13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful, tender dinner rolls that are more healthy than white flour alone. I used my bread machine to prepare the dough which made it really easy. Thanks for posting. I am saving in my "Tried and True" folder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM January 26, 2010

I thought these were amazing rolls. I made them pretty much as written, though I used canola oil. I gave them a full one hour to raise after shaping and they were soft and tender for as much wheat flour as they have in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ January 23, 2011

Very good! I've tried a few roll recipes lately, and this has been my favorite. Subbed in canola oil and reduced the sugar because I was making them as burger buns, but other than that stuck to the recipe. These had a lovely, hearty wheat flavor. I made them slider roll size, and they were perfect. They held together nicely, and they held up to my loaded turkey sliders very well. This is my new go-to roll recipe. I'll probably take other reviewers' advice and add vital wheat gluten and eliminate white flour next time. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellow_apple30 September 25, 2010

These are great only things I did different were I used butter and added two teaspoons of vital wheat gluten, other than that everyone loved them. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty March 20, 2010

I made these rolls last night to go with homemade soup and they were perfect. They were light, fluffy, and delicious! My family enjoyed these rolls and they were easy to make! Thanks! I will make these often! They are special enough for a Holiday meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccasharon October 27, 2009

Made these today to go with our Split Pea Soup we had for dinner. Very nice roll. Really easy to make, I didn't use a bread machine, don't like them, so I converted the directions for use with my kitchenaid mixer. Worked great. I think I will make them a bit smaller next time, maybe make 15 or 16, as these were pretty big. I will use this as my go to recipe for wheat rolls, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat February 21, 2009

Absolutely beautiful, delicious rolls! Made today to go with steaks for our Valentine's day meal. Very light and they rose perfectly. I got about 18 rolls from 1 recipe. Will definitely make again! I highly recommend these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 February 15, 2009

This was an amazing recipe! I made the rolls, and took them to a party while they were still warm and in the pan. My friends raved over how fresh and light they were, and kept going back for more! I will definitely make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine101 December 26, 2008

First of all, I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour and added 3 Tbsp of vital wheat gluten. I left out any all purpose or white flours. I also disn't have shortening, so I substituted "I Can't Believe it's not Butter" for the same amount. I ended up getting 12 good sized dinner rolls. They had a pretty good texture and were about as light as you can get rolls with just whole wheat flour. I didn't shape them great, but they taste pretty well. I cut some in half and made an egg sandwich for breakfast the next morning. Those were great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loveseatinghealthy August 04, 2008
Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls