13 Reviews

Wow! These are great. Mine turned out heavy too, but that's normal when using whole wheat. I substituted 2 cups of Brown Rice Flour and they taste real good. My husband said to me that the Bison Burgers I made with these Buns were the best he has ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ondway2gourmet April 16, 2010

Quite good, though a little heavy, which is not altogether surprising for whole wheat. Still, they stood up to gooey wet toppings without falling apart, and they tasted good so I would make them again. I didn't need the full amount of flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny June 01, 2010

I found these buns very very heavy. I ended up throwing most of them out. I was disappointed as all the other reviews rated them so highly I was so looking forward to them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom April 28, 2010

Absolutely delicious! The honey was a pleasant addition to this recipe. I used whole flax seeds instead of ground and they turned out wonderfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yumyum5 December 22, 2009

Very good buns. Next time I'll make them a bit smaller (maybe 16), because they are TOO filling. I substituted 2 cups of white bread flour. I think this might be perfect as a loaf, sliced, for sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK November 05, 2009

These are great. I've never had luck with vegan burger buns till this recipe. Sweet but not so sweet you wouldn't want to use them for burgers. Made the recipe as listed and they turned out great. I made another batch and substituted 2 of the cups of wheat flour for rye and added 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds. These also came out tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo August 08, 2009

Very nice! Love the addition of flax & oatmeal for the bonus nutrition and flavour. I made these last night for a bbq today. They're really nice and light. I used 2 cups of unbleached white as I wanted to make sure they were on the 'light' side of whole wheat. I also used my stand mixer, following the steps as per the recipe and it worked out really well. Have never just added in yeast like that before - it worked fine! Thanks Sharon, this is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner June 14, 2009

Very nice buns. My hubby prefers them to store-bought. They were quite large for my young kids, I think I'll make it into about 20 buns next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3sweetkids February 09, 2009

This is a great hamburger bun! Nice crisp shell and soft and chewy on the inside! I did not have flax seed so per French Tart's review I subbed in oat flour. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG January 18, 2009

Excellent recipe! These buns turned out beautifully, with great texture and flavor. We used all whole wheat flour, which did make for substantial and filling buns. They were perfectly sized for our homemade 1/3 pound burgers. Thanks for posting! ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau October 09, 2008
Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns