22 Reviews

first time I made this in the abm I had to take it out, shape it into a loaf and bake it in the oven, because when I turned around just to look at the bread machine, this "thing" had risen and pushed the top open by at least 3 inches!!! That is one light loaf of bread! Even after I baked it the loaf rose so high it wouldn't fit into the recycled bread bag I use to store my bread. This time I reduced the gluten to a scant tablespoon and I still had dough to make a second mini-loaf. I deleted every other whole wheat bread recipe from my bread cookbook- I think that says it all. You won't be sorry you made this!!! Oh, and I also added about 1/2 cup or less of flax seed, just because we like "seedy" bread--still light and fluffy. Not like air bread- just a great whole grain loaf. BTW-my father was a baker and I have been making bread for more than 45 years, so I have tried my share of different bread recipes. This is far and away the best

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook November 13, 2010

Best whole wheat recipe I've tried so far in my bread machine. Excellent texture and color, very nicely browned, doesn't crumble when sliced. It rose nicely, almost reaching the top of the 2 lb.-machine interior. I omitted the lecithin, because it is so expensive, with excellent results. Vitamin C powder is a nice addition for the vitamin factor, but also because it strengthens the gluten and helps the bread to rise.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Futtimanette September 25, 2009

This is the best bread I have made so far!! I used 100% stone ground whole wheat flour, and left out the lecithin snd vitamin C powder. I found I had to add more water (over 1/4 cup) during the knead to get the dough to the right consitantcy. I used the dough cycle and finished baking (2 loaves ) in the oven, 350 for 27 min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boater 1938 February 17, 2008

wow...WOW!!! The whole family agrees-this bread is DA BOMB!!! Thank you, sir, and thank you, Jenny! I made a few adjustments based on other reviews. Decreased water to 1 1/3 cup , used 1/3 cup oil, 1/3 c brown sugar, 4 c WW flour and 4 t vital wheat gluten with vitamin C and 2 3/4 t yeast. My family does not like bread made with milk, dry or otherwise, and I was too lazy to seek out lecithin, which my understanding is that it makes the bread last longer and we don't have a problem with that in this house. I highly recommend checking the consistency of your dough at the 8 minute mark on your machine as you can see whether you need a little more flour or a little more water. I did have to make minor adjustments the first time I made this. I made another loaf right away and didn't have enough WW flour so I added 1 cup bread flour and it was light and fluffy and beautiful and everything a loaf of whole wheat bread should be...my daughter took a big slab, some butter and honey to the table and called it a day. THANK YOU!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 January 11, 2011

I just had to write a review because I couldn't look at the previous comment anymore! I use this recipe as my primary bread recipe and I am a seasoned bread baker. It is awesome! The whole family, and anyone else who tries it loves it too! Soooo light and fluffy! I have used some molasses in with the 1/3 cup brown sugar and that gives it a nice taste too. Perfect as is though. I LOVE L.O.V.E this recipe! Yay! oh, ps. I bake mine in the oven (for shape) 350 for 40 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa Robinson November 03, 2009

100 stars for this one! I have been looking and looking for a 100% whole wheat recipe and at last I have found it. I followed this exactly and came out with a wonderful tasting loaf and the texture was perfect. I have a horizontal bread machine and the loaf came up and tried to burst through the top. Light, airy and devine. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kermit in Huntsville July 09, 2009

Wow, I love this bread! Very flavorful and light. Not at all the texture of a hockey puck, which is what some 100% whole wheat bread recipes yield. I used hard white whole wheat flour (rather than the hard red, which is what most people know of as whole wheat), skipped the lecithin, and used light brown sugar. I just had a hunk off the loaf right after it was done, and it was delicious. Looking forward to seeing how it toasts up. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. January 12, 2009

Just made this in my bread machine using wheat flower that I ground myself. Skipped the lecithin. Substituted 1/2 canola and 1/2 olive oil because that was all that I had. The loaf turned out PERFECT! The best loaf that I have ever made. And the texture and taste is also wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gbbctr December 06, 2008

This has become our everyday bread. Only changes I make are: use plain soymilk instead of milk powder/water, skip the lecithin and the vitamin c (it's in my gluten flour) and only 1 t salt. I make it in my machine to save time. On days when I'm in and out, I don't have to worry about getting home to pull out the dough shape it, rise it, etc. I hit the button and 4 hrs and 20 min later, it's done and no one complains about the shape or the whole in the last few slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart June 14, 2008
Whole Wheat Bread in the Bread Machine