Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2008

      LOVE LOVE LOVE these! I have made them several times and done variations using wheat bran instead of oat bran, adding diced garlic, or have even made them using finely chopped apple. The version with finely chopped apple goes great with pork chops! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe - makes eating healthy much easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I really like this recipe--I think it's going to be a regular dinner one for me, as these muffins are so easy to whip up and are so healthy. I liked the simplicity of the recipe--I think it really allowed the flavor of the grains to shine through. We had them alongside a spicy cauliflower and sweet potato soup. (Note: I used 1 1/2 cups of kamut flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal instead of 2 cups of wholewheat flour. The cornmeal was a nice touch, I think.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      These were good! I wouldn't say spectacular, but they were nice paired with a strong flavored soup...tonight we had them with a bean soup and they held up well, especially texture-wise. I got 12 really good sized muffins out of the recipe...I can't imagine fitting it all into 10 muffin tins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      These were incredibly easy. They were moist and crunchy all at the same time. Great with a little butter. I used safflower oil instead of the canola oil, and milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice for the buttermilk. I think next time I might try adding some ground rosemary for extra flavor. I filled the muffin cups 3/4 full and got 12 "muffins."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      We really liked these biscuit/muffins. They're very easy & good. I used powdered buttermilk and water. I was very impressed with the goodness of these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Yummy biscuity muffins. My buttermilk had gone bad, so I used a 12 ounce can of fat-free evaporated milk, and these muffins turned out just fine. I didn't bother with shaping the dough into a ball or with making smaller balls to set into the muffin tins. I just plopped down batter as if they were drop biscuits, so they're quite funny looking. Will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I would call these more biscuits than muffins also. I made 6 muffins and they turned out much larger than I expected after reading the reviews. They rose very well and were moist and yummy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. For me they could use a bit more salt, I'll use a 1/2 tsp next time. They will be lovely with soup, chili and such things. I soured skim milk with lemon juice so I expect they are even a little bit lower in fat than in the facts. Thanks Paula for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Really easy, really good. I only had wheat bran, worked fine! Will make again for sure. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      A great lowfat and high fiber alternative to traditional dinner rolls. I found an ice cream scoop effective for shaping the dough, and got 12 muffins. These are more like a dense biscuit than a muffin, the outside is hard but the inside I found suprisingly tender. Thanks, Paula, for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      These were incredibly easy to make, and like the other reviewers noted, crispy and brown on the outside and dense and tender on the inside. I didn't have oat bran so I substituted ground TVP. These would go great with soups, roasted veggies or spread with spicy hummous or pesto. A great recipe for when you want some hot fresh whole wheat bread rolls, and you want them fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2004

      Maybe I did something wrong? Because my dough was really sticky and couldn't be rolled into balls unlike what the other reviewers have said. They were very dense but had nice flavor. I would really like these with soup; I think they need to be dipped into something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      I really like these! They're more like whole wheat biscuits, just cooked in muffin tins. Mine did rise a teeny bit and crackled a bit on top. I had to add a tiny bit (1 Tbs or less) more buttermilk because I was having real trouble mixing in all the flour/bran. I ended up kneading with my hands- maybe I packed my flour a little too much? I got 12 pretty large 'muffins' out of this recipe. I really like the grainy texture and that sweet whole wheat flavor. We served with Sharon123's Balsamic Eggplant Parmesan (#88968), but still have quite a few left, so I'm sure we'll be reheating and eating with various other meals the rest of the week. Tender on the outside, crisp on the outside with a wonderful texture throughout. I don't see how anyone could *not* like these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      I have to tell you I really didn't expect much from these and I'm happy to report I was pleasantly surprised. I followed the recipe and got 24 "muffins", small (2T) round balls with a crisp shell and fairly light, tender bread inside. What ever shape they're in when you place them in the muffin tin is the shape they will have when finished. They don't puff or enlarge at all. The soda and baking powder just seem to make that tender, light interior. I used paper baking cups in the muffin tins but won't next time as there's not enough oil in the dough to keep it from sticking to the paper. As long as you don't expect the typical sweet, oily "muffin" these are quite enjoyable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.3
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    19%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 312.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites