11 Reviews

Most of the whole wheat bread recipes I find contain about 60% white flour, so it was a real delight for me to find a "true" 100% whole wheat bread recipe. I followed your recipe exactly with the one exception - I selected the "Dough" cycle on my machine instead. After 1-1/2 hours the "dough" cycle was complete and I overturned the dough out onto a lightly floured surface so I could form the dough ball into a shape that would fit into a 9 1/4 x 5 1/4 lightly greased loaf pan. Cover the loaf pan with a clean towel and let rise 1 hour. (The dough should double in size) About 15 minutes before the dough is finished rising, pre-heat the oven to 400 deg. F. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. My first try at this recipe was a success. The finished loaf had risen a little higher during baking and came out with a nice brown crust while the inside was light and soft. My son even remarked that a picture of this loaf should be in the encyclopedia as to how a loaf of bread should look. Thanks for the recipe Tonkcats. This recipe is 5 stars all the way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike S. April 06, 2010

We enjoyed this bread, we made it into "The Ultimate Grilled Cheese" and we ate it up. I would love to try using this as our everyday bread. I used olive oil instead of the butter and didn't use milk powder as I didn't have any. I would like to make it again exactly as listed. This was lighter than any other recipe I have tried. We will use it again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 February 06, 2009

I'm made this bread several times and haven't left a review - shame on me. This is the only whole wheat bread recipe I use now. I love it. My husband, who doesn't particularly care for whole wheat bread even eats it occasionally, especially hot from the oven. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 08, 2009

This worked out well in spite of the baker! I just used the 50/50 (white/wheat) flour I have and it was fine; I also used a whole packet of yeast even though that makes for more yeast than called for. I used olive oil for the oil. Finally, I made this without a machine (don't have one) and it was fine. First dissolve the yeast in the water, then mix the dry stuff except for the sugar, which gets sprinkled over the yeast mixture. Then add the oil to the yeast mixture and add that to the dry mixture. Stir til combined, let rise 40 min or so, knead for 10 min or so, place in loaf pan w/cooking spray, let rise another 30 min or so, then bake at 350 for 25 min or so. I'm glad my experiment worked, and now I have a very nice bread with a good texture that even holds together when sliced thin and is not hard or dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville March 01, 2008

I have made this quite a few times and we enjoy it as our regular bread. I don't use milk powder and use canola oil instead of butter. Thanks tonkcats

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blumasara February 03, 2008

bread tastes awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brookeba March 02, 2007

This bread has a slight tangy, sour dough flavor. From another review I thought this might be due to using rancid flour. I grind my own flour and the fresh flour still created this tangy after-taste that sticks to your tongue long after finishing. The top of my bread also deflated. Producing an unsightly product. This bread did make a perfect dough ball without me me having to babysit it. It also has an excellent soft texture. Isn't full of holes and cuts beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in TX October 25, 2005

This bread had an nice flavor, but the top deflated a lot. If I make this bread again, I will definetly add some regular bread flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz Firmanik February 03, 2005

This is a rich whole wheat bread. My top also deflated, but I live at a high altitude so that could have caused it. Although I like the bread, I'm not sure that I love the flavor. The only word I can think of to describe the taste is "tart." However, I think this might just be how whole wheat bread tastes without part white flour, so I didn't want to give less than four stars. My husband loves the bread just as it is. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl December 20, 2003

i was told w/w bread always turns out better with some white flour in the mix. i used one cup white and 2 c. w/w . this bread turned out beautifully! It was very simple to throw together too. no messing around with molassis ect. i will definately make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
integrity1st September 12, 2003
Whole Wheat Bread