Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Zucchini Herb Bread-Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Zucchini Herb Bread-Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2014

      Turned out great... but... First, there's no size given in this recipe. My bread maker has settings for 1, 1.5, and 2 pound loaves. I guessed at 1.5# when comparing to similar recipes. Second, The dough was way too moist. I ended up adding an additional 1/4 cup of flour until I had a good dough consistency. Perhaps this is variable with the amount of water in your zucchini. <br/><br/>Now, third is my own happy accident. I knew I had yeast, and I added all the ingredients and then went to get the yeast. It turned out to be pizza crust yeast with a firm warning that it's NOT intended for bread recipes. I was devastated. But I could either chuck the entire batch, use beer yeast (US05 chico ale), or just use the pizza yeast. Thankfully- I took the gamble with the pizza yeast! The dough did rise slightly over the machine's bowl and hit the lid. And the crust did remind me a bit of pizza crust (not a bad thing).<br/><br/>Verdict: This is an amazingly light and delicious bread. And unlike any other bread recipe I've tried in the past, it was actually soft the next day! This is the kind of bread I've been dreaming about making. The only question is- how much did the pizza yeast contribute versus using regular bread yeast? Also, there was no real basil flavor. I picked fresh from the garden and used more than called for. I think I'll just skip it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Great bread. However, I'm trying to go to 100% whole wheat for health, but this is tough where my wife doesn't like dense bread. So, here was my alternation and it worked out great for us:

      (1) I used ww bread flour (same amount).
      (2) I used white ww instead of regular ww (same amount).
      (3) I doubled the water and oil.
      (4) I added more herb.

      Turned out slightly spongy like a sweet zucchini bread - but very healthy. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This bread was amazing! I used fresh basil from my garden, mixed it in the bread machine and then took it out and baked it in the oven. It was moist and had a great flavor and texture, one of the best loaves I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      This was a really good recipe. I did it the first time with the basil and rosemary, and for some stupid reason squeezed out the liquid from the zucchini. I don't know why, I guess it was because I had been used to every recipe calling for squeezed out zucchini. It didn't rise as much, but tasted good. Then the second time I made it was with cinnamon and nutmeg. It was good, not sweet or something. We put honey and butter on it and it tasted pretty durn good. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      There is only one problem with this bread... I can't stop eating it! I often have recipes turn out dry or hard or a multitude of other problems. However, this was fantastic. I am going to go make another loaf right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      I use this recipe as a base for using up leftover take-out such as potato jojos or onion blossoms instead of zucchini. Just double the liquid to compensate for less liquid than the shredded zucchini. I have thrown in leftover bacon strips broken up and have substituted the spices with 1 1/2 tablespoons of spicy spaghetti mix spices. Mamaya

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Sooo good! Moist, delicious, and gone is minutes. Thank you for this great recipe which we will enjoy again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I've made this bread for forever. The recipe came with my bread machine. It's yet another good use for that summer bumper crop of zucchini! Our favorite way to make it is with extra virgin olive oil instead of canola, and use only fresh rosemary. Yum, yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      We found this loaf a little dry too, but delicious nonetheless. My good friend and her family were over for supper when I served it and they really liked it too. (Her kids were shocked when they found out what was in the bread!) I used both basil and rosemary and I will definitely make this again. I'm betting using frozen zucchini will add the necessary moisture in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Barb, you've done it again! Great bread. To be honest though, I really made it to dry out and use tomorrow in stuffing for a turkey. I think the flavors will be nice with some onions and celery added (and some giblets, of course). Will let you know. Thanks for all your great recipes. UPDATE: I made the turkey stuffing and the flavors were wonderful. BTW, I used both dried basil and fresh rosemary, and black sesame seeds (because I didn't have any white ones):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This is a very nice dense textured bread that turned out tastey. The only problem I had was that i used the medium whole wheat setting and the bread didn't brown enough for me so next time i will use the dark setting. I am also going to experiement with other herbs and maybe garlic or parmesean. Thank you Barb for a great way to use up the garden squash. :)shirley(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Wonderfull bread .. i liked the texture and the lovely green color that show the shreded zucchini inside the bread. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      WONDERFUL bread. I don't have a bread machine so I had to improvise a bit, kneading the dough by hand and letting it rise twice. I used olive oil instead of canola and added about twice the recommended amount of fresh basil and sesame seeds (I love herbs!). I also used a bit more zucchini than recommended to add moisture. After shaping the loaf I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. It baked in about 50 minutes at 175 celsius. Came out moist, light, and delicious! The next time I may add a smidgen more salt and a bit less honey because I like a salty bread, but it was great even with a touch of sweetness. Thanks a million for the fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2004

      Lovely loaf of bread. Rose beautifully and made a tender loaf. I can't eat it, but it sure smells good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      We really enjoyed this bread in our family. We followed the instructions and noted that it was rather dry in the machine, but we didn't touch it. The bread grew a bit too much and pasted its self to the top of the machine, as I had used "bread machine" yeast [Quick Raising]. I raised the lid just as it was about done, so that it wouldn't cook into it. Next time, I will use a Olive Oil vegetable spray on the lid and see what happens. For the comment about using the wheat bread setting - I would use the "French Bread" setting rather, as this is that type of bread [using water and no eggs] and to also note that it will be a rather dry bread dough at first. The zuccini keeps it moist. The crust will resemble that of a french bread when done. We used a Balsamic Vinegar sop (dip) with herbs to eat the bread. I am on my way to the kitchen to make it again today! Good job! Great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      This is a very good sandwith bread. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine. Shaped and baked it in the oven in my cloche at 375 degrees for 35 min. then removed the top and continued to cook for 10 min longer. The bread raised tall and the texture is very tender and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      Delicious and a bit healthier than most other zucchini breads. I didn't measure my zucchini shreds just shredded one zucchini in the food processor and used that so it may have been a bit under a cup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      Good. I found this recipe to be somewhat problematic for me - it came out very heavy and the texture was a bit too dense. I did use the wheat bread setting and fresh ingredients measured according to the directions (no changes). I think perhaps an egg might have helped make the texture a bit more tender - or perhaps I might replace the water with milk next time. I am sorry this didn't work out as well as I had expected for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Zucchini Herb Bread-Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (799 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1894.4
     
    Calories from Fat 292
    15%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2355.5 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 351.5 g
    117%
    Dietary Fiber 25.9 g
    103%
    Sugars 21.7 g
    86%
    Protein 54.6 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites