34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did this on my dough cycle in my bread machine and then baked it in my oven. If you do it this way and with almost 4 cups of flour, make sure you put it in a bigger loaf pan. This is a wonderful, slightly sweet wheat bread and I have to agree with PinkPanther, it did rise very quickly for a wheat bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA May 25, 2009

Delicious bread with a slightly dense texture. Makes wonderful buttered toast. Also good warmed to go with soup. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 18, 2014

We liked. I used 2 Tbs molasses not 3, and plowed milk instead of skim but used equal amount water- 2tbs powered milk. I did rapid wheat cycle 2lbs light crust. The crust was more done than I like so might try 1.5 lbs next time? Or more yeast so it rises more? Not sure. Thanks will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m August 20, 2013

This is the first recipe I have used that makes a fluffy delicious loaf. I used homey instead of molasses and recplaced 1/4 cup of brad flour with wheat germ. Beautiful result. Will probably use less sugar next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zamster July 08, 2013

This is the first loaf of wheat bread I've made that actually rose! It's a beautiful thing! It does have a sweet flavor, which is fantastic for breakfast, but it also pairs well with savory sandwich options. I did swap the sugar for honey and used canola oil. I'll be making this bread often. It was a big hit at my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellow_apple30 March 23, 2010

This is the best whole wheat recipe I've ever made in my bread machine. It was light, rose beautifully, and tasted fantastic -- the closest to store-bought texture I've ever made. I did a few treaks: used reconstituted dry milk, used only 1/4 tsp. salt and accordingly lowered the yeast to 2 tsp. because I'm on a low sodium diet, and I substituted 1/2 cup of the bread flour with 1/4 cup flax seed meal and 1/4 cup unprocessed bran. Delicious! I will definitely be making this bread again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz March 17, 2010

I was looking for a recipe that I can consume my molasses & whole wheat, and I found this. I used half bread flour & regular flour. Perfect snack due to it's sweet flavor. I like it lightly toasted & put a little bit of butter or cream cheese. Thank you for the great recipe. See the photos (2).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nuit March 12, 2010

I substituted whole wheat flour for the bread flour just to see if I could get good results. It broke my bread machine (LOL), but it was worth it (I get them for $2 each at my local resale shop). This was so yummy. My kids even loved it and they are partial to white bread. I'm sure they would melt faster than the butter if I made it as written. Thanks for posting this. If I use all whole wheat again, I'll knead it by hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanniedbc February 14, 2010

I have made this several times and just love it. Today I used 3 tbsp of honey instead of the sugar, and replaced a 1/2 cup of the bread flour with a 1/4 cup each of flax seed meal and unprocessed wheat bran. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missusdavis February 13, 2010

Our favorite bread recipe. I serve it with soup--any kind. My family looks forward to it, from oldest to youngest. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domsmom1022 January 02, 2010
Whole Wheat Molasses Bread (bread Machine)