Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2009

      This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe, Marlitt. You can make it even more healthy by substituting unsweetened applesauce for the butter, dropping the calories per serving down to around 200 calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This recipe turned out wonderful! Just as moist and flavorful as a regular banana bread recipe. Will definitely use this as my regular banana bread recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      This was delicious and moist, though I did make a few adjustments to make it more healthy. I used all whole wheat flour, replaced the butter with 1/2 c. flaxseed meal and 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce, and I used 1/3 c. honey in place of the brown sugar. And I made them into muffins... (baked at 375 for 20 minutes and came out with 16 muffins) half with pecans and half without for my kids--who absolutely loved them. I think the yogurt made them extra moist. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      Delicious banana bread! I made exactly as directed except that I left out the chocolate chips, nuts and raisins, as I was in the mood for just a plain banana bread. I also didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used the lemon juice and milk trick. I really like the healthy addition of the whole wheat flour, my little ones gobbled this right up! Super moist and yummy as a banana bread should be. Looking forward to making with the chocolate chips! Will definitely be making good use of this recipe, it's a keeper! I can see why your kids still ask for it! Thanks so much Marlitt!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      I went all whole wheat flour and added some flax seed for extra fiber. Definitely moist and very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      I made this last night for the first time, I was pleasantly surprised to find that my husband did not even notice the whole wheat flour. He though it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      This is really delicious and I love adding the chocolate chips to it. So delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      My College boys loved this one too! I wasn't sure about whether the brown sugar need to be packed or not so I just lightly packed it. I used yogart which gave a light texture. Also added 1Tbl of ground Flax seed - really good for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This was very good, I used applesauce instead of the butter and used splenda brown sugar blend for regular brown sugar, It didnt have to cook as long as I thought, about 45 min, it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic banana bread! I made this exactly as directed. I opted for the chocolate chips (couldn't resist) & walnuts - but did not use the raisins. The result was an incredibly moist and delicious banana bread. You cannot tell that it is made with whole wheat flour. Other notes: I made sure the butter was softened before mixing with the sugar. I ended up using 4 small bananas. If you're searching for a banana bread, you really should give this one a try. The bonus is that it's healthier for you, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This was a very good moist healthier banana bread but didn't quite match up to some others I've made. I think I would have liked it better with some spices. I made this using 1/3 cup Splenda brown sugar blend, buttermilk, 1/2 cup pecan chips and chocolate chips. I didn't use the raisins or icing sugar. Made for the Please Review game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      i really enjoyed this bread. this was my first time baking with carob- and it turned out very nicely. used the following subs: unsweetened applesauce for the butter- splenda and molassas for the brown sugar, egg substite and omitted the walnuts and raisins. next time i will use all ww flour as the other reviewers did. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Thanks for the recipe. The banana bread turned out quite tasty. My friends and I enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I used 100% whole wheat flour and substituted flax seed oil for the butter. I substituted egg beaters for the egg. I also made this in my bread machine on the batter bread cycle. Crossed my fingers that it would turn out and it did beautifully. I used three large bananas, left out the raisins. You honestly cannot tell this is a whole wheat loaf. Very hearty. I had some for breakfast and was not hungry again until 2pm. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Delicious and healthier than most other banana bread recipes! I only used 2 bananas, but next time will use three for a more bananay taste. I skipped the chocolate chips but used both the raisins and walnuts--wonderful breakfast bread! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.6
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    51%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 43.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 225.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    carob chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites