Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whoopie Pies (Or Devil Dogs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whoopie Pies (Or Devil Dogs)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2013

      These came out perfect! I even messed up a little. While making the filling I read the recipe wrong and accidentally mixed the sugar in with the milk and flour. I was short on sugar so I kept the mixture and boiled it with the sugar. It still came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      My mom used to make these for us when I was a child, and even thinking of them makes me smile. They brought back such memories for me while I was mixing them up. The filling came out perfect and with the chocolate of the whoopie pies and the filling it was a double taste sensation that I love love love!!! I made some big ones, so it only made 6. The bigger the better is my motto :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Anyone that knows how to bake can make these taste like heaven just by following the recipe. I loved that they are not overly sweet. They are just like the whoopie pies my grandmother used to make for us and everyone wanted another that I offered them to!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      They have been a family favorite for many years. I am so glad to have found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      The filling is not supposed to be overly sweet and these are exactly as they are supposed to taste. Anyone from New England knows that :) They are awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I don't know why these got a low rating. They are GREAT! I made just as recipe directed. First of all the filling in Whoopie Pies isn't supposed to be real sweet like frosting. Secondly, if you mix everything in well and measure accurately with the flour (spoon the flour into the measuring cup and not scoop it into the measuring cup to let air in) they will come out wonderfully. Don't be put off by the bad reviews. Let's remember not everyone knows how to cook and bake using the same techniques, and if you measure correctly this recipe will come out for you and you will love them! Thanks Mimi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I have made these for years and have improved the filling. Mine is made of 1/2 cup marshmallow 1/2 cup of crisco 2 cups of conf. sugar.1 tbsp. of milk 1 tsp. of vanilla. Hope you enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      These were good but they need a little tweaking. The cookies were okay but the filling needed more flavor. Perhaps adding more sugar or using part butter instead of all shortening in the filling would help. Edited to add: These were much better the next day after being refrigerated. I still think the cream filling can be improved though. It's good but it doesn't quite make me say oh these are wonderful. I will definitely make these again though. Perhaps for variation I might add a drop or two of peppermint extract to some of the filling and maybe a dollop of peanut butter to some of the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whoopie Pies (Or Devil Dogs)

    Serving Size: 1 (1209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.8
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    42%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 16.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 372.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes