Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2004

      What a delicious bread! It's so moist that it's hard to believe it doesn't have a drop of oil or butter in it, and the spices give it a great flavor. My father, who isn't usually a fan of healthy foods or whole wheat, has been eating it non-stop! The directions were simple and easy to follow. The only change I made was to use soy milk soured with lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I'll definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I made this for my son and had to have a taste, even though I am monitoring my sugar intake closely. No heaviness problems, the bread was light and fragrant with spices. Definitely 5 stars for flavor, but at 84% of the daily recommended allowance of sugar, it isn't suitable for someone trying to cut back on sweets. Still, for someone with no strict dietary restrictions, this is an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Made this last night, in muffin form (about 20, for 25 min at 350), and will be making it again today (as I haven't used all of my GIGANTIC zucchini). I omitted the nuts, DH doesn't like them, and used 3 of our chicken's eggs (on the smaller size) instead of the egg whites, along with 1% milk for the buttermilk. Very good bread with excellent flavor from all the spices. I didn't have a heaviness problem like a few have posted. They were light, moist, and came cleanly out of the paper muffin liner w/o any sort of greasing. Gave 5 stars, but thought it was a bit too sweet and will cut down on the amount of sugar next time. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      My family and I did not care for this bread. I did follow the directions. This came out rubbery on the outside and too dense and moist for our tastes on the the inside. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This was excellent! I threw in a half-cup of rolled oats, and used thee whole eggs instead of the six egg whites. By doing this, I could mix all of the wet ingredients directly in the "well" in the middle of the flour mixture and therefore turn this into a on-bowl recipe (always a goal of mine). Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is AMAZING! Now that I've tried this healthy recipe, I can't imagine why we've been eating zucchini bread made with white flour and all that oil or butter all these years. I followed the recipe exactly, and got incredibly moist and flavorful zucchini bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was great! I halved the recipe and used some zucchini I had grated and frozen. I baked it in a 1.5 qt bread pan for 50 minutes. It made a nice small loaf that was perfect for my little family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      YUM! I had one baggie of shredded zucchini to use up and decided to make this into muffins to eat on the way to church tomorrow...now I can't wait for morning! I didn't have cloves, so I just added 2t. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the seperate cinn., nutmeg and cloves. I baked the muffins for about 25 minutes and they are perfect! Moist and filling, but not heavy. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This is amazing. It's so moist and delicious- and with every piece I marveled that there's no fat in the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Nice recipe. Super easy, and flexible! I had no butter milk so I just used fat-free. I only used 3/4 c. sugar, and added 1/2 c. choc chips. Also, I didn't have quite enough zucchini so I topped off with carrots. Every LOVED it and wanted seconds. Including the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      this was fantastic! made it for my mom and mom-in-law for mother's day, and they thought it was amazing, too! i did add about a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the dry ingredients, and it gave a really good flavor. will make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Cooked very evenly and was moist. I used 2 cups flour and added 1.5 tsp of wheat gluten so it wasn't too dense. I also substituted with 3/4 cups egg whites from a carton, low fat buttermilk and Splenda baking sugar with it's suggested non dairy dry milk and extra 1/2t baking soda. It still tasted good with all the low fat healthy substitutions. Next I'd like to try this with banana instead of zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is a fantastic recipe to use as a base. I used this recipe to make 12 muffins instead of an actual "bread." My modifications include: 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I also used 1 cup Egg Beaters Egg Substitute instead of the egg whites, and 1/2 cup fat free sour cream instead of the buttermilk. Added 6 oz of mini chocolate chips to please my daughter.. and baked at 350 for 24 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I used 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour and only 3/4 cup organic brown sugar. I also left out the nuts but added a 1/2 cup raisens. The bread turned out very nicely and I will be using the recipe again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      The first time I followed the recipe, with the exception of buttermilk, I added vinegar to milk to make buttermilk and omitted the nuts (I'm allergic to nuts). My 9" round pan overflowed. I had to slide a baking sheet under it to catch the flow, coming out from one side as I tried to slide the baking sheet under it. Once that started, the middle of the bread was mushy. I could not get it to cook without drying out the edges. The part that I could taste was good and moist. I made it again today with the following changes: 3 C of peeled and shredded zucchini (I did not like seeing the green in the last bread), soy milk and vinegar to substitute for the buttermilk, and added 1/2 C of cocoa powder, omitted the nuts, and I used a bundt pan. It came out looking like a chocolate bundt cake. The taste was moist and delicious with the perfect amount of sugar and spices, not too sweet. I cannot tell that there's wholewheat flour or no oil or butter. Thank you for such a YUMMY and healthy recipe. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      I'm throwing away my old zuke bread recipe and I am trying to adapt this for banana bread. This is much tastier and lighter than what I've been making and eating for years. Usually I freeze half of a cooked bread in slices for quick snacks later but I don't think I will have any as they are being gobbled up so quickly!! Thanks Heather!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

    • on October 01, 2006

      Wonderful recipe! I made this for a pot luck supper and everyone raved about it; couldn't believe there is no fat. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used 2% milk with a 1/2 teaspoon of vinegar instead of the buttermilk. Thanks for this one! Connie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Excellent zucchini bread. I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and just 1/2 cup regular flour. I used 2 cups shredded zucchini (that's how much I ended up with) and golden raisins instead of the walnuts. I think this is going to be my new zucchini bread recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      This has gotta be the best zucchini bread recipe I've ever tried! It's light and fluffy, moist, and bursting with flavor. I made lots of substitutions due to lack of listed ingredients. I started with less white flour...about 2/3 cup, then added whole wheat pastry flour to fill the 1 cup measure. The remainder of the flour was whole wheat. I used lowfat milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, then added 2/3 cup of Splenda plus a scant 1/2 tsp extra of Baking Soda, waiting til the end to stir the Splenda into the batter. I also added a tsp of dried orange peel to the liquid, and substituted allspice for the nutmeg. My last substitution was the pan...I didn't have a round 9" pan so used a square 9" pan, then cut it diagonally into triangular serving pieces and served with lowfat soft cream cheese. Absolutely Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    73%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 308.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 21.1 g
    84%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes