145 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very light and tasty compared to other whole wheat pancakes I've tried. They are easy to make. I added vinegar to my milk to substitute for buttermilk and they turned out great. These are a thin, light pancake...delicate. If you are lookly for a thick pancake, these aren't for you.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jseilercats March 01, 2003

Simple, tasty recipe. I don't keep buttermilk in the house so I used vinegar and 2% milk to make it. This could easily be adapted to add fruit.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTurner November 28, 2002

Good, easy and not too sweet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo C August 11, 2012

Eggs... most pancakes don't have enough to lighten like this one...

Honey... so much better than sugar for taking that edge of the wheat. Miller's Honey from Walmart is uncooked and NO WATER ADDED. Make sure your honey is pure and the very least moves like it's glued to the bottle - honey isn't THIN!

I used real buttermilk as well as Bob's Red Mill **organic pastry flour**. Pastry flour will give you the smooth consistency you are more used to before you started using whole wheat :)

I put all the wet ingredients into the same bowl AFTER whisking the eggs WELL. Honey is hard to dissolve in cold so mix well... it tends to go to the bottom of the WET ingredients. I love a good steel whisk...

I followed the recipe exactly, and since I did and it's winter, the consistency was thicker than it would be in the summer with more humidity.

Even in summer the batter will tend to thicken as it sits and the wheat flour absorbs moisture. I add a tablespoon of milk (not buttermilk) to keep it a "thick pour" consistency.

Heated on a lightly oiled griddle each "set" of pancakes takes a while to cook through, so if you are tending to see early browning but middle not cooked, back off the temp by 25 or so degrees. Somewhere between 325 and 375 will be your "perfect" temp - your mileage may vary.

You can even make them even thinner and make crepes with this marvelous batter... I would bet we could also use it for other batter recipes, it's that good!

THANK YOU for giving me the first and definitely the best alternative to my Bisquick pancakes.

Personal favorite additions:

2 tablespoons flax seed (had to add about the same in milk to compensate for the thickening of the flax, but I love the flavor.)

Semi Sweet chocolate chips - yep, what a dessert these pancakes make!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atheria November 22, 2011

Used apple sauce instead of oil (as another reviewer suggested), and used 1 egg 1/4C egg substitute. Forgot to add cinnamon, so I added it to the honey syrup I made (i.e., just headed some honey with cinnamon). A HUGE it at my house, even my toddler begged for seconds!
Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx January 21, 2011

Loved it! We substituted original flavored Almond milk for the buttermilk and actually it made it taste out of this world! Thanks for the recipe!

Update: we used vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk and applesauce instead of oil and it still tasted (flavor and texture) great! Really! I promise! (I've just recently turned into a health nut, so I I know the normal taste of these)...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michigan-fan January 05, 2011

I registered just so I could leave a review for this recipes. I have made this recipe as is (except I use butter instead of oil) about 10 times now. Exceptional pancake recipe. Much needed treat since I live on only whole, natural foods. These pancakes melt in your mouth. Wonderful. Excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denicalis May 14, 2013

Great recipe, very light and wonderful pancakes. I topped with fruit and agave and it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anglmail@gvtc.com May 01, 2013

Just tried these this morning with White Whole Wheat flour and they turned out great! I used regular milk and added a dash of Allspice. One person said they added more flour because the batter seemed thin but I noticed that the batter thickened up a bit after sitting for a couple minutes. I am glad I didn't add any flour. Will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lissalue21 March 24, 2013

Delicious! Simple recipe....perfect results! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove February 12, 2013
Whole Wheat Pancakes