9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made your pita bread to go along with my hummus recipe and they disappeared. Do you suppose our recipes are meeting in cyberspace and forgot to come home on time? The family loved 'em!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 20, 2013

I've made these several times, always with delicious results. Most recently I eliminated the oil (except for the oiled bowl) and made twelve rounds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cubanita December 05, 2010

Great! The only changes I made were to use 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I also used the dough cycle in my bread machine because I'm lazy. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! September 25, 2009

I definitely agree ~ Fresh is so much better than store-bought, especially when you can work with a recipe like this one! A realy joy to make, this recipe is certainly a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Healthy Choices tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 25, 2009

Great tasting pita bread! I had a hard time baking these on the rack of my oven. Wonderful, no going back to store bought! There is absolutely no comparison. Update: Making these again as they produce delicious results with minimal effort! By DH's request these are made at least twice a month.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu October 30, 2008

This is an easy way to make pita bread, which serves as a starting point for many different meals here in our home. I will probably never buy pita bread again. I think, as another reviewer mentioned, a screen would help these bake much better as that's the only complaint I had. 5 stars seems appropriate though because the taste is great as is cost of prep vs. price in store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos June 25, 2008

Needed this for another recipe and this filled in the bill. Found myself adding more flour while kneading. Nevertheless, thanks for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 17, 2008

Way cool, we can make our own pita bread! The whole process was fun and rewarding, and the result was a pleasant surprise. DH used K.A. "white whole wheat" flour throughout and added a little wheat gluten, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. The only difficulty was the wide spacing of our oven rack; it would have been nice to have a screen of some sort to cook them on. Still, they puffed up into the traditional pockets and came out looking great. We made this as an ingredient for another recipe being made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn June 16, 2008

Okay, so I'll try again (reviewed 6/12). Definate five stars for ease, fun, and taste. The DOUGH even smelled good while kneeding it! I enjoyed the process of making this bread (proofing the yeast, making the sponge, watching the rise, and forming the pita's). The last phase, which was baking the pita's, made the house smell DELICIOUS. I used a organic whole wheat bread flour for the dough. I didn't use any white bread flour for any of the process which is new for me. I did add 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten for insurance although I'm not sure I needed it. I'm sure the weather had an impact (humid and hot) and I didn't need the last 1/2 cup flour for the final addition to the dough in step 2. I will make this again and recommend it to others. Thanks for the fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux in Centreville Maryland June 13, 2008
Whole Wheat Pita Bread