Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Rolls

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2010

      Pretty good, but I agree with others who say that they need more sugar. I'll make them again, but I'll add an extra tablespoon of molasses or maybe some honey. I let the whole thing rise over night in the fridge, took them out and punched them down and cut them into rolls about 3 hours before I needed them. Great texture, very pretty, just needed a bit more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This is my first foray into wheat rolls and I am sooo pleased! These turned out extremely fluffy and light. The times given were right on the money. This is officially my default recipe for wheat rolls. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Great recipe! I did make some changes though, I wanted to do away with the white flour all together so I used 4 cups of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of gluten. I made 9 six inch sandwich rolls using this recipe and they turned out absolutly delicious! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Fabulous recipe!! These are so melt-in-your-mouth good!! My grandma used to make rolls just like these and I am glad to have the recipe now because unfortunately, I never got it. I used a raw, thick-type honey instead of molasses and it worked out great!! I baked my rolls for 15 minutes. This is a wonderful recipe, thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Excellent rolls! I used these as buns for some turkey burgers and they came out great. I made added all the ingredients as per directions, but instead I used a food processor and pulsed for about a minute or two to substitute kneading. I made this a day ahead and instead of letting it rise two times, I just refrigerated it covered overnight. I took them out of the fridge then shaped them into buns and let it rise for an hour. My husband doesn't like whole wheat but he loved these buns! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! These turned out so soft and yummy. They were gobbled up as fast as they came out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Wow! I made these for Thanksgiving and ended up having to make a second batch - they were so good they disappeared fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I used more wheat flour and less white flour than the recipe stated. It made for a veary heary bread which went great with our cheeseburger soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Very good rolls! First time making rolls and I didnt think they would come out as my baking skills are severely lacking. But the recipe was easy enough; explained very well with directions too. My 4 yr old daughter and I worked together and halved the recipe; and did make one substitution; we used all organic whole wheat flour for all the flour called for. I think that made them a bit dense (but not too much) but we prefer our breads that way. Great flavor on them too. We will make them again. She had hers with linguini with garlic and olive oil; I had mine with vegetarian chili. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      A good, basic whole-wheat roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Perfect as is! What a delicious flavour. These were excellent with chili. My guests raved about these rolls and asked for the recipe. Thanks so much! Trudy :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Very good recipe. I used 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour and 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour. Rolls turned out very good! I agree that a bit more sugar would make them better, maybe 1/4 cup would do it. I will make these for Thanksgiving this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I used a little more yeast than the recipe called for, but the rolls turned out light, moist and very tasty! It made 18 good-sized rolls. I served them with stew and every one got eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Easy recipe. I made 24 rolls. We had them with dinner. Very nice texture. Crusty outside, soft inside. Seems like it would be good as a sandwich bread. I would have liked it to be a little sweeter though. I froze half of them for future breakfasts and dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      These were great, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Glowing review***, and quite easy. Takes longer than 20 min prep AND remember to leave time for dough to rise!! (equals 2 extra hours)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

    • on April 03, 2005

      I was so happy with the way these turned out. Excellent texture.Moist on the inside, crisp outside. I did not have any trouble with dryness at all. I used a blend of whole wheat and soy flour, and added vital wheat gluten. I used Splenda for baking and Smart balance margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      These were quite good and relatively easy to make. They were a bit smaller than I'd expected though so next time I might make just 12 rolls out of the same amount of dough. Also, they looked dry on the outside, although they were perfect inside. When I put the last batch into the oven I brushed them with an egg wash and that gave them a nice shine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1051 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.7
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    15%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 26.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 149.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes