Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wholesome Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wholesome Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    173 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 173

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2009

      I thought I would update my review, just in case it sells this recipe better. I have been making this bread for over a year now and is part of my best recipes collection. I have discovered that in weight, the wheat flour is 2 lb. and 4 oz. and the white flour is 1.5 lb. This makes the prep even easier. This bread has it all; perfect structure and texture, incredible flavor, beautiful crust, and versatility...it toasts up very nicely. I don't understand those who have altered their baking times and temperatures...375 for 40 minutes has worked every time for me, and the crust is supposed to be a bit on the dark side...perhaps your ovens are out of sinc? I have easily made around 200 loaves with this formula since I found it, and it is always met with appreciation and grattitude. My sister even offered to buy 8 loaves from me to give away as Christmas gifts, and she said each recipient loved it. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Great bread! I freeze three of the four loaves: to freeze the dough, follow recipe to step 7-- let it rise until double, then punch it down and form 4 loaves. Wrap in plastic wrap or put in a freezer bag. When you're ready to cook one, pull it out of the freezer, unwrap it, put it in a greased loaf pan and let it rise (I pull mine out at 8:00 AM and it's ready to cook by 5:30 PM). I live in the midwest at low elevation and cook my bread at 350 F for 30 minutes. Perfect. And it's ready just in time for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      One word. Yum! A friend had posted on FB that she tried your recipe and loved it. I asked her for the recipe # and I have since made it. The texture is nice and light. I followed your ingredient list to a "T" but added in 2 TBSP gluten. I make our own wheat bread regularly so followed the same guidelines while working with your wheat recipe. This is what works for me... I combined the yeast, water, molasses, honey, salt, gluten and 3 cups whole wheat flour. I let is sit or "sponge" for about 45 minutes. I then added the butter and remaining flour - both wheat and white. It didn't take the full hour to rise in my bowl. Maybe 40 minutes. I put the divided dough in my bread pans and it rose for another 30 minutes. I got 4 really good size loaves from the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This bread was awesome and I'll will be making again. I cut the recipe in half and used the dough cycle on my bread machine. Put honey, butter and salt in first, then added water and then flour and yeast on top per the instructions for my bread maker. Try it, you won't be sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Loved it. Halved the recipe and also subbed the brown sugar for the molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I am so impressed with this bread! I can't believe that a bread that has more whole wheat flour than white flour can be so soft and tender; most whole wheat bread recipes yield a very dense, dry loaf. Not this one! It is perfect! And it doesn't dry out, even after 4 or 5 days! I subbed oil for the butter. I didn't care for the molasses flavor, so I just used more honey. In the loaves I have rising right now, I subbed brown sugar for the molasses. DH and I agreed it needed more salt, so I increased it by 1/2. I also make 2 loaves instead of 4, since there are just two of us. And yes, I end up adding 1/2 C. more white flour during the kneading because the dough is quite sticky. The best WW bread I've ever made! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I must say that I am impressed. Although I would have liked it a little sweeter I still think it is close to perfect. I followed the recipe to the T. I baked all four loaves at the same time at 375 for 40 minutes and it was perfect. One thing I do with all my homemade bread is to put a pie plate filled with water on the bottome rack of my oven. So it is very moist in the oven when the bread is baking. I will absolutly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Just a general comment. I don't understand why people on here refuse to follow a recipe. They add their own stuff then give this recipe a bad review because they didn't follow the recipe. I have no problems with changing the recipe after you tried the original one but why give a bad review on great recipes because you didn't follow it? Just saying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This is an awesome recipe! It turned out wonderfully on my first try, so either I've got a knack for bread making, or the recipe and directions were superb. I'm betting on the latter! =) I didn't have molasses on hand so I subbed in brown sugar like some other reviewers recommended, and it still turned out well. I'm trying it again today with molasses, and I'm sure it'll be even better, though I'm surprised at how much the molasses seemed to affect dough consistency. Ah, the musings of a beginner... =) Thanks so much for sharing! I'll be making this a lot. ~Laura

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Great Bread! I have cut this recipe in half and omitted the molasses and added more honey.(1/2 Cup honey) It always turns out great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      This is the best whole wheat bread ever! I was a bit leary on the molasses for fear it may be strong like a Boston Brown Bread but no such thing. It was wonderful. After our discussion however on electric ovens and bread browning too quickly I tried cooking the loaves separately. I brushed the tops with lots of butter and at 375 I had trouble, finally by the last 2 loaves I had it mastered. My oven cooked it perfectly on 300 degrees for 45 minutes. I have no way to control just the bottom element.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      Very good bread. It did require more flour than the recipe states, but that's no big deal, and could be because of the flours I used. I halved the recipe, and used 3 cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup white flour, 1/2 cup 6 grain flour, 1/2 cup Oat Bran & threw in half a cup or so of ground flax. Also used 2 heaping T of vital wheat gluten since I used so much "heave" flour. Turned out beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      So delicious! Just like Grandma used to make. Love the addition of the molasses - such depth of flavor! Kept nicely too! (I halved the recipe to make two loaves - turned out great!) Thanks so much! ***Edit: Made it again many times since. Today made full recipe. Let my stand mixer do the work with the kneading arm and made it into three loaves and a pan of rolls (@ 15 nice sized rolls). Gone in a flash! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Yummy bread, dough was kinda sticky, which made it slightly hard to deal with, but spraying my hands with cooking spray helped quite a bit with this. Loaves came out smaller than I thought they would, will make 3 large loaves next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I make this bread every week. The only changed I make are I've cut the recipe down to one loaf and I double the honey. It's delicious for sandwiches and toast and anything else you might need it for. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW!!! This was fabulous!!! I cut the recipe in half, and since I only have one loaf pan, I baked the other one on a cookie sheet. So I have one regular loaf and one baguette. I drizzled melted butter before I baked them, and put sesame seeds on the baguette. We could barely keep ourselves from gobbling it all up right away! YUM! Thanks Karen for a wonderful wheat bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Awesome bread! I've made this four times and the loaves just keep coming out perfectly! The first couple of times, I didn't have molasses, so I used 1 tbsp of brown sugar per loaf (I divided the recipe by 4 so I could make one loaf at a time). Still came out like a work of art! I made some last night with the molasses and I can't wait to go eat it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I made a single loaf (just me and my boyfriend, freezer is tiny and full) and the results were delicious! My oven cooked a little fast, so next time I'll cook the bread at a lower temp for 35 minutes. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Delicious! I used to make this for DH and I, but our kids have to have spelt so I went in search of a spelt bread recipe. One day I FINALLY realized I could replace all the flour with whole grain spelt flour (it doesn't rise as much as it might with some white, but it tastes great so none of us care!), and sometimes I sub a cup of flaxseed meal for a cup of flour. I usually just do honey instead of keeping molasses around and use olive oil in place of the butter. All of us love it! Plus, I don't have to knead it forever, which is a plus with two toddlers who might cause destruction if I'm elbow deep in bread dough for a half hour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This is the best wheat bread recipe! So quick and easy. I cut my 4 loaves in half and froze all but one because there are only 2 of us and the bread always gets stale before we can eat it all. I defrost in the oven wrapped in the foil I froze it in at 350 for 15 minutes (usually in the toaster oven!) We have fresh baked bread for weeks! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wholesome Homemade Honey Whole Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (2562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1472.0
     
    Calories from Fat 261
    17%
    Total Fat 29.0 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1389.8 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 277.0 g
    92%
    Dietary Fiber 23.6 g
    94%
    Sugars 47.5 g
    190%
    Protein 38.5 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites