22 Reviews

Followed the recipe with cinnamon but no nuts. They flattened great. I noticed the bigger I made the cookie, the softer they were, but also more prone to breaking. Next time I make them, I will do a little more cinnamon and vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Baker October 17, 2011

I loved the taste, and so did the kids! They did not flatten like the recipe even though I followed all details. They were rather hard too. Hmmm. We love the cinnamon flavor!! I don't feel like I am cheating when I eat these. That's dangerous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chilichick February 04, 2011

This recipe is a keeper! I doubled the recipe, but omitted the maple extract because we didn't have any on hand but used about 1T. real maple syrup instead. I also omitted the cinnamon and nuts because of preference. I also used whole wheat pastry flour because that's what I had on hand. All considered, the flavor was rich and wonderful. The cookie spread as it baked so it looked like those pictured. Next time I double the recipe, I'll use less chocolate chips - maybe 1 1/4 cups total because the cookie was really sweet with a total of 2 cups semisweet choc chips. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jasminelani January 30, 2011

Yummo! Made a few changes to suit my own tastes/preferences and had a great result. I used applesauce instead of oil, blackstrap molasses in place of maple extract, and all white sugar (since brown sugar is simply white with molasses added). Added an extra half teaspoon or so of vanilla. Also used half dark chocolate chips, half white chocolate chips and left out the nuts. The cookies didn't flatten at all, but raised up to nice round domes, almost "fluffy" cookies, which I thought was a great texture. They were perfect with a glass of milk just a few minutes out of the oven - had just enough sweetness to satisfy my craving, and I get so much less guilt for indulging because of the healthy factor. :) I'll be making them again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingCutie August 31, 2010

I was rather disappointed by these after reading all the great reviews. I made them exactly as the recipe states, omitting the cinn and maple. The texture and flavor were both just too strange for me. I also used milk chocolate/peanut butter swirl chips instead of the semi sweet I usually use, which I don't think helped things, lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 August 31, 2010

I made these to ship overseas to a serving soldier who requested some HEALTHIER cookies! This fit the bill nicely! I was kind of surprised that one batch only made less than 2 dozen so I had to make another batch--no problem, tho! I only used 1/2 cup choc chips--not cuz of health but b/c I didn't think the batter could handle a whole cup. I didn't use any cinn or maple & baking time was just around 11 min. I did try one cookie--and they aren't terribly sweet; the choc is the real sweet factor. I hope they are enjoyed! I would make these again!! thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS April 01, 2010

Delicious! Can't go wrong with a kittencal recipe! I did sub applesauce for the oil, and left out the cinnamon and maple extract. They did stick a little bit without the oil, but it was manageable, and once they cooled they were fine, only a few broken cookies which I willingly gobbled up. Brought them to work and everyone raved!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist February 03, 2010

Wow Really Excellent! I used mini choc. chips and left out the extract and they reminded me of those neiman-marcus cookies, Sooo much better for you though =-) I would give you 10 stars if i could kitty!!! ***Note, I followed this recipe except i added a bit more cinnamon and left out the extract and added raisins instead for oatmeal raisin cookies.. PERFECT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaunaHanners January 30, 2010

Just got through making these! Mine kept their shape and didn't spread like the picture but my family is eating them up as I'm typing this, I did not put maple extract or cinnamon in mine, I wanted them to taste like our old recipe only healthier. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsRmyDelight January 10, 2010

I've made these cookies twice now. The first time I followed the directions (omitting the maple extract & cinnamon though) and this second time I added 2 Tbsp. each wheat germ & flax seed meal. I used olive oil for the oil. I used a scant 1/3 cup of each of the sugars. I used 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips instead of the 1 c. chocolate chips. I also added 1/3 c. chopped & toasted pecans. I can honestly say both times these cookies have tasted like regular full-fat, white flour oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. My cookies did not flatten out like Earl&Chai's pictures, but they taste great. They still have too much fat for me to overindulge without feeling guilty (coinsidering most cookie recipes make 4 dozen cookies = double this recipe = 1 stick of butter & 1 cup of oil), but they have some healthy ingredients so I don't feel AS guilty. These do taste good enough that I would offer them to company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun December 11, 2009
Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies