Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Bread (A B M) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Bread (A B M)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2013

      I made this bread tonight and it just turned out okay. (I made it on the dough cycle and then put it in a pan and baked it at 400 as another reviewer suggested, but mine was done in 25 minutes, not 35. Maybe because it was in a gas oven.) It was super light, and it was almost *identical* to the plain wheat bread you buy in the store. (You know the one next to the plain white bread - it doesn't have any nuts or oatmeal or anything - just plain.) It had the same texture, sliced the same, and didn't have hardly any flavor. But it's the best one I've tried yet that slices perfect and holds together/is bendable to make sandwiches. I just wish it had more flavor. :/ If anyone has any suggestions on how to make it taste more flavorful, I'd love to try it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Love it! I actually made this by adding Katzen's Harvest Grain Blend for Bread. . .I did her hot overnight soak of 2/3 grain mix and 1 cup water, then decreased the amounts of milk and flour by the same. I made the 1.5 lb loaf and am glad I did! Thanks for posting! Made for my friend for Veggie Swap March 2010. <>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Great whole wheat bread, so much better than store bought. I made the larger loaf but it did not rise a lot. Very nice dense texture and slices easily. Enjoyed two slices with butter along with my Lori's Mexican Chili Crockpot Soup by Nif. Will make this bread again! Made and reviewed for the Cooking Game Forum's I Recommend Tag Game - February 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Very delicious. I made the smaller loaf. I needed a couple of extra tablespoons of milk to get the correct dough consistency. I used the dough cycle, punched it down after the first rise, shaped it and let it rise again in a small loaf pan. I then baked it in a 400 degree convection oven for 35 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Wow! This is closer to 10 stars! I never eat bread without butter (not big on the taste) and I could eat this bread plain all day long, in fact it is so good i have not even tried it with butter! It is dense and moist with a soft crust. Just perfect! I made the 1 1/2 lb loaf option on the dough cycle and then divided into two loafs (which I will not do again because this bread does not rise very much) and baked at 400F for 17 minutes. It was perfect! Thanks so much for posting this gem! This will be our new standard bread in our house! [Made for Veggie Swap February 2010]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Very Yummy! A slightly crisp crust and tender crumb make this a wonderful bread to eat. It has enough flavor to eat without anything on it, but I'm sure will make wonderful sandwiches. The only change I made was to substitute olive oil for the shortening. Definitely a make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      After seeing all the photos in the swap I had to try this recipe. I have not used my BM in several years but now you all have inspired me to retrieve my BM from the back of my cupboard. I am so glad I did. This bread was very good. I made 2 loaves already! The 1st loaf I made in a loaf pan and I was not impressed with the shape from the loaf pan. Next loafIshaped and let it rise and baked on a baking sheet. This shape turned out better but I need to continue practicing my bread shaping skills. When I feel more confident I would like to try the Harvest Grain Blend with this recipe. Thanks for sharing this lovely bread recipe. Made for VIP Veg N Swap Fall 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Lovely, good for you, bread. I can never finish a loaf of bread before it starts growing cultures. I make buns that I can keep in the freezer to use as I need and that works perfectly for me. I got 8 beautiful buns (some larger and some smaller) out of the 2 lb amount. I've also made this as my choice for Mersaydees, Octobers VIP in the Vegetarian Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      An excellent bread and so easily prepared. I used the buttermilk, and discovered I had only brown bread flour, so used that, replacing some flour with a cup of digestive bran. At Katzens recommendation, I used olive oil instead of shortening. I used my ABM to make the dough, then placed it in a loaf tin, allowing it to rise again before baking in the oven. This bread presents well, slices very well, and has excellent texture, we had some that evening with supper and everyone enjoyed it .. DDs boyfriend was surprised to discover bread does not just come from shops! :D Thanks very much Mersaydees, Octobers VIP in the Vegetarian Swap#15!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Mersaydees!!! This is the most delicious bread!! I love so much that it is a smaller loaf, as well - perfect for the two of us. I did add my Harvest Grain Blend for Bread by doing a hot soak as you did recently when you reviewed it, and it worked out PERFECTLY! I have to say, when I saw the pic you posted on that review, I couldn't wait to make this bread! I added 3/4 cup of the grain mix to 1 cup of boiling water, and let it soak an hour before starting the loaf. I then subtracted the 1 cup water from the 1 1/4 cup water in the recipe, using 1/4 cup total, and did the same with the bread flour, subtracting the 3/4 cup of grain mix from the 1 cup of bread flour, using 1/4 cup total as I made the 1.5 lb loaf.) I also used olive oil instead of shortenting. This tasty bread will be made often in my home! It's about as close to perfection as I've ever had in homemade bread. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, mersaydees! Made for Veggie Swap 15's VIP - mersaydees!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Bread (A B M)

    Serving Size: 1 (478 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1085.4
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    15%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 29.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 1282.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 200.1 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 22.6 g
    90%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 39.0 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes