Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2009

      I made this exactly as written and had problems with the cookie being so crumbly it was difficult to pick up or hold. I used extra crunchy natural peanut butter and slow cooking oatmeal so I am not sure if that could have helped in creating the problem, also it was a tad under sweetened for me and I usually prefer them that way. The addition of dried fruit or chocolate chips would have helped with that. All in all...they all disappeared!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Fantastic! Easy to make, and you would never know they were whole wheat. Crispy on the edges and soft in the middle. I also like more peanut butter so I used 1/4 cup margarine and 3/4 cup peanut butter. I couldn't stop my 2 1/2 year old (who normally won't eat oatmeal or peanut butter) from eating the batter! Thanks for a great whole wheat recipe! Will definately be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      These cookies are amazing! A huge hit with the whole family. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      GREAT RECIPE!! Friends loved it. I did 1/4 peanut butter and 1/4 nutella and it was really good. The cookie stayed soft, even after a few days. The oats gave the cookie a good texture. I used quick oats and butter instead of margarine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      delicious flavor! not overly sweet is nice. i added raisins and butterscotch chips. thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Pretty tasty. I used sucanat, and did 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup peanut butter. Batter was a little too dry and crumbly, but still turned out okay. Next time I will do as others mentioned and add an extra egg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Awesome Recipe!! I love baking with whole grains and this recipe proved to be another winner! I substituted non hydrogenated smart balance for the margarine and used a bit less sugar as I dont like cookies too sweet and got great results! They are so easy to make and I will definitely make these again! Thanks Roosie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      These were fantastic, especially with a few chocolate chips on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Great Cookie! <br/>I changed the recipe just a little. No idea what the whisk was for, but used my mixer.<br/>Increased the peanut butter and decreased the butter (no margarine is allowed in my house), proportionately. Put the oats in the food processor to get a smoother texture. It was a little crumbly. Since I had read other comments (and thank you all), I added some organic fat free milk until I got it to the consistency I needed. The other thing I did was put in the fridge for about an hour before baking. Could not wrap my mind around the peanut butter/oatmeal thing but the cookies are wonderful. Will use and SHARE! <br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Great cookies! My family loved them. After reading other reviews, I decided to reduce the oats ( I only had quick cooking on hand) to one cup and had no problem with them. I took them out of the oven after about 9 minutes since we like ours soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Absolutely wonderful! After reading the other reviews, I decreased the margarine and increased the peanut butter. I increased the peanut butter to 3/4 cup and decreased the margarine to 3 tablespoons plus a teaspoon liquid lecithin, after noting some had trouble with crumbling. Excellent texture and taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I am always looking for healthier alternatives to traditional sweets. After looking over this recipe, and considering the reviews, I am very happy with the results! I increased the peanut butter to 3/4C and decreased unsalted butter to 1/4C. I also used old fashioned oats, and decreased to 1C and used 1/2C brown sugar instead of 3/4C. I didn't have choc chips, so I chunked a part of an organic dark choc bar I had (green & blacks 80% cocoa). I found my dough to be alittle too crumbly, so I added a 1/4C milk, as suggested in another review. They are just what I was hoping for! I will try quick oats the next time- other than that I am very happy with the results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I ate one and couldn't stop wanting more! These things are awesome! I was a cup and a bit short on oats but it didn't matter! Every cookie lover should eat a batch or two of these in their lifetime! I used carob chips instead of chocolate and it turned out great. Carob dosen't contain dairy, and it's a lot sweeter than real chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      These were great! I can't even tell they are made with whole-wheat, they are just YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I think this is a GREAT cookie but I am VERY glad I read the reviews. I am sending these cookies to some healthy-loving friends overseas, so let's hope they arrive safely! I doubled the recipe, used 1 1/2 cups natural PB & 1/2 cup butter. I also used 1 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup sugar. I would have loved to add chocolate chips, but it's HOT where these cookies are going, so I didn't want the choc to melt. these aren't super sweet & unlike others, I didn't have to add an extra egg (I used Eggbeaters; perhaps that makes a diff). The texture wasn't dry & flattening them is a must! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      YUM!!! These are super delicious. I changed them a bit to suit our needs by using applesauce in place of an egg, cutting the sugar down to 1/2 cup and I chucked in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and was real happy with the result. They are a little crumbly (and it may be due to lack of egg in my case) but being as yummy as they are...who cares! Thanks for a delicious and pretty healthy treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      When I was creaming the peanut butter, sugar and margarine I was basically dying of the smell. I like peanut butter but I was beginning to regret starting this because I've never had peanut butter cookies before. The end result was SO delicious though. I really, really, really liked these, more than even regular cookies. I used smooth peanut butter and I actually cut down the sugar a little because I didn't pack it all the way. Don't know what else to say really. I used old-fashioned oats and they were not crumbly at all. I suspect the reviewer below had an issue because of the crunchy peanut butter. I really enjoyed the addition of chocolate chips. So...in summary...REALLY great cookies. I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Good base recipe. I made with butter instead of margarine - don't use margarine because of hydrogenated oils. With this substitution, the cookies spread beautifully. Mild peanut butter flavor with good texture from oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I was looking for a cookie that wouldn't be "so bad" to give to my one year old. These were so easy! So tasty! I didn't quite have enough oats, but they still turned out really good. All I heard from my daughter was num num num. Thanks for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Very, very dry mixture. Too much oatmeal, I think. My dough was incredibly crumbly and didn't stick together well. I don't know why? But, it was a waste of precious peanut-butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.2
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    43%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 205.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes