Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2011

      Followed the recipe with cinnamon but no nuts. They flattened great. I noticed the bigger I made the cookie, the softer they were, but also more prone to breaking. Next time I make them, I will do a little more cinnamon and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I loved the taste, and so did the kids! They did not flatten like the recipe even though I followed all details. They were rather hard too. Hmmm. We love the cinnamon flavor!! I don't feel like I am cheating when I eat these. That's dangerous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This recipe is a keeper! I doubled the recipe, but omitted the maple extract because we didn't have any on hand but used about 1T. real maple syrup instead. I also omitted the cinnamon and nuts because of preference. I also used whole wheat pastry flour because that's what I had on hand. All considered, the flavor was rich and wonderful. The cookie spread as it baked so it looked like those pictured. Next time I double the recipe, I'll use less chocolate chips - maybe 1 1/4 cups total because the cookie was really sweet with a total of 2 cups semisweet choc chips. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Yummo! Made a few changes to suit my own tastes/preferences and had a great result. I used applesauce instead of oil, blackstrap molasses in place of maple extract, and all white sugar (since brown sugar is simply white with molasses added). Added an extra half teaspoon or so of vanilla. Also used half dark chocolate chips, half white chocolate chips and left out the nuts. The cookies didn't flatten at all, but raised up to nice round domes, almost "fluffy" cookies, which I thought was a great texture. They were perfect with a glass of milk just a few minutes out of the oven - had just enough sweetness to satisfy my craving, and I get so much less guilt for indulging because of the healthy factor. :) I'll be making them again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      I was rather disappointed by these after reading all the great reviews. I made them exactly as the recipe states, omitting the cinn and maple. The texture and flavor were both just too strange for me. I also used milk chocolate/peanut butter swirl chips instead of the semi sweet I usually use, which I don't think helped things, lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I made these to ship overseas to a serving soldier who requested some HEALTHIER cookies! This fit the bill nicely! I was kind of surprised that one batch only made less than 2 dozen so I had to make another batch--no problem, tho! I only used 1/2 cup choc chips--not cuz of health but b/c I didn't think the batter could handle a whole cup. I didn't use any cinn or maple & baking time was just around 11 min. I did try one cookie--and they aren't terribly sweet; the choc is the real sweet factor. I hope they are enjoyed! I would make these again!! thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Delicious! Can't go wrong with a kittencal recipe! I did sub applesauce for the oil, and left out the cinnamon and maple extract. They did stick a little bit without the oil, but it was manageable, and once they cooled they were fine, only a few broken cookies which I willingly gobbled up. Brought them to work and everyone raved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Wow Really Excellent! I used mini choc. chips and left out the extract and they reminded me of those neiman-marcus cookies, Sooo much better for you though =-) I would give you 10 stars if i could kitty!!! ***Note, I followed this recipe except i added a bit more cinnamon and left out the extract and added raisins instead for oatmeal raisin cookies.. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Just got through making these! Mine kept their shape and didn't spread like the picture but my family is eating them up as I'm typing this, I did not put maple extract or cinnamon in mine, I wanted them to taste like our old recipe only healthier. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      I've made these cookies twice now. The first time I followed the directions (omitting the maple extract & cinnamon though) and this second time I added 2 Tbsp. each wheat germ & flax seed meal. I used olive oil for the oil. I used a scant 1/3 cup of each of the sugars. I used 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips instead of the 1 c. chocolate chips. I also added 1/3 c. chopped & toasted pecans. I can honestly say both times these cookies have tasted like regular full-fat, white flour oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. My cookies did not flatten out like Earl&Chai's pictures, but they taste great. They still have too much fat for me to overindulge without feeling guilty (coinsidering most cookie recipes make 4 dozen cookies = double this recipe = 1 stick of butter & 1 cup of oil), but they have some healthy ingredients so I don't feel AS guilty. These do taste good enough that I would offer them to company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      These ARE very good, both cooked and raw lol. I ate a lot before i cooked them because i can not resist a good raw cookie with oats in it! Thank you so much for the good recipe...again! Im sure i will be rating another one of your recipes soon, i have many lined up in my cookbook that i can not wait to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I've made these twice now and I love them! I grind the oats in my food processor and then add the dry ingredients to the food processor to mix them up. I omitted the cinnamon, maple, and nuts and used coconut oil. As good as these are fresh out of the oven, I think they may even taste better the next day. I baked mine on parchment paper and they seem to stay soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Dear Kittencal, You did it again! This was a great recipe! I fixed it with my 6-year old daughter, and she, my wife, and I loved it! And it's a healthy cookie! I used Egg Beaters instead of eggs, and used half 70% cacao dark Lindt chocolate (dark chocolate is good for you too!) and half 60% cacao Ghirardelli chocolate chips. I doubled the vanilla extract and omitted the maple extract, as my wife requested. I only have one suggestion: for those of us (like me) who don't have much experience making cookies from scratch, I would make the recipe clearer (I messed up the order in which you mix the ingredients) by editing step 6, making it read like this: "Add in to the butter oil, both sugars, egg, vanilla, and maple extract; beat until smooth and creamy." I accidentally added all the ingredients in step 6 to the solid ingredients (my wife told me: she is the cookie expert!), and it still turned out fine! Again, thanks for a great, healthy recipe! Saulo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Wow! I'm trying to make healthier snacks for my family and one of their favorites is chocolate chip cookies. I gave these a try today, thinking with the WW flour, applesauce instead of oil, and the oats (I didn't grind the oats, just used quick oats as is) it would fit the bill. My daughter was skeptical until she tasted the first cookie. The first panful is gone and the second is just coming out of the oven. These cookies are tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      MMMMMMM....really good! I was a little skeptical of the maple extract in these...but it really is a good addition. I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely be making these again. I am going to try them with splenda too for my father who is diabetic. Thanks for a great healthier cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Really good! I substituted applesauce for the oil, and used mini M&M's instead of chocolate chips. i also cooked them on parchment paper so they'd stay softer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      well these turned out pretty good! i should say that i tweaked your recipe quite a bit though. i'm dieting so i wanted to try and make them a little healthier and i was also wanting a healthy treat for my 15 month old daughter who is sick. i used applesauce instead of oil, 2 egg whites instead of a whole egg and low fat margarine instead of butter. they still turned out delicious, although they are a little cakier than they would have been if i would have followed the recipe excactly. thanks for a good cookie, kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I think this recipe is great! I also tried it with butterscotch chips and score bar chunks for the grandkids, they love them. Any recipe that I have tried from Kittencal has been good though..thanks a bunch. Holly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Thanks Kittencal, great recipe. I used half the optional cinnamon and my 7 year old still flagged it as an oatmeal cookie (heaven forbid) because of it. Will be deleting the cin in the future. Following Jennifer's lead, I cut the sugar back a tad and it still passed the kids' beater licking test. (My four year old daughter said "I'm having a GOOD day".) I also used quick oats as I, and my kids, prefer the softer texture. Speaking of texture, it was great. Yield was accurate for me. 12 minute cooking time was also accurate for me on an insulated cookie pan. Just what I was looking for in a whole grain CC cookie. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      delicious cookies that i made with my 4 yr old daughter. Used all organic ingredients and did have to make a few subs: used hazlenut oil as that is all i had on hand, chose to use turbinado sugar and we used walnuts and carob chips too. Very nice texture; not cakey or spongy. Chewy and soft. Not overly sweet, but we did cut back on the sugar just a bit as we dont like our cookies on the less sweet side. Will make these again for sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 25

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.5
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    49%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 12.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 92.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites