22 Reviews

What a delicious bread! It's so moist that it's hard to believe it doesn't have a drop of oil or butter in it, and the spices give it a great flavor. My father, who isn't usually a fan of healthy foods or whole wheat, has been eating it non-stop! The directions were simple and easy to follow. The only change I made was to use soy milk soured with lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I'll definitely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree March 09, 2004

I made this for my son and had to have a taste, even though I am monitoring my sugar intake closely. No heaviness problems, the bread was light and fragrant with spices. Definitely 5 stars for flavor, but at 84% of the daily recommended allowance of sugar, it isn't suitable for someone trying to cut back on sweets. Still, for someone with no strict dietary restrictions, this is an excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mulgaun October 21, 2010

Made this last night, in muffin form (about 20, for 25 min at 350), and will be making it again today (as I haven't used all of my GIGANTIC zucchini). I omitted the nuts, DH doesn't like them, and used 3 of our chicken's eggs (on the smaller size) instead of the egg whites, along with 1% milk for the buttermilk. Very good bread with excellent flavor from all the spices. I didn't have a heaviness problem like a few have posted. They were light, moist, and came cleanly out of the paper muffin liner w/o any sort of greasing. Gave 5 stars, but thought it was a bit too sweet and will cut down on the amount of sugar next time. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hilly-Bean September 26, 2010

My family and I did not care for this bread. I did follow the directions. This came out rubbery on the outside and too dense and moist for our tastes on the the inside. I won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun June 30, 2010

This was excellent! I threw in a half-cup of rolled oats, and used thee whole eggs instead of the six egg whites. By doing this, I could mix all of the wet ingredients directly in the "well" in the middle of the flour mixture and therefore turn this into a on-bowl recipe (always a goal of mine). Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of picky eaters and vegetarians June 27, 2010

This is AMAZING! Now that I've tried this healthy recipe, I can't imagine why we've been eating zucchini bread made with white flour and all that oil or butter all these years. I followed the recipe exactly, and got incredibly moist and flavorful zucchini bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mclark April 05, 2010

This was great! I halved the recipe and used some zucchini I had grated and frozen. I baked it in a 1.5 qt bread pan for 50 minutes. It made a nice small loaf that was perfect for my little family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen March 02, 2010

YUM! I had one baggie of shredded zucchini to use up and decided to make this into muffins to eat on the way to church tomorrow...now I can't wait for morning! I didn't have cloves, so I just added 2t. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the seperate cinn., nutmeg and cloves. I baked the muffins for about 25 minutes and they are perfect! Moist and filling, but not heavy. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisyprincess98 January 09, 2010

This is amazing. It's so moist and delicious- and with every piece I marveled that there's no fat in the recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah h b November 25, 2009

Nice recipe. Super easy, and flexible! I had no butter milk so I just used fat-free. I only used 3/4 c. sugar, and added 1/2 c. choc chips. Also, I didn't have quite enough zucchini so I topped off with carrots. Every LOVED it and wanted seconds. Including the kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KareyS September 10, 2009
Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread