Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2002

      Made these for an evening snack today. Thanks for the recipe, I'll make the herb biscuits next time. I like the softness of these biscuits when they come out of the oven, they resemble lovely sponge and cotton dumplings:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      I've made the herbed biscuit version of these several times, but I use 2 cups whole wheat flour instead of part wheat and part white. I also just "drop them" instead of actually cutting them out. They go great as a side dish with a little butter on them. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I make these biscuits for my family at least twice a week. Being a southern girl no longer living in the south I really enjoy these as a guiltless pleasure. I use whole wheat pastry flour and I think it makes them a bit lighter. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      Made these biscuits over the weekend, using all wheat flour. Will also make the herb biscuits next time, as the plain were rather bland. Super easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Derf, these bikkies are just GREAT!!!! They are flaky and filling with a lovely crunch to the crust and a yummy taste! I decided to make the herby version and used about 2 tbs of fresh chives in addition to your suggested herbs. Mmmm! I like how healthy these are compared to other scones while still tasting lovely! I only needed 1/2 cup of liquid, but that might have been cause I made them all whole wheat. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us! Ill make it often again! Made and reviewed for Cooking on The Farm With Andi of Longmeadow Farm and Alphabet Soup Tag Game May 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      PERFECT! I can't think of any other words for these biscuits. I'm a new baker, so I appreciated how darn easy it was to stir a batch of these up while I was cooking dinner. I didn't roll them out, more like pressed them down to about 1/2 inch thickness, then cut with a biscuit cutter. I topped with a bit of garlic salt and grated romano cheese and in 13 minutes they literally slid of the baking sheet! DH and I enjoyed them with a bit of margarine alongside dinner...and we'll be enjoying these again and again. I made these using all wheat flour and had no problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      This is the first time I've ever used whole wheat flour, and I'm not sure if I made these right. I scaled the recipe down to three biscuits, just to give them a try. I think if I make them again, I'll add a little bit of sugar or Splenda. Thanks for the introduction to whole wheat baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      I made these biscuits to serve alongside some beef stew. Love the simplicity of the recipe and speed of preparation. The biscuits rose nicely however, I had trouble getting the tops to brown. So I turned on the broiler and stuck them under there for about 30-60 seconds and voila, lovely little biscuits! I like the fact that they are made with whole wheat too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      great! everyone loved with chicken pot pie soup! resembled the flavor of a pie crust (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Great flavor. We used it on top of pasty filling to make a pot pie type of dish and it worked lovely for that. However, I made a double batch so I could make biscuits for breakfast. They barely rose, which others have commented on, as well. I think I will try again with half wheat and half white flour or with self-rising as others have suggested do them as drop biscuits. I loved the flavor and will use them for pot pie if nothing else...and the flat biscuits are tasty, too. I'm just puzzled as to why it seems like they rise so well for others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      These are great, especially if you are a diabetic! Now we can indulge and not worry so much about our sugar going out of whack. We loved the flavor, texture and taste of these. These are now in my favorites to make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

    • on January 23, 2010

      I am trying to use more whole wheat like others so I was anxious to try these. I did use self rising flour, a little less milk, and the 2 tsp. of sugar like one reviewer suggested. I also knew that my DH would be thinking about traditional biscuits so when they came out of the oven, I sliced 2 for him, put on a small amount of butter, drizzled with 1 T of warm honey that had been mixed with 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon(I have just found out how good cinnamon is for you!), and then drizzled with a very small amount of warmed icing that I had in the refrigerator. He loved them! Even though they did not rise as much as the ones in the picture, they were very good. I used the Hodgson Mill whole wheat graham flour. I am anxious to try these as a breakfast sandwich tomorrow with the ones that are left. Thanks for helping to use more whole wheat in our diets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I couldn't believe how easy these were to make. I usually hate working with a pastry blender, but for this one I just used a large fork to blend in the butter and that worked well. I made these to eat with soup and the taste was ok, but later I ate a biscuit with butter and jam and it was DELISH!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Excellent - my 9 year old said "Mama, are these biscuits supposed to be so fluffy?". And low fat too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      As a few others noted, mine didn't rise well, so I will be trying again. But I thought the flavor was good and my toddler daughter and I had seconds and thirds. May try as a drop biscuit to see if that are any fluffier without rolling them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      These whole wheat biscuits are excellent. I have made them over six times and they have worked excellently. My spouse enjoys them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      These were good biscuits for my first try. Easy instuctions, that were easy to follow. thank you for helping me ease into biscuit making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      They were pretty dry, but otherwise we liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Very good and simple to make! I used self-rising flour like another review suggested. Thanks for the yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 95.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    22%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 222.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites