84 Reviews

We Love LOVED Them:) Thank you for the Recipe. I did add 1 Table spoon of Flax Seed to it other than that I followed the recipe step by step Thank you so Much :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candeemg February 20, 2011

Excellent recipe! I used 3 cups whole wheat flower and omitted the all purpose flower. They turn out perfect every time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaybank October 08, 2009

I used this bun recipe to make hot dog kolaches. They turned out wonderful. The buns were very soft and flavorful. Please see the picture of my kolaches in the Photo section. I made the dough in a stand mixer instead of a bread machine. The directions for my variation are below. Note that the recipe makes 8 very large buns or 12 regular sized buns.

Dry 8 jumbo hot dogs or 12 regular size hot dogs with a paper towel. I used turkey dogs to cut the fat. Warm the water to 105 to 110 degrees F. Add 1/4 cup of the warm water, 2 teaspoons of the sugar, and the yeast into the work bowl of the mixer. Allow to sit a few minutes to proof. Add the rest of the ingredients as in the original recipe and knead with a dough hook for 7 to 8 minutes. I added 1/4 cup additional flour because the dough was too sticky. Cover with a damp towel and allow to rise for about 45 minutes. Cut the dough into 8 pieces if using jumbo dogs or 12 pieces if using regular size dogs, and flatten each piece into a rectange about the length of the hot dogs. Roll the dough around the hot dog and pinch the seam well to close. You can use the hot dog like a rolling pin :o). Place kolache on a baking sheet seam side down. Continue to make 8 or 12 kolaches. Cover with a damp towel and allow to rise about 30 minutes. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes at 400 degrees F. Enjoy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan Z July 10, 2011

This recipe is amazing. I have been using it for over a year now with the following healthier alternatives; Use 3 cups of whole wheat flower & omit the white flour; replace the 1/4 cup of sugar & shortening for 1/4 cup each of honey & olive oil. My picky children love it! We use it for cinnamon rolls, pizza dough & dinner rolls!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FiddleMom July 07, 2013

Great recipe! I use half whole wheat and half white flour with butter and they're still perfect! Will try some of the other variations that reviewers have mentioned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melktert March 08, 2011

My hubby has been using this almost from the start! Started out with bread machine and now do it when ever we need rolls! We are requested to bring them at Christmas or any function! The best ! Only change once in a while is 1 1/2 white flour and 1 1/2 whole wheat and always uses the vital gluten! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbdubois@aol.com March 09, 2015

These were easy and delicious. I used 2 t sugar, and 2 T oil, and I ended up using only a package of yeast, and they still came out yummy. I did add the gluten as well. Thanks, I will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Here4goodrecipes August 13, 2014

Amazing. I incorporated the suggestion to omit white sugar & shortening for honey and olive oil. simply delicious . I also used 2 cups of whole wheat + 1 cup of white.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjande February 08, 2014

Finally! I've looked everywhere to get a soft, high raising whole wheat dough for hot dog and hamburger buns. Tip: place the formed buns close enough together when you shape them that they raise and touch each other. They bake up softer and you pull them apart. Amazing & rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdrusch May 28, 2013

One word describes these buns, PHENOMENAL!!!!! Made these last night and these are the best we ever had. We will be making these a lot and not just as buns, we'd like to try them as bread and dinner rolls.

My husband made them in his King Arthur Flour bun pans. Those pans worked great and we got 11 buns out of the batch.

Store bought buns were the only ones my husband would eat, not anymore. He said the store bought ones can't hold a candle to these.

Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunnyZ February 10, 2013
Whole Wheat Hamburger and Hot Dog Buns (Bread Machine)