15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! If you are looking for a light fluffy waffle that you can make either soft or crunchy on the outside, this one is for you. I decreased the milk to 2 cups for a thicker batter that wouldn't run out of my waffle maker. I added one splash of vanilla. How to get fluffy waffles: Separate the 2 eggs, add the egg yolks to the other ingredients and beat the 2 egg whites to a stiff peak. After all of the other ingredients are mixed well, fold the egg whites into them. Perfect waffles! The whole family was begging for more, even the little ones! Cook longer for a if you like the outside crispy. Thanks for this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAnita January 16, 2010

Great Recipe! I added frozen wild blueberries to the mix and it turned out great that way too! I also added about 1/2 tsp vanilla. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life July 03, 2013

Overall, strightforward recipe that worked as advertised. My family was only so-so about the taste of the wheat over the traditional white flour waffles. Because of this, the three kids were unanimous with a 3-star rating. In spite of this, I'll probably cook this again to provide a healthier alternative for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JGB18 November 12, 2011

Great tasting waffles. They are very light and fluffy. Would recommend you try these. You can't beat them. Thanks for posting this lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 29, 2011

My family (including a 2 yr old and 4 yr old) loved these! Why make white flour waffles when you can make whole wheat and they taste great! Will be my staple recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill April 29, 2010

Yum! What a great breakfast for a cold winter day. I made few changes: substituted 1/4 c. flax meal for 1/4 c. flour, used 1/8 c. oil versus 1/4 c., and added 1 tsp. vanilla extract. These waffles are good plain, with syrup, with blueberries and bananas, and with homemade strawberry sauce. Thanks, this is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPB' December 11, 2009

WOW! A healthy 100% whole wheat waffle that tasted delicious. My extremely picky waffle loving son ate it up while i held my breath waiting for him to complain that something was wrong with it. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coco4coconutty October 10, 2009

It was great! I would recommend it to anyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pianoang September 22, 2009

We love waffles and when I found this whole wheat recipe I was so happy. We loved them with some blueberry sauce over them for breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miltt April 29, 2009
Whole Wheat Waffles With Blueberries