Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2010

      Wonderful, tender dinner rolls that are more healthy than white flour alone. I used my bread machine to prepare the dough which made it really easy. Thanks for posting. I am saving in my "Tried and True" folder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I thought these were amazing rolls. I made them pretty much as written, though I used canola oil. I gave them a full one hour to raise after shaping and they were soft and tender for as much wheat flour as they have in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Very good! I've tried a few roll recipes lately, and this has been my favorite. Subbed in canola oil and reduced the sugar because I was making them as burger buns, but other than that stuck to the recipe. These had a lovely, hearty wheat flavor. I made them slider roll size, and they were perfect. They held together nicely, and they held up to my loaded turkey sliders very well. This is my new go-to roll recipe. I'll probably take other reviewers' advice and add vital wheat gluten and eliminate white flour next time. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      These are great only things I did different were I used butter and added two teaspoons of vital wheat gluten, other than that everyone loved them. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I made these rolls last night to go with homemade soup and they were perfect. They were light, fluffy, and delicious! My family enjoyed these rolls and they were easy to make! Thanks! I will make these often! They are special enough for a Holiday meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Made these today to go with our Split Pea Soup we had for dinner. Very nice roll. Really easy to make, I didn't use a bread machine, don't like them, so I converted the directions for use with my kitchenaid mixer. Worked great. I think I will make them a bit smaller next time, maybe make 15 or 16, as these were pretty big. I will use this as my go to recipe for wheat rolls, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Absolutely beautiful, delicious rolls! Made today to go with steaks for our Valentine's day meal. Very light and they rose perfectly. I got about 18 rolls from 1 recipe. Will definitely make again! I highly recommend these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This was an amazing recipe! I made the rolls, and took them to a party while they were still warm and in the pan. My friends raved over how fresh and light they were, and kept going back for more! I will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

    • on August 04, 2008

      First of all, I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour and added 3 Tbsp of vital wheat gluten. I left out any all purpose or white flours. I also disn't have shortening, so I substituted "I Can't Believe it's not Butter" for the same amount. I ended up getting 12 good sized dinner rolls. They had a pretty good texture and were about as light as you can get rolls with just whole wheat flour. I didn't shape them great, but they taste pretty well. I cut some in half and made an egg sandwich for breakfast the next morning. Those were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Made to go with Pizza Casserole, and it added the finishing touch to our dinner. Delicious rolls and ones I will definately be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Made these last night and they came out so good! I actually made them for sandwiches! Another winner, Glaucia, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Very good. The only thing I did different was not to brush with butter. They were not dry looking, so decided to not add the calories. I served them reheated the next day, and they were almost as good as fresh from the oven. Thanks for the recipe! Will be using again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.1
     
    Calories from Fat 318
    70%
    Total Fat 35.3 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 201.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites