Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Pizza Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2011

      I was searching for the perfect 100% wheat pizza crust recipe a long time ago and made this one. We loved it. But then I didn't make pizza for a long time and lost this recipe amongst all my other ones and had no idea of which wheat pizza crust we liked. I kept trying different ones, but they just didn't compare. I made this one tonight and knew this was it. It was so delicious my husband had no idea it was wheat (which he normally is not a fan of). This is better than most white flour recipes. If you're looking for a hearty/heavy whole grain crust this is not it. This is a nice light and fluffy crust. I also put in 1 tsp. salt, used 3 1/2 c. flour, and used four small cloves garlic instead of garlic powder. This will be my only crust recipe from now on. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      26 pizza crusts later...I think we finally found a winner! Not only did it taste good, but it also held up well on the pizza we did with double the sauce! As a bonus, this was SUPER easy to make! I just dumped everything in my food processor, set the timer, and walked away. Then, I was THRILLED at how easy this was to roll out...I think it is the easiest one I've done yet! The first crust I rolled out onto a cold pizza stone, and prebaked it for 5 min. The 2nd crust, I rolled out onto a slip-pat baking mat, tossed onto a baking sheet, and left for about 10 minutes, while the other pizza cooked. In the end, the crust on the slip-pat actually turned out a bit nicer. Maybe because my stone is too new, and my crust actually stuck to it. Anyway, the only change I made was to add 1 heaping T. of flax seed. Thank you! I can now stop buying emergency back up freezer pizzas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Great recipe! I made it without the wheat gluten and it still came out amazing. My husband loved it and has been requesting pizza on a weekly basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Very good! Similar to recipe with white flour. When cooked you couldn't even tell the difference! With the pizza leftovers the next day, you could tell a little bit that it was whole wheat. I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I used your recipe for our pizza night and no one could tell the difference in flavor and I had the satisfaction of knowing it was healthier for everyone. We loved this crust and I will use it again, thank you for sharing with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      Came out beautifully for us. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Really good and so quick to make!! I was almost out of wheat gluten so I probably only used 1 TBS if that and it still turned out great. Next time I'll try it with the full amount however. I agree with others that this could maybe use a little more salt but other than that very good! I think you could almost make 3 crusts out of this! I let the dough rise for about 20 minutes and we had pretty thick crust even after dividing it in half. Thanks for posting, I'm sure i"ll be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      The best whole wheat pizza dough I have tried so far. Light, lovely texture, easy to work with. However, I found it a little bland. I think maybe adding some herbs and more salt might help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This was my first pizza from scratch and this crust made a good base. I let it rise and made one big pizza out of it. I added fresh garlic and spices to the crust before cooking it, but it still wasn't very flavorful, but I like that it was whole wheat. The pizza sauce I made helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This made a pretty darn good pizza! I used 3 1/2 cups of white whole wheat flour in my Kitchenaid mixer. The dough was pretty sticky when I took it out after kneading, so I'm not sure if that's normal or if I should have added a bit more flour. I'm a novice at yeast breads, so I honestly don't know what it should have felt like, but it sure tasted good. My sticky dough produced a nice tender crust. Will surely be making this again and again. I only made one pizza, and turned the other half of dough into breadsticks. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      My picky husband only likes white pizza crusts, but thought that this was pretty good "for a wheat crust" - he still prefers white. My kids gobbled it up too without complaint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I did as others increased the salt to one teaspoon, that was the only change I made to the recipe. Mine took only 3 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, and I made this in the Kitchenaide mixer. Baked for 8 minutes in my Pizza Bella Machine. Turned out great, chewy crust on bottom and edges, and yet light and fluffy dough. I was letting it rest while machine was heating up, and it was rising very fast. Got six small pizzas from the recipe. I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Wonderful pizza crust. Next time I will definitely up the garlic powder. As a vegetarian it's sometimes hard for me to get in protein in non-tofu and non-cheese ways so this is perfect when I need my pizza quotient! I first proofed the yeast with the oil, honey, and water for 10 minutes then kneaded it all together by hand; I had to add a more water to get it to knead right because it was crumbly-- probably more like 1 2/3 or 1 3/4 cups altogether, then that worked perfect. Did a dough cycle in my bread machine and it yielded four 8" crusts. Definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is my new favorite pizza crust for two reasons: 1st, it is healthy and yet the kids still like it and 2nd, it is fast and doesn't need to rise. Thank you, thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This was great! I accidentally forgot to split this into two (I was planning on freezing the second crust), so it made one very thick pizza but still turned out very tasty. I'll try it with two crusts but might stick with the one thick crust because it was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Made it yesterday and we loved the crust. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Thank you for the wonderful pizza crust. I use your recipe all of the time and my family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

    • on September 12, 2009

      We all loved this pizza crust! I used 3 cups of flour. I added more spices to the dough. We were going out and I wanted to have the dough ready. I made it early and let it raise about 40 minutes and then refrigerated it in an oiled zip lock bag. I warmed it in a microwave oven on defrost for 11/2 minutes. It was perfect. The recipe made 2 nice size pizzas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Awesome!! We have tried a lot of whole wheat pizza crust recipes and this is by far the best. Thumbs up from everyone in the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.6
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    13%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 593.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.9 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    61%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites