Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2003

      Very light and tasty compared to other whole wheat pancakes I've tried. They are easy to make. I added vinegar to my milk to substitute for buttermilk and they turned out great. These are a thin, light pancake...delicate. If you are lookly for a thick pancake, these aren't for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2002

      Simple, tasty recipe. I don't keep buttermilk in the house so I used vinegar and 2% milk to make it. This could easily be adapted to add fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Good, easy and not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Eggs... most pancakes don't have enough to lighten like this one...

      Honey... so much better than sugar for taking that edge of the wheat. Miller's Honey from Walmart is uncooked and NO WATER ADDED. Make sure your honey is pure and the very least moves like it's glued to the bottle - honey isn't THIN!

      I used real buttermilk as well as Bob's Red Mill **organic pastry flour**. Pastry flour will give you the smooth consistency you are more used to before you started using whole wheat :)

      I put all the wet ingredients into the same bowl AFTER whisking the eggs WELL. Honey is hard to dissolve in cold so mix well... it tends to go to the bottom of the WET ingredients. I love a good steel whisk...

      I followed the recipe exactly, and since I did and it's winter, the consistency was thicker than it would be in the summer with more humidity.

      Even in summer the batter will tend to thicken as it sits and the wheat flour absorbs moisture. I add a tablespoon of milk (not buttermilk) to keep it a "thick pour" consistency.

      Heated on a lightly oiled griddle each "set" of pancakes takes a while to cook through, so if you are tending to see early browning but middle not cooked, back off the temp by 25 or so degrees. Somewhere between 325 and 375 will be your "perfect" temp - your mileage may vary.

      You can even make them even thinner and make crepes with this marvelous batter... I would bet we could also use it for other batter recipes, it's that good!

      THANK YOU for giving me the first and definitely the best alternative to my Bisquick pancakes.

      Personal favorite additions:

      2 tablespoons flax seed (had to add about the same in milk to compensate for the thickening of the flax, but I love the flavor.)

      Semi Sweet chocolate chips - yep, what a dessert these pancakes make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Used apple sauce instead of oil (as another reviewer suggested), and used 1 egg 1/4C egg substitute. Forgot to add cinnamon, so I added it to the honey syrup I made (i.e., just headed some honey with cinnamon). A HUGE it at my house, even my toddler begged for seconds!
      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Loved it! We substituted original flavored Almond milk for the buttermilk and actually it made it taste out of this world! Thanks for the recipe!

      Update: we used vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk and applesauce instead of oil and it still tasted (flavor and texture) great! Really! I promise! (I've just recently turned into a health nut, so I I know the normal taste of these)...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I registered just so I could leave a review for this recipes. I have made this recipe as is (except I use butter instead of oil) about 10 times now. Exceptional pancake recipe. Much needed treat since I live on only whole, natural foods. These pancakes melt in your mouth. Wonderful. Excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Great recipe, very light and wonderful pancakes. I topped with fruit and agave and it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Just tried these this morning with White Whole Wheat flour and they turned out great! I used regular milk and added a dash of Allspice. One person said they added more flour because the batter seemed thin but I noticed that the batter thickened up a bit after sitting for a couple minutes. I am glad I didn't add any flour. Will be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Delicious! Simple recipe....perfect results! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      very very good! I added 1/4 cup flour at the end because it seemed thin...which was as described by author...and it made a little bit thicker pancakes. I also allowed it to rest and rise for 5 minutes before cooking for extra fulffyness. Added a dash of cinnamon too. Def going on my Sunday breakfast rotation!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This recipe is going into my best of the best file. I am trying to stay away from white flour and sugar. This recipe is excellent and so very tasty. I highly recommend it! Thank you for posting this gem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      I just made these and they are delicious! This is a very easy recipe to make and so good for you. I will be making them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      A good, basic pancake recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Wonderful and quick. Made them with coconut oil and stoneground ww flour, and the fam loved it. I also used up some questionable raw milk in place of buttermilk, and may try it with Kefir next, as that's what we stock.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      Great, easy recipe. Made with my 3 yo. Added 1 mashed banana and some chopped pecans, a splash of vanilla. Yum! Barely needed syrup. Light and fluffy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      this might be the best pancake I've ever tasted, light and fluffy, I did not have buttermilk just coconut milk (not the can kind for curry making, but the one that can be substituted for cow's milk, I bought it at trader joes) Also I used sugar instead of honey and I used one tablespoon of butter and 2 tbsp of oil instead of 3 tablespoon of oil (I was running out of oil) and it still came out wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Very delicious! Love whole wheat, but often it is too dense/heavy. These pancakes were light with a subtle wheat flavor. I used Prairie Gold flour, coconut oil, local raw honey, whole milk (didn't feel like making sour milk and was out of buttermilk) and added vanilla. They weren't as thin as I expected, from reading the reviews, but also not super thick and fluffy. I normally make sourdough pancakes, but am developing a new starter at the moment - glad I found this recipe for times when the starter is unavailable or we just feel like having "regular" pancakes. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      So good. Served with fresh fruit and yogurt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      really really good pancakes.
      a little tip - these don't get bubbly around the edges when they are ready to flip. so flip them when you think they've cooked long enough.
      i didn't have buttermilk - so i used plain yogurt. it worked well.
      great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.5
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    46%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 95.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 572.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes