70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great whole wheat pancake recipe, the whole family loves it! Also makes a handy whole wheat baking mix (use instead of things like Bisquick) if you use milk powder instead of milk and leave out the other wet ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melktert March 08, 2011

These ROCK, plain and simple. My husband, who really can't stand whole wheat pancakes, loved them. My two toddlers beg for these time and time again. One thing to note...this recipe states it makes 8 pancakes. If this recipe makes only 8 pancakes, they would be the size of TEXAS!!! This recipe makes many, many more than 8 4-inch cakes. ENJOY! And thanks heaps for the AWESOME recipe! Mmm...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PookeyLumLum April 23, 2010

very good wheat pancake. added a little vanilla and honey to the batter and they were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tisha in marrero October 29, 2014

These were wonderful. Texture just like we like them and very filling!! Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolover March 29, 2014

this recipe does not mention the single most important part ... the eggs must be seperated, the whites beaten to stiff peaks, then, as the last step, folded into the mix. Why is this so important? Because the beaten whites thicken the mix, and when the pancake is cooked, the air from the beaten whites holds the mix in place... i.e. - the pancakes come out very thick, yet extraordinarily light. This is by far the best pancake recipe ever concocted, however NOT without the essential step involved. /// Also, because this process is so effective, if someone is lactose intolerant, a milk substitute can be used with great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debris54 April 04, 2013

This is such a great basic recipe. I've been making it for years now. We've also recently tried to reduce our gluten intake and have substituted a GF flour mix with wonderful results. We make this on a weekly basis. Good basic ingredients that you always have on hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rondamsousa January 14, 2013

These were ok. First time trying whole wheat pancakes so do not have an idea of how they usually are. This did make a huge batch.I like the idea that they are whole wheat. This were fluffier than I thought they would be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms September 29, 2012

This recipe is great. The kids that i baby sit all sumnmer lover them even the two year old!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie-Anne August 14, 2012

Overall, good basic recipe. One kid really liked it, another was so-so, and a third wouldn't eat wheat pancakes. I've cooked the recipe twice now, and the pancakes come out rather thin and with a slightly greasy consistency. I agree with another reviewer that the recipe seems to call for a lot of vegetable oil. Next time, therefore, I may include less oil in order to see if they rise better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JGB18 November 19, 2011

I was out of white flour and was bummed. We have a regular pancake recipe that is amazing its from the Joy of Cooking cook book. I still wanting pancakes decide to try a Whole Wheat recipe but not excited about it and my husband will not be happy, not sure about the kids let. I did add 3.5 Tbs sugar to the recipe since that is what my other recipe has so I figured it would need at least that but more might be better for those of us whose taste buds are used to the gritty/nutty taste of WW. I was surprised how much oil it used since my other recipe only has 3Tbs butter in it, but I am sure this one needs that much. I did find they were okay but probably better than okay since they are so healthy so that is why I gave 4 stars. Thanks I might make these again when I am out of white or am trying to be more healthy or something combining my favorite and this one recipes?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m August 13, 2011
Whole Wheat Pancakes