Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Oat Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Oat Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2011

      This banana bread is awesome! I used 1/2 cup flax seed meal, 1/2 cup of whole oats (ground up in the food processor) and 1 cup of whole wheat flour. I added more walnuts (3/4 cup), used 1 tablespoon of olive oil & added an extra egg (for more protein). And used 1 tablespoonful of vanilla. I love this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Thank you for posting an actual HEALTHY recipe! I love it when the ingredients listed don't have to be substituted for healthier alternatives!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This was really good and moist. For me it took a lot longer than 30 minutes to cook though, closer to 50. I did not use walnuts, but added about 1/4 c of miniature chocolate chips. I also used skim milk as opposed to the almond milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

    • on November 21, 2009

      I was looking for a healthy banana bread recipe to replace my Betty Crocker one, and this is it! I was suspicious with such a low amount of fat and it being from olive oil, but this turned out perfect. No oat bran, so I used a smaller quantity of wheat germ and added a little more flour. Added some Mixed Sweet Spice too. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Yummy!!! We made these into muffins (the recipe made 15 regular size muffins) and baked at 350 for 16 minutes. We left out the walnuts (personal preference), used 1% cow milk (what we had on hand) and added tiny semi-sweet chocolate chips. They are wonderful hot out of the oven, and make a perfect breakfast or snack. Thanks, Terry!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Excellent! Very good bread - great texture and flavor and very healthy! I even substituted 1 c. almond flour (ground up almond pulp) for 1c. of the whole wheat flour and it worked perfectly! Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This was a good banana bread. Nice and hearty. I used rice milk, because it is sweet, and used pecans, because I didn't have any walnuts. Will definately make again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      I made these into muffins. The texture was good. I would have liked for this to be a bit sweeter. I did add 2 Tbsp. ground flax seed, used dairy milk, and left out the walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Delicious! I used regular 1% milk, and added 3 TB ground Flax. Very moist yummy bread, will definitely make again, think I will make muffins next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      GREAT recipe - loved it!!! I used regular milk since that's what we drink, and mashed everything together instead of blending it. Also, I ran out of baking powder but used about 3 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten instead which worked great. It's pretty soft in the middle so it probably could have used another minute or two in the oven, but I like mine soft so it was fine with me ;) Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      WOW! These are amazing! The ingredients are perfect and healthy. I added 1/2 cup of ground flaxseed for extra fiber and good fats. I also threw in some cinnamon. Amazing muffins. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Love this bread! Great flavor and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This bread had a light texture, crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. I didn't have oat bran so made some coarse oat flour in the blender from rolled oats. I was short on honey so used 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup brown sugar. With a freezer full of over-ripe organic bananas which I wanted to use up, this recipe was perfect for a nearly fat free and guilt free snack. Loved using the almond milk and the small amount of olive oil. Such a healthful loaf that tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      High mark for a healthy muffin, but they were flat and too sweet ( should've lessen the amount of honey because i use over riped bananas) Its hard to distinguish if they were done baking, for the outside browns quickly while the inside were still moist. The taste of honey is very distinct

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      this bread is so good!!! It has helped me with my pregnacy when i need a small snack in the morning to get me started in the day and the potassum from the bananas to help with my leg cramps

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      Excellent bread. My husband usually doesn't care for healthy whole wheat bread but actually ate some of it and liked it! My oven seems to overcook things so I lowered the temp to 325 and baked it for 10 minutes longer and it came out perfect. I will be making this again, thank you for a healthy and tasty recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Nice healthy recipe. I left out the walnuts and baked them as muffins. Not very sweet but nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      It's nice to get a healthy recipe that tastes so yummy. However, it took 55 minutes to cook (just like any other banana bread recipe) and a pinch of salt in the batter wouldn't have hurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Oat Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.5
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    26%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 171.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    almond milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites