Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Hamburger and Hot Dog Buns (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Hamburger and Hot Dog Buns (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2011

      We Love LOVED Them:) Thank you for the Recipe. I did add 1 Table spoon of Flax Seed to it other than that I followed the recipe step by step Thank you so Much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I used 3 cups whole wheat flower and omitted the all purpose flower. They turn out perfect every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      I used this bun recipe to make hot dog kolaches. They turned out wonderful. The buns were very soft and flavorful. Please see the picture of my kolaches in the Photo section. I made the dough in a stand mixer instead of a bread machine. The directions for my variation are below. Note that the recipe makes 8 very large buns or 12 regular sized buns.

      Dry 8 jumbo hot dogs or 12 regular size hot dogs with a paper towel. I used turkey dogs to cut the fat. Warm the water to 105 to 110 degrees F. Add 1/4 cup of the warm water, 2 teaspoons of the sugar, and the yeast into the work bowl of the mixer. Allow to sit a few minutes to proof. Add the rest of the ingredients as in the original recipe and knead with a dough hook for 7 to 8 minutes. I added 1/4 cup additional flour because the dough was too sticky. Cover with a damp towel and allow to rise for about 45 minutes. Cut the dough into 8 pieces if using jumbo dogs or 12 pieces if using regular size dogs, and flatten each piece into a rectange about the length of the hot dogs. Roll the dough around the hot dog and pinch the seam well to close. You can use the hot dog like a rolling pin :o). Place kolache on a baking sheet seam side down. Continue to make 8 or 12 kolaches. Cover with a damp towel and allow to rise about 30 minutes. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes at 400 degrees F. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      This recipe is amazing. I have been using it for over a year now with the following healthier alternatives; Use 3 cups of whole wheat flower & omit the white flour; replace the 1/4 cup of sugar & shortening for 1/4 cup each of honey & olive oil. My picky children love it! We use it for cinnamon rolls, pizza dough & dinner rolls!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Great recipe! I use half whole wheat and half white flour with butter and they're still perfect! Will try some of the other variations that reviewers have mentioned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2014

      These were easy and delicious. I used 2 t sugar, and 2 T oil, and I ended up using only a package of yeast, and they still came out yummy. I did add the gluten as well. Thanks, I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Amazing. I incorporated the suggestion to omit white sugar & shortening for honey and olive oil. simply delicious . I also used 2 cups of whole wheat + 1 cup of white.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Finally! I've looked everywhere to get a soft, high raising whole wheat dough for hot dog and hamburger buns. Tip: place the formed buns close enough together when you shape them that they raise and touch each other. They bake up softer and you pull them apart. Amazing & rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      One word describes these buns, PHENOMENAL!!!!! Made these last night and these are the best we ever had. We will be making these a lot and not just as buns, we'd like to try them as bread and dinner rolls.

      My husband made them in his King Arthur Flour bun pans. Those pans worked great and we got 11 buns out of the batch.

      Store bought buns were the only ones my husband would eat, not anymore. He said the store bought ones can't hold a candle to these.

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Delicious and so easy. I used less oil and a mixture of flours and added flax, also substituted splenda for part of the sugar. I added a bit more wheat gluten because I used more wheat flour and a bit of soy and the dough rose almost to the top of the pan, so more was probably not necessary! I froze some of the dough - easier portion control. Thank you for posting and for all the helpful comments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Wow! Airy, soft, and delicious. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and added ingredients according to the bread machine's directions. They rose up beautifully in such a short amount of time. I made eight sub rolls to use for BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. I'll be using this recipe over and over again for all sorts of applications. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      I have been searching for a long time for a decent whole wheat hamburger bun to make at home. Well my family just loved this recipe and my daughter who does not like wheat all that much has now requested I make this recipe for the BBQ birthday party. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      I always BBQ larger burgers than the buns that are avaliable, It takes longer for buns to rise than original recipie, about 2 hours. I sprayed some water over buns for that extra crunch before i put baking sheet in oven after dough had risen in oven.I made the dough ball about 3 inches in diameter for a 6 inch diameter bun and yielded 8 nice buns. Everyone loved the wheat style bun. Easy recipie. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This is a terrific bun recipe. I have followed the recipe exactly and have had great results every time. These buns freeze well and are nice to have on hand. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Delicious! I have made these several times and they always turn out SO good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      These were deee-lish. First time I made Hamburger buns. It will not be the last time. Think about the price of Hamburger buns in the store? Will make these and freeze some. Thanks for the recipe. Think I will also add Flax Seed the next time I make these. Thanks Candeemg for the tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I was pleasantly surprised by the ease in making this recipe! Canadian all purpose flour is milled quite hard and I didn't use the gluten included in the ingredients of this recipe. It wasn't needed, as the buns rose nicely. I used extra virgin olive oil which flavoured the rolls. When the dough came out of the bread machine, no extra flour was needed and the texture was smooth and silky. This will be a standby for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Nice and big buns! Held very sloppy joe very well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      These are excellent! I now use this recipe to make dinner rolls too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      I needed to add quite a bit extra flour (maybe 1/4 - 1/2 cup) as the dough was very sticky. It is possible that this is due to the high humidity in my area. Other than that the flavour and texture were quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Hamburger and Hot Dog Buns (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    27%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 153.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes