Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Oatmeal and Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Oatmeal and Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2009

      Even my neighbor's child licked his lips and asked me for more days afterwards. I took the advice of others and added 1/2 c milk, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp kosher salt. Also put walnuts, raisins and choc chips. The 2nd time I added diced almond slivers, diced prunes, diced apricots and choc chips...to total 1 cup of all of the 'extras'. Used only 1/3 c white sugar the 2nd time 'cause I thought it was a little too sweet for my boys the first time ;) (haven't tried batch #2 yet)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I've already made these outstanding cookies twice! The first time I made them just as stated (with butter), the second time I added 1/2 tsp. of salt to enhance the flavor (and boy it sure did) and another 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Not only do the cookies taste great, but, they are sooooo filling. The whole grains really keep you from being hungry all day (yes, my DH had them for breakfast one day...he said he had to eat his "oatmeal"). We now have a healthier cookie to enjoy. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Chewy oatmeal cookie with a burst of chocolate chip. Healthy and tasty too! I used Ghirardelli chocolate chips, 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup Crisco vegetable shortening. They baked for about 12 min as I did not hear the timer go off. Oatmeal part is a bit dry but the chocolate makes up for that. these go great with milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      These turned out very well! I only changed a few things, I added a little cinnamon, a bit of salt and a splash of milk. They turned out awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I liked the recipe; but you NEED to add some salt. The Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip recipe calls for 1 TSP of salt. I couldn't pinpoint what was off on these cookied and it was indeed the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Tasted great, esp. for cookies made of only whole wheat flour. I added peanut butter and walnuts for some extra flavoring. Also, I added a half cup of milk to keep the batter from going dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Loved these! Made exactly as stated using whole wheat pastry flour. Together with the rolled oats, this made a yummy lunchbox treat and additional source of whole grains for the kids. Mine loved them! My picky husband who eschews all things whole grain certainly ate a bunch, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I was kind of disappointed. Were these suppose to spread? If so, mine didn't. I followed the recipe as written, and ended up with 60 cookies. I thought maybe I had read the instruction wrong, and was suppose to use a tablespoon of dough for each cookie, but the instructions clearly states 'teaspoon'. The first batch I squashed while still warm, as they were almost the same sized 'balls' as I had put on the cookie sheet. The following batches, I pressed before baking. Not what I was expecting I guess. The flavour was just okay. I'd follow the advise of another and add some cinnamon and nutmeg, but I won't be making these again. Sorry :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      These were very good. I was afraid to put in all the whole wheat flour so I substituted 1/2 cup with all purpose (next time I won't do this). I also used 1/2 cup of butter with 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and I added 1/4 cup white chocolate chips (I was looking for a chocolate fix). These definitely hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I made it just like the recipe stated. Very good! Makes a crunchy cookie. I could NOT tell that this had whole wheat flour in it. I would not have believed it lest I made it myself. Thanks, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      I liked these a lot but next time I'm going to add some cinnamon & nutmeg for a kick. I used half applesauce & half butter to cut down on calories. I also used 1 1/2 cups oats instead of the 2 cups & used Splenda. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      I made this recipie the other day when I was needing some fiber in my diet. I made a few adaptations. First I added an extra 1/2 cup oatmeal, then for 1/2 the white sugar I used splenda, and for the shortening I used fat free crisco. The biggest adaptation I made was instead of using chocolate chips - I used chopped up prunes. They turned out great - very much like an oatmeal raisin cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Oatmeal and Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.5
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    40%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 21.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 53.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites