Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Oatmeal Buttermilk Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Oatmeal Buttermilk Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2013

      I have been looking for a long time for a good sandwich bread and this is it. It has the perfect texture and while it rose ridiculously high, it was not so soft that it was difficult to slice. For my personal taste, however, I would prefer a bit more of the oatmeal flavour and perhaps a bit more sweetness. This bread took about 45 min on the first rise and after 30 min on the 2nd rise, the bread was way over the top of the loaf pan (and I used a pan that was slightly bigger than was stated in the recipe). Because of its size, I baked it for 50 minutes and it was cooked through. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      This bread turned out really well. It holds together nicely for sandwiches or toast. The texture is lovely, not too crumbly and not too stiff. The flavor is rich and hearty but not overpowering. I will definitely add this to my rotation of homemade breads. This was a big hit with my family. Thanks for posting another fantastic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This made really nice bread. I did make a couple of small changes...I used Robin Hood Multigrain bread flour for all of the flour, and I also proofed the yeast in additional buttermilk rather than water....I needed to use up some buttermilk and this seemed a good way. I proofed the dough in my oven (it has a proofing setting) and the first rise took 1 hour, the second 30 minutes. It rose nice and high and made a really big loaf. Next time I might bake it for slightly longer as it seemed still slightly doughy inside. My family gobbled it down anyway. Nice recipe...thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      What a lovely bread! OK I did add 3/4 cup sesame seeds, 3/4 cup flax seed, 3/4 cup pumpkin seeds & more like 3/4 cup rolled oats. Used my trusty bread machine to mix up the dough - worked well! Had to increase buttermilk to 2 cups but my, oh my, this makes a delicious bread with tender crumb. Will be making awesome tomato sandwiches with this one! Thank you, Kittencal, for this wonderful loaf! Updat - made 3 times now as written - this is a wonderful bread - full of flavor both fresh & toasted - its crumb is perfect for sandwiches!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This is very good. I mixed it on the dough cycle of my breadmaker and subbed kefir for the buttermilk. I made this for BLTs for dinner tonight, I just hope there's some bread left. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      This is a great bread!! I did'nt use a bread baker, but next time I might for the mixing part to see how that works out. My family thought I was making multiple loafs of bread with the name LOL I told them you get 3 great breads in 1. Excellent recipe. I love breads!! Karen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This is a great bread recipe! The result is a beautiful crust and a soft and flavorful crumb! Oh my! I made it for sandwiches but we have eaten most of it as slices. My dough never really rose, so I am going to try this one again, as I have a feeling the bread is even higher and better. This must be a fool proof recipe as I did not even manage to mess up the end result LOL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      Great texture! The dough rises beautifully. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      I made this in a bread machine. It is so good. As advertised, it rose very high. The only real subsitution I made was that I used soy milk rather than buttermilk. Great bread, Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      I placed all ingredients in a bread machine, set for dough and baked in Corning Ware Glass tubes. I will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Oatmeal Buttermilk Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1036 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2388.5
     
    Calories from Fat 423
    17%
    Total Fat 47.0 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 24.9 g
    124%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 4701.5 mg
    195%
    Total Carbohydrate 432.4 g
    144%
    Dietary Fiber 37.1 g
    148%
    Sugars 55.4 g
    221%
    Protein 72.8 g
    145%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes