13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVE LOVE LOVE these! I have made them several times and done variations using wheat bran instead of oat bran, adding diced garlic, or have even made them using finely chopped apple. The version with finely chopped apple goes great with pork chops! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe - makes eating healthy much easier!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love To Cook! July 07, 2008

I really like this recipe--I think it's going to be a regular dinner one for me, as these muffins are so easy to whip up and are so healthy. I liked the simplicity of the recipe--I think it really allowed the flavor of the grains to shine through. We had them alongside a spicy cauliflower and sweet potato soup. (Note: I used 1 1/2 cups of kamut flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal instead of 2 cups of wholewheat flour. The cornmeal was a nice touch, I think.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paprika Girl June 03, 2008

These were good! I wouldn't say spectacular, but they were nice paired with a strong flavored soup...tonight we had them with a bean soup and they held up well, especially texture-wise. I got 12 really good sized muffins out of the recipe...I can't imagine fitting it all into 10 muffin tins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian January 03, 2008

These were incredibly easy. They were moist and crunchy all at the same time. Great with a little butter. I used safflower oil instead of the canola oil, and milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice for the buttermilk. I think next time I might try adding some ground rosemary for extra flavor. I filled the muffin cups 3/4 full and got 12 "muffins."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WilbyTostada October 21, 2007

We really liked these biscuit/muffins. They're very easy & good. I used powdered buttermilk and water. I was very impressed with the goodness of these. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie October 07, 2007

Yummy biscuity muffins. My buttermilk had gone bad, so I used a 12 ounce can of fat-free evaporated milk, and these muffins turned out just fine. I didn't bother with shaping the dough into a ball or with making smaller balls to set into the muffin tins. I just plopped down batter as if they were drop biscuits, so they're quite funny looking. Will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily hauer September 08, 2007

I would call these more biscuits than muffins also. I made 6 muffins and they turned out much larger than I expected after reading the reviews. They rose very well and were moist and yummy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. For me they could use a bit more salt, I'll use a 1/2 tsp next time. They will be lovely with soup, chili and such things. I soured skim milk with lemon juice so I expect they are even a little bit lower in fat than in the facts. Thanks Paula for a real keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 04, 2007

Really easy, really good. I only had wheat bran, worked fine! Will make again for sure. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marzy September 25, 2006

A great lowfat and high fiber alternative to traditional dinner rolls. I found an ice cream scoop effective for shaping the dough, and got 12 muffins. These are more like a dense biscuit than a muffin, the outside is hard but the inside I found suprisingly tender. Thanks, Paula, for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 16, 2005

These were incredibly easy to make, and like the other reviewers noted, crispy and brown on the outside and dense and tender on the inside. I didn't have oat bran so I substituted ground TVP. These would go great with soups, roasted veggies or spread with spicy hummous or pesto. A great recipe for when you want some hot fresh whole wheat bread rolls, and you want them fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catwolf May 05, 2005
Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins