Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat French Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2011

      Great! I am also going to try it with 3 cups WW to 1 cup Bread flour and see how that goes. Try it!

      Make sure to not cook it for the full 30 minutes. Even when I made the whole amount of dough the first time, it was done in 25 minutes. I just did half the dough and it was done in 20.

      Oh, and my kids LOVE it. They are 3 and 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Made this yesterday and it was delicious! The only thing is that I used all whole wheat flour. Best eaten fresh out of the oven. I'm making it again today. This time I will substitute the oil with butter to help cut on the calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Loved this recipe--I'd been looking for a whole wheat bread recipe to go along with spaghetti night, and now have found it!The kids love it! Used the leftovers for french toast the next day--yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This is so simple - it tastes purely of wheat, especially good whole wheat. Mine turned out tasty, but perhaps could have been more tender. I have made bread before, but am still getting the hang of it. Was my water the right temperature? Should my pinch of sugar have been bigger? These are the things I still haven't learned to intuit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      really perfect! we loved the texture. crispy outside, chewy inside. thank you very much! we'll make this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      Really good crusty loaves of french bread. Followed the directions exactly, except at the end I sprinkled a mix of poppy seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds and dried onion on the top. Made two nice sized loaves and they were really good! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Yum! We loved this bread. I made 2 loaves and Simply Chris' suggestion to put a mix of poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and sunflower seeds on top plus I added a little granulated garlic and some salt. This was a nice crusty, hearty bread and it went well with soup. I will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Thank u for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I've been wanting to find a healthier version of homemade french bread & this really fit the bill. I used half whole wheat & half white as called for (also made half the recipe) & used olive oil. Mine took about 22 minutes at 375 but that was prob b/c of the loaf size. This was my 1st attempt at making my own bread (have done rolls & pizza crust) & while u have to plan ahead for rise time, I do think it's worth it! Thank u again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Love this recipe, use it all the time! I just throw it in the bread machine on the dough cycle, shape it and bake it. Always great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on October 08, 2008

      This bread was wonderful and it is not too wheaty for white fans and vice versa. I shaped mine into two slim baguettes and have been using them for sandwiches very good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I made this recipe. It was AMAZING!! I am so happy these turned out as good as they did - this is the first time I baked bread!!. Thanks for a simple and tasty bread recipe. Next time I want to try 3:1 whole wheat : white flour and see how that goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      This was great! The recipe was simple, and although it takes a little bit longer to make than your standard loaf of bread, it is worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      My husband and I absolutely love this bread! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. It's so nice to have a good recipe for whole wheat French bread. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      This was sooo good. My kids raved that it was the best bread I ever made. Thanks so much. I also used my KitchenAid mixer (lifesaver), and let it rise the third time on a french bread, baguette pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      Wonderful! I too used the Kitchen Aid mixer for kneading which made this very easy as well. Made one large loaf which was tender and light with a great flavor. Thanks, Marg, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      OMG! What a wonderful bread recipe! It runs neck 'n neck with your Country White! I love how easy it is to mix up, and the dough is so nice to work with. I got 4 lovely loaves with tender texture ... Definitely a winner around here! Thanks for another fine recipe, Marg ... Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Wonderful bread Marg... my DH loves whole wheat bread and I love French bread, so I just couldn't pass this up. I made this on my Kitchen Aid mixer, and let it rise for 1 hour and 10 minutes, then the second rise took 40 minutes. I used multigrain bread flour for the whole wheat, and threw in an extra tablespoon of seven grain mix. The bread turned out delicious!, I'll make this on a regular basis. Thanks so much for posting!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.9
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    21%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites