18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are DELICIOUS! I actually found these on another website, and as per the reviews, I changed the recipe a little. I was sure to grease the griddle very well (as you should with any low fat baking) and I reduced the temp to a little below 350 so they cooked all the way through. I cut up 2 small apples to use. I used canola oil instead of olive oil. I subbed in a 1/2 cup AP flour so they were a bit more tender. finally, I had to use about 2/3 c skim milk, and 1 1/3 c 1% because I ran out of skim. I know this sounds like alot of changes, but they were so amazing! These actually make 15 perfect pancakes for me. I would probably use brown sugar next time instead of honey because the honey didn't blend very well. I will for sure make again, and I will likely keep my substitutions.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy January 31, 2010

This was a good whole wheat pancake. I shredded my apple with the skin on with my food processor, that made the apple cook evenly. Also I omitted the oil and added about 2 tablespoons more honey. I made my own syrup using 1 apple, shredded, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 cup brown sugar, and 2 cups apple juice (100% juice), I let it reduce and then put on the pancakes..YUMMY! I will be making this again. Oh and it made 13 pancakes for me.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl's Home Cookin' March 07, 2009

These were fine, but not fabulous for us. They were a bit thick - should have thinned the batter and needed more flavor or sweetness. They have potential though. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook November 28, 2006

it seemed a little bland. then i noticed that there is no sugar in the ingredients. i think i will add some brown sugar next time. and a little on the dry side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
makistar78 December 02, 2009

Batter came out a little thick and had to add some more milk to it, but the taste was very good - Also doubled the cinnamon in the pancake batter. The consistency was very good with fluffiness combined with the crunch of the apples. We used a topping made from unflavored yogurt, a little raspberry jam, vanilla and cinnamon. - the light sweetness went well with the pancakes. Well done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Expats in France January 03, 2008

These were really good. I used half whole wheat and half white flour. I also added a half teaspoon of cinnamon more than what is called for. Thank you so much Messy Cook!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheNovakFamily October 07, 2006

I had a lot of trouble preventing the pancakes for burning with this recipe. I I tried adding extra milk to them the better and down the seat but if I waited until there were enough bubbles in the center the bottom side burned before I could turn it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah O. November 09, 2013

Yummy and easy! My three picky toddlers loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios November 12, 2010

Good, healthy recipe. I think a more tart apple works best. I also used two apples rather than one. If you want a more distinct cinnamon flavor, I would also suggest increasing the cinnamon. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quest4ZBest January 05, 2008

So delicious, light and fluffy! I have been trying out different whole wheat pancakes and this is a keeper. I made these with orchard fresh apples that I picked myself. I had mine with sugar free apple butter and sugar free maple syrup. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Holmes September 27, 2007
Whole Wheat Cinnamon Apple Pancakes