Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2013

      Made your pita bread to go along with my hummus recipe and they disappeared. Do you suppose our recipes are meeting in cyberspace and forgot to come home on time? The family loved 'em!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I've made these several times, always with delicious results. Most recently I eliminated the oil (except for the oiled bowl) and made twelve rounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Great! The only changes I made were to use 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I also used the dough cycle in my bread machine because I'm lazy. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I definitely agree ~ Fresh is so much better than store-bought, especially when you can work with a recipe like this one! A realy joy to make, this recipe is certainly a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Healthy Choices tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Great tasting pita bread! I had a hard time baking these on the rack of my oven. Wonderful, no going back to store bought! There is absolutely no comparison. Update: Making these again as they produce delicious results with minimal effort! By DH's request these are made at least twice a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This is an easy way to make pita bread, which serves as a starting point for many different meals here in our home. I will probably never buy pita bread again. I think, as another reviewer mentioned, a screen would help these bake much better as that's the only complaint I had. 5 stars seems appropriate though because the taste is great as is cost of prep vs. price in store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Needed this for another recipe and this filled in the bill. Found myself adding more flour while kneading. Nevertheless, thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Way cool, we can make our own pita bread! The whole process was fun and rewarding, and the result was a pleasant surprise. DH used K.A. "white whole wheat" flour throughout and added a little wheat gluten, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. The only difficulty was the wide spacing of our oven rack; it would have been nice to have a screen of some sort to cook them on. Still, they puffed up into the traditional pockets and came out looking great. We made this as an ingredient for another recipe being made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Okay, so I'll try again (reviewed 6/12). Definate five stars for ease, fun, and taste. The DOUGH even smelled good while kneeding it! I enjoyed the process of making this bread (proofing the yeast, making the sponge, watching the rise, and forming the pita's). The last phase, which was baking the pita's, made the house smell DELICIOUS. I used a organic whole wheat bread flour for the dough. I didn't use any white bread flour for any of the process which is new for me. I did add 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten for insurance although I'm not sure I needed it. I'm sure the weather had an impact (humid and hot) and I didn't need the last 1/2 cup flour for the final addition to the dough in step 2. I will make this again and recommend it to others. Thanks for the fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    28%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites