Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Carob Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Carob Brownies

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2014

      This recipe confused me. The quantity of batter just seemed too little for an 8 X 8. I baked it in an 8 x 4 and had enough left over for two muffins, and the suggested baking time turned out to be correct, so I don't understand how it could possible fit an 8 X 8 and be of reasonable thickness. I also added one egg and found the texture to be very nice that way. Used a mix of honey and agave and it was way too sweet to my taste. Made it impossible to taste the carob or vanilla flavors. Next time I would try 1/2 cup instead of 3/4, or maybe even less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      Very good! It's not every day that I find a recipe that I don't have to completely modify to suit my preferences. The only significant modification I made was to substitute the honey or maple syrup with date paste (economical and nutritious) that I made by boiling 3/4 cups chopped dried dates with maybe 1/4 cup water. My BF and I thought they were sweet enough and perfectly delicious that way, but I think the date paste makes them a little too dry : next time I'll add more water. We'll do this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Delicious! Used Coconut Flour, Amber Agave, and Coconut oil in place of what the recipe calls for. I also added some unsweetened coconut shavings inside the batter. Turned out soft and chewy at the same time as being crumbly. Half of the carob brownie heart gone in only 1 day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I've made these brownies several times and love them. I did use amber agave instead of honey.
      I found the key is to be careful not to over bake so that they are moist and chewy. My doctor told me to limit chocolate- which I love- and these brownies are a delicious alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      These are great. I used maple syrup and water and actually forgot to put the vanilla in and they still turned out to be the best carob brownies I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I was sceptical as this recipe was without eggs and traditional sugar, but it was really good. Like others I discovered once I'd started making it that I didn't have enough maple syrup and decided to substitute agave syrup to make up the difference. I also used unbleached flour as it's what was on hand. I wouldn't say they were fudgy, but the consistency was good and the flavor was really nice. One of the nicest aspects though was being able to allow my three yr. old to lick the spoon since there was no raw egg in the batter. I like that they could easily be made wheat free/ gluten free as well by simply substituting another flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I can't say how happy I am to have found this recipe! I try to stick to a whole grain/natural sugar diet and these brownies were a real treat! I did use baking cocoa in place of the carob powder and soy milk in place of the apple juice/water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      hi i just made some of these but i used teeceeno (a herbal coffee like drink) instead of the apple juice...yummmmmm. Thank you for sharing this reicipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Good recipe. I"m always on the lookout for whole grain non-sugar cakes and cookies, so I really appreciate this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Have made this recipe twice now. The first time, followed mostly as written, except that we didn't have enough honey or maple syrup on their own, so had to combine them. That was okay. The next time I made them, I used white (unbleached) flour, since my DH didn't care so much for the WW flour the 1st go-around. Also made sure that I had enough honey! And we added walnuts too. We enjoyed them much more the 2nd time. DH is allergic to chocolate (tragic, isn't it?), so we were looking for a good substitute, and this is good. Also a good vegan option, if that's what you're looking for. Thanks for a good treat! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      very very good. my grams and i ate the whole pan! used chickpea flour, maple syrup, and water. left out the nuts. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      excellent recipe. given that you have brown rice flour around, this recipe is very, very easy to put together. i recommend using maple cyrup, the flavor seems to really compliment the carob. also, thou i have yet to give it a shot, i think substituting buttermilk for the water or apple cider would produce a fudgier brownie. excellent stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Carob Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.2
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    33%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 107.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    carob powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes