn't supposed to be real sweet like frosting. Secondly, if you mix everything in well and measure accurately with the flour (spoon the flour into the measuring cup and not scoop it into the measuring cup to let air in) they will come out wonderfully. Don't be put off by the bad reviews. Let's remember not everyone knows how to cook and bake using the same techniques, and if you measure correctly this recipe will come out for you and you will love them! Thanks Mimi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids April 08, 2008

I have made these for years and have improved the filling. Mine is made of 1/2 cup marshmallow 1/2 cup of crisco 2 cups of conf. sugar.1 tbsp. of milk 1 tsp. of vanilla. Hope you enjoy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevj2003 February 19, 2008

These were good but they need a little tweaking. The cookies were okay but the filling needed more flavor. Perhaps adding more sugar or using part butter instead of all shortening in the filling would help. Edited to add: These were much better the next day after being refrigerated. I still think the cream filling can be improved though. It's good but it doesn't quite make me say oh these are wonderful. I will definitely make these again though. Perhaps for variation I might add a drop or two of peppermint extract to some of the filling and maybe a dollop of peanut butter to some of the filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smns65 March 04, 2007
Whoopie Pies (Or Devil Dogs)