Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2009

      What a GREAT, healthy recipe! My family ate them up! I love the simplicity of the recipe, too! I did make a couple of changes by substituting 2 Tbl. applesauce for the oil (for less fat), added 2 heaping Tbl. flax meal, and a mashed banana (as you suggested). Delicious!! We will certainly make these again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Because I have cut white flour out of our diet I never thought about having pancakes again...until now!! These are great and they passed the teenager test too!! :) I did substitute Splenda for the honey, as I have cut certain sugars from my diet also. Thanks for this great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      These make wonderful pancakes! My husband and kids devoured them! I made them exactly as the recipe says to with no alterations. They were so filling that we only had one or two apiece and I froze the rest of them for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Worst pancakes I have ever made or eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. As a healthy alternative to syrup I topped them with some sweet strawberries and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      These pancakes are very healthy, but very flat. They burned easily when I was cooking them too. Also be sure to stir them well because the honey likes to sit in the bottom of the bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Thank you for this great recipe! It makes pancakes like my grandmother made me as a child. They are perfectly brown on top. I love them with butter and honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This recipe is great! The batch made enough for my family with some left over to freeze for several "quick" hot breakfasts. The whole wheat flour makes them heartier, so they're more filling. I added fresh-picked blueberries while on the griddle- yumm! They do cook differently than lighter, fluffier pancakes, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      The flavor was good. I didn't add the honey instead I used cinnamon and vanilla extract. The only problem was when I cooked them with a little butter on my cast-iron skillet the pancake got stuck. I also tried cooking some of the batter on my stainless steel pan and the same thing happened. I have cooked pancakes in the past made of all-purpose flour both on the skillet and pan and I have never had that problem. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      DH loved these. A word of caution if you are measuring your ingredients on a scale-- you may have to add more flour, or use less milk. I had to add more flour because mine were very very runny, and I even only used 2 egg whites and NO oil. I also added a tsp of vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      These pancakes are THE BEST 100% whole wheat pancakes my family has every tasted! I tried a recipe a little over a week ago, and they were ok, but I had no CLUE at how yummy pancakes could taste without enriched white flour. I have switched my family over to whole wheat flour (we will NOT go back to white), and we were really wanting pancakes again, and I found this recipe and thought I would give it a go. This is the pancake recipe I will use from now on! I did have to add a little more flour to the mixture in order to get the right consistency that I am used to for the batter, but I will admit that I added a little more honey, and I could VERY easily see myself snacking on these without any butter or syrup. My kids raved over them, and my 16 month old daughter had almost 4 of them. They are fantastic, and I am so grateful to you gwenrk for adding this onto Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      very good recipe...i prefer whole wheat over white flour.i never knew that i could make pancakes without using the enriched flour...thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      I think this recipe is great but I'll need to work with the flavor to get it to my liking! I like a particular sweetness to my pancakes so I used the honey with 1/4 cup Splenda but it was too sweet, so I think I'll reduce that amount down to 2 tbsp. I used applesauce for the oil & Eggbeaters. At the last minute I added 1/4 cup mini choc chips which worked out great. I got about 12 out of this. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      Excellent pancake. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      Not that great...the whole wheat taste is slightly overpowering and makes for rather bland pancakes. Add sweetener and substitute maybe half all-purpose flour?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.5
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    27%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 98.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 296.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites