Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2010

      Wow! These are great. Mine turned out heavy too, but that's normal when using whole wheat. I substituted 2 cups of Brown Rice Flour and they taste real good. My husband said to me that the Bison Burgers I made with these Buns were the best he has ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Quite good, though a little heavy, which is not altogether surprising for whole wheat. Still, they stood up to gooey wet toppings without falling apart, and they tasted good so I would make them again. I didn't need the full amount of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I found these buns very very heavy. I ended up throwing most of them out. I was disappointed as all the other reviews rated them so highly I was so looking forward to them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! The honey was a pleasant addition to this recipe. I used whole flax seeds instead of ground and they turned out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Very good buns. Next time I'll make them a bit smaller (maybe 16), because they are TOO filling. I substituted 2 cups of white bread flour. I think this might be perfect as a loaf, sliced, for sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      These are great. I've never had luck with vegan burger buns till this recipe. Sweet but not so sweet you wouldn't want to use them for burgers. Made the recipe as listed and they turned out great. I made another batch and substituted 2 of the cups of wheat flour for rye and added 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds. These also came out tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Very nice! Love the addition of flax & oatmeal for the bonus nutrition and flavour. I made these last night for a bbq today. They're really nice and light. I used 2 cups of unbleached white as I wanted to make sure they were on the 'light' side of whole wheat. I also used my stand mixer, following the steps as per the recipe and it worked out really well. Have never just added in yeast like that before - it worked fine! Thanks Sharon, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Very nice buns. My hubby prefers them to store-bought. They were quite large for my young kids, I think I'll make it into about 20 buns next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This is a great hamburger bun! Nice crisp shell and soft and chewy on the inside! I did not have flax seed so per French Tart's review I subbed in oat flour. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Excellent recipe! These buns turned out beautifully, with great texture and flavor. We used all whole wheat flour, which did make for substantial and filling buns. They were perfectly sized for our homemade 1/3 pound burgers. Thanks for posting! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!! I make all my breads using a pre-ferment/autolyse, so I used that method for this recipe. I did use part unbleached all-purpose flour; scaled the buns to 4 oz, since I wanted them slightly smaller for commercially-prepared veggie burgers. Got exactly 13 buns. Will definitely make this recipe my main bun recipe. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Fabulous! We use a LOT of wholemeal or wholewheat flour in European bread making, and these burger rolls were superb! I cheated and started off the dough in my bread machine, as I was VERY busy; I then relaxed and shaped them by hand, before proving and baking them just over an hour ago! I had no ground flax seeds, so I added some oat flour instead. I also finished off my burger rolls by dusting some flour over the top. I am using these for burgers tonight, but Malcolm and I have shared one already, warm with fresh butter - amazing flavour and texture Sharon - thanks! Made for Holiday Tag and very much enjoyed - saved for the future. FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I sometimes like to try to eat healthy. Notice I said sometimes :) These buns were so tender and delicious in flavor. We enjoyed them so much. I used with burgers, tuna sandwiches and grilled cheese sandwiches this week and they were great! These will be made again soon, as my family will enjoy them too when I give them each a baggie full! Thank you Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.1
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    20%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 409.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes