Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Bread in the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Bread in the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      first time I made this in the abm I had to take it out, shape it into a loaf and bake it in the oven, because when I turned around just to look at the bread machine, this "thing" had risen and pushed the top open by at least 3 inches!!! That is one light loaf of bread! Even after I baked it the loaf rose so high it wouldn't fit into the recycled bread bag I use to store my bread. This time I reduced the gluten to a scant tablespoon and I still had dough to make a second mini-loaf. I deleted every other whole wheat bread recipe from my bread cookbook- I think that says it all. You won't be sorry you made this!!! Oh, and I also added about 1/2 cup or less of flax seed, just because we like "seedy" bread--still light and fluffy. Not like air bread- just a great whole grain loaf. BTW-my father was a baker and I have been making bread for more than 45 years, so I have tried my share of different bread recipes. This is far and away the best

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Best whole wheat recipe I've tried so far in my bread machine. Excellent texture and color, very nicely browned, doesn't crumble when sliced. It rose nicely, almost reaching the top of the 2 lb.-machine interior. I omitted the lecithin, because it is so expensive, with excellent results. Vitamin C powder is a nice addition for the vitamin factor, but also because it strengthens the gluten and helps the bread to rise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This is the best bread I have made so far!! I used 100% stone ground whole wheat flour, and left out the lecithin snd vitamin C powder. I found I had to add more water (over 1/4 cup) during the knead to get the dough to the right consitantcy. I used the dough cycle and finished baking (2 loaves ) in the oven, 350 for 27 min.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      wow...WOW!!! The whole family agrees-this bread is DA BOMB!!! Thank you, sir, and thank you, Jenny! I made a few adjustments based on other reviews. Decreased water to 1 1/3 cup , used 1/3 cup oil, 1/3 c brown sugar, 4 c WW flour and 4 t vital wheat gluten with vitamin C and 2 3/4 t yeast. My family does not like bread made with milk, dry or otherwise, and I was too lazy to seek out lecithin, which my understanding is that it makes the bread last longer and we don't have a problem with that in this house. I highly recommend checking the consistency of your dough at the 8 minute mark on your machine as you can see whether you need a little more flour or a little more water. I did have to make minor adjustments the first time I made this. I made another loaf right away and didn't have enough WW flour so I added 1 cup bread flour and it was light and fluffy and beautiful and everything a loaf of whole wheat bread should be...my daughter took a big slab, some butter and honey to the table and called it a day. THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

    • on November 03, 2009

      I just had to write a review because I couldn't look at the previous comment anymore! I use this recipe as my primary bread recipe and I am a seasoned bread baker. It is awesome! The whole family, and anyone else who tries it loves it too! Soooo light and fluffy! I have used some molasses in with the 1/3 cup brown sugar and that gives it a nice taste too. Perfect as is though. I LOVE L.O.V.E this recipe! Yay! oh, ps. I bake mine in the oven (for shape) 350 for 40 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      100 stars for this one! I have been looking and looking for a 100% whole wheat recipe and at last I have found it. I followed this exactly and came out with a wonderful tasting loaf and the texture was perfect. I have a horizontal bread machine and the loaf came up and tried to burst through the top. Light, airy and devine. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Wow, I love this bread! Very flavorful and light. Not at all the texture of a hockey puck, which is what some 100% whole wheat bread recipes yield. I used hard white whole wheat flour (rather than the hard red, which is what most people know of as whole wheat), skipped the lecithin, and used light brown sugar. I just had a hunk off the loaf right after it was done, and it was delicious. Looking forward to seeing how it toasts up. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Just made this in my bread machine using wheat flower that I ground myself. Skipped the lecithin. Substituted 1/2 canola and 1/2 olive oil because that was all that I had. The loaf turned out PERFECT! The best loaf that I have ever made. And the texture and taste is also wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      This has become our everyday bread. Only changes I make are: use plain soymilk instead of milk powder/water, skip the lecithin and the vitamin c (it's in my gluten flour) and only 1 t salt. I make it in my machine to save time. On days when I'm in and out, I don't have to worry about getting home to pull out the dough shape it, rise it, etc. I hit the button and 4 hrs and 20 min later, it's done and no one complains about the shape or the whole in the last few slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I LOVE this bread- I do use milk instead of the water, and skim milk powder, but even without the vitamin c, it is a great sandwich bread. I add honey, and lower the oil a little, just when I am wanting a loaf for the-best-toast- ever! Definately worth trying, very simple, and goes together like a dream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Great bread. I have made this with both brown sugar and honey and think I prefer the honey although both are good. I didn't have lecithin and the gluten claimed to contain ascorbic acid. I used King Arthur Whole Wheat flour and added a teaspoon of vinegar to the water which is supposed to help keep the loaf fresh longer. It doesn't affect the taste, but I am not sure if it really works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      pretty light for whole wheat bread machine bread. I skipped the lecithin and used one cup of white bread flour and 3-1/4 cup whole wheat flour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Very good bread, it is now our daily bread for sandwiches and toast. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This is our everyday sandwich bread. I have tried the recipe with honey instead of brown sugar but it really changes the bread. I think it is much better with b. sugar. We really like this bread and after eating it everyday for weeks I did not have time to make a loaf and bought a loaf of the store bought bread we used to eat and I cant believe I ever thought the store bought stuff was good. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      This is great bread! I even double the recipe and make it the regular way because it disappears so quickly. (We have kids who won't eat white bread) It is, simply, the best WW recipe I've ever tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I am another person who would give this bread 10 stars if I could. I did make a few changes to it however. I used honey instead of brown sugar, no lecithin, and the Vitamin C was in my Gluten. I used regular King Arthur Stone Ground Whole Wheat. I also used Smart Balance Oil. This bread has a fantastic texture. It is not "heavy" at all, and makes a delightful sandwich, toast etc. I have made this once a day since I found it. (Large Family, thank goodness for bread machines!) I also baked it in the oven ( I don't like my bread machine's bread pan.) at 350 for 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could!!! Absolutely delicious. Even my husband, who turns up his nose at whole wheat bread (too dense), declared this recipe "a keeper". I declare it "a masterpiece"! This recipe should be included with every bread machine sold. I omitted the lecithin (soy allergy) and added a little extra water and a pinch less yeast simply because of our altitude. Came out perfect. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      This recipe is outstanding. For anyone having trouble finding Vit C powder, just crush a chewable vit C from WalMart. I also ground my own flour which made it even lighter, cut the oil and sweetener in half and used honey instead of sugar. Has become our standard with consistent quality and wonderful soft texture encased in a nice crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      I've been looking for a great healthy wholemeal recipe that my husband who recently had a heart attack can eat. It had to be low sodium, so I substituted the salt for No Salt. I had some trouble finding the powdered Vitamin C but came across a product called "Fruit Fresh". We loved this bread sooo much! Thanks so much for this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Bread in the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    26%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 299.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vitamin C powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites