Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Honey Banana Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Honey Banana Muffins

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      Fantastic!!! I altered it a bit. I used 1/3 unbleached white flour and 2/3 whole wheat flour. Then I used virgin coconut oil instead of olive or canola. Last, I topped it with a homemade sprinkle to make the top sweet. (pulse rolled oats, almond slivers, and brown sugar in a blender) These were amazingly moist and just sweet enough. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great! I was nervous that using all honey might effect the texture and rising capability of the muffin, but it wasn't a problem at all. Very moist too which is key to any good whole-wheat baked good (might add a couple extra bananas next time to bump up the moisture factor). A keeper, thank you! FYI- Another of my favorite "doesn't taste like whole-wheat" recipes is Manuela's Fruity Whole Wheat Oat Bread (Fruity Whole Wheat Oat Bread). Also excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I'll be honest, I was super-skeptical about whole wheat muffins being delicious. But I tried them anyway, using the super-crunchy whole wheat flour I had laying around, and they were a huge hit with all the picky people in my household.

      I did add chopped walnuts and only had 1/2 c. honey so I subbed brown sugar for the other 1/2 c.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      These were excellent! We halved the recipe and used 1/2 applesauce 1/2 olive oil. We also included some semi-sweet chocolate chips. Yummy!! They turned out perfectly - moist, sweet and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I've had less-than-perfect experiences with healthy muffins in the past. This recipe rocks! I even used a cup of egg substitute instead of the eggs and they were tender and fluffy as can be. Also used 3/4 cup of honey and a few packets of Splenda (it's what I had!). The sweetness was just right. Who doesn't have overripe bananas that need to be used, right? I used exactly six. For the record, the way I prepared them equals exactly 3 Weight Watchers points. Add a glass of fat-free milk and you've got a great (and filling) meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      These were delicious! My picky toddler loved them and so did my skeptical husband.

      I used 1c eggbeaters in place of eggs and subbed the oil for applesauce. For me, this made 30 muffins instead of 24. I entered this into my weight watchers recipe builder and it turns out to be 3 PointsPlus per muffin (whether you get 24 or 30 out of the batch).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Made half the recipe, which gave me 24 mini muffins, 6 normal muffins, and a very short mini-loaf. I added some dark brown sugar (a couple Tbsps.) because we've got some serious sweet tooths at our house that wouldn't eat them otherwise. I didn't bother with beating things separately, just mixed the wet ingredients, dumped in all the dry, and mixed till combined. They are delicious and my 2 year old keeps asking for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Pretty good for a healthy muffin. Next time I think I'll add some raisins since they weren't sweet at all. I did put some pecans on top so they added flavor. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      These were quite good but I want to try adding a few things next time. I want to add more bananas as some of the people who tried these couldn't clearly taste the banana. I also want to try adding either raisins or peanut butter, though obviously not both. Because of the honey, these muffins had a natural glistening effect I haven't seen with other muffins. BTW, honey is a lot more expensive than sugar, and adding a cup of honey is like adding a normal sized bottle of honey, which can make this recipe surprisingly expensive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      We thought these were very good for "healthy". Will add cinnamon and raisins next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Delicious Muffins, I halfed the recipe as there is 2 of us. I used applesauce for the oil, half honey & Splenda, and buttermilk instead of the water, used 3 bananas. This made 12 large plump delicious muffins. Thank you for posting this healthy recipe that I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I made these today for my friends at a little gathering we did. I thought they were okay. I put apple sauce instead of oil and added three bananas. I thought they were just regular muffins and there was nothing much special. Maybe with a streusal topping or something like that. I liked them! But they were not my favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I've been making these muffins for about six months now, since I had a huge amount of honey that I was trying to use up. I have to say that my whole family loves them! I add 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips, a bit of cinnamon and about a tsp of vanilla (I like cinnamon and vanilla with banana). I use the white whole wheat flour and sometimes use 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. They freeze great. I usually try to keep some in the freezer for the ultimate grab and go snack. Thank you for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      My family loves these, and I love that they're healthy! I use raw local honey, coconut oil or melted butter in place of the olive/canola, and flax seed meal in place of the wheat germ (since I don't have wheat germ). I've had success subbing pumpkin pur?e for the bananas. And I add 1 cup of chocolate chips to get my 5-year-old to eat them LOL.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! I followed the recipe exactly. They are not too sweet, which suited our tastes very well. I was nervous that the whole wheat flour would be too strong but honestly, if you didn't tell me they were made with whole wheat flour I don't think I would have known. They were delicious. My kids ate them up and had no idea they were eating something so healthy! This recipe is my new banana muffin recipe for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      This is the first recipe I have ever reviewed, but I have to because these were so good. I wanted to make a whole wheat banana muffin, but didn't really think they would taste as good as the ones with white flour. I was wrong - they taste better. My kids and husband love them, too. Thank you for posting this recipe - this will be my new banana muffin recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Delicious recipe! I had been looking for something to use both bananas and honey and this was just perfect. I halved the recipe since it is only me and my husband, and I only made a few minor modifications. I used 2 Tbsp. whole flaxseeds instead of the wheat germ, and I added a scant 1/2 tsp. cinammon and about 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Finally, the recipe I've been looking for! Awesome muffins...great texture, sweet but not too sweet and full of good-for-you stuff. They are a great go-to for breakfast on the run.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      These are great!! I used 1 whole egg and 3 egg whites insted of 4 whole eggs and they turned out just fine. Very moist and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I added vanilla extract, a little more banana, and some ground golden flax in place of the wheat germ. They turned out great! The muffins tasted much better after sitting in the fridge overnight. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Honey Banana Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1550 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    36%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 214.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    52%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites