176 Reviews

I thought I would update my review, just in case it sells this recipe better. I have been making this bread for over a year now and is part of my best recipes collection. I have discovered that in weight, the wheat flour is 2 lb. and 4 oz. and the white flour is 1.5 lb. This makes the prep even easier. This bread has it all; perfect structure and texture, incredible flavor, beautiful crust, and versatility...it toasts up very nicely. I don't understand those who have altered their baking times and temperatures...375 for 40 minutes has worked every time for me, and the crust is supposed to be a bit on the dark side...perhaps your ovens are out of sinc? I have easily made around 200 loaves with this formula since I found it, and it is always met with appreciation and grattitude. My sister even offered to buy 8 loaves from me to give away as Christmas gifts, and she said each recipient loved it. Awesome recipe!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks January 25, 2009

Great bread! I freeze three of the four loaves: to freeze the dough, follow recipe to step 7-- let it rise until double, then punch it down and form 4 loaves. Wrap in plastic wrap or put in a freezer bag. When you're ready to cook one, pull it out of the freezer, unwrap it, put it in a greased loaf pan and let it rise (I pull mine out at 8:00 AM and it's ready to cook by 5:30 PM). I live in the midwest at low elevation and cook my bread at 350 F for 30 minutes. Perfect. And it's ready just in time for dinner.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kailamom February 18, 2009

One word. Yum! A friend had posted on FB that she tried your recipe and loved it. I asked her for the recipe # and I have since made it. The texture is nice and light. I followed your ingredient list to a "T" but added in 2 TBSP gluten. I make our own wheat bread regularly so followed the same guidelines while working with your wheat recipe. This is what works for me... I combined the yeast, water, molasses, honey, salt, gluten and 3 cups whole wheat flour. I let is sit or "sponge" for about 45 minutes. I then added the butter and remaining flour - both wheat and white. It didn't take the full hour to rise in my bowl. Maybe 40 minutes. I put the divided dough in my bread pans and it rose for another 30 minutes. I got 4 really good size loaves from the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast April 16, 2010

This bread was awesome and I'll will be making again. I cut the recipe in half and used the dough cycle on my bread machine. Put honey, butter and salt in first, then added water and then flour and yeast on top per the instructions for my bread maker. Try it, you won't be sorry!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juju94 January 04, 2010

Just a general comment. I don't understand why people on here refuse to follow a recipe. They add their own stuff then give this recipe a bad review because they didn't follow the recipe. I have no problems with changing the recipe after you tried the original one but why give a bad review on great recipes because you didn't follow it? Just saying.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda V. October 08, 2013

Loved it. Halved the recipe and also subbed the brown sugar for the molasses.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom May 30, 2011

I am so impressed with this bread! I can't believe that a bread that has more whole wheat flour than white flour can be so soft and tender; most whole wheat bread recipes yield a very dense, dry loaf. Not this one! It is perfect! And it doesn't dry out, even after 4 or 5 days! I subbed oil for the butter. I didn't care for the molasses flavor, so I just used more honey. In the loaves I have rising right now, I subbed brown sugar for the molasses. DH and I agreed it needed more salt, so I increased it by 1/2. I also make 2 loaves instead of 4, since there are just two of us. And yes, I end up adding 1/2 C. more white flour during the kneading because the dough is quite sticky. The best WW bread I've ever made! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klehman July 15, 2009

I must say that I am impressed. Although I would have liked it a little sweeter I still think it is close to perfect. I followed the recipe to the T. I baked all four loaves at the same time at 375 for 40 minutes and it was perfect. One thing I do with all my homemade bread is to put a pie plate filled with water on the bottome rack of my oven. So it is very moist in the oven when the bread is baking. I will absolutly make this again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knauffie March 30, 2008

This is an awesome recipe! It turned out wonderfully on my first try, so either I've got a knack for bread making, or the recipe and directions were superb. I'm betting on the latter! =) I didn't have molasses on hand so I subbed in brown sugar like some other reviewers recommended, and it still turned out well. I'm trying it again today with molasses, and I'm sure it'll be even better, though I'm surprised at how much the molasses seemed to affect dough consistency. Ah, the musings of a beginner... =) Thanks so much for sharing! I'll be making this a lot. ~Laura

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel January 03, 2011

Great Bread! I have cut this recipe in half and omitted the molasses and added more honey.(1/2 Cup honey) It always turns out great. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb.materi September 18, 2009
Wholesome Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bread