14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

MMMM! Fantastic bread! I couldn't resist this recipe even though I don't have a bread machine. I didn't have wheat gluten so I substituted a bit of white flour, and for the o.j. concentrate I added a bit of applesauce. I also added almost 3/4 cup of finely diced granny smith apples and 3 tsp. cinnamon. I warmed the applejuice, honey, and applesauce ever so slightly (not too hot or it will kill the yeast!) in a saucepan, and then added the yeast until it foamed. Stirred that in slowly to the dry ingredients, let it rise for an hour, punched it down, let it rise for 45 more minutes, and then baked around 350F for about 70 minutes (my oven is terribly slow). The result was a delicious, dense, not too sweet bread. Thanks a million for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegitaliana June 08, 2005

Yum-m-m! Just pulled it out of my bread machine and tasted a little piece of it. Can't wait for breakfast! I threw in some coarsely chopped walnuts, too. I used 2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast and that worked well. This will be made often at our house. Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando November 28, 2003

i totally messed up this recipe-- first of all the baking pan wasn't in right, so as soon as it started it was not getting mixed--i caught the mistake after an hr, fixed it, and started again. it was only when there was 30 minutes left that i realized i forgot to add the oatmeal, yikes! but it was too late-nevertheless, the kids devoured this, like they'd never seen bread before! i didn't get to even taste this , but i'm giving you 5 stars based on all the crumbs that were left:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia March 30, 2003

Wow. Delicious and easy. Especially given the fact that I dumped the ingredients in the bread machine and ran out the door, so I wasn't able to check the texture while it was kneading.<br/><br/>My changes: used apple cider for the apple juice. Used Triple Sec for the orange juice. Subbed one cup of white flour for one cup of the wheat flour, and used regular oats instead of quick oats. And I grated the apple in, as someone suggested.<br/><br/>My family of four devoured most of a loaf with dinner (potato cheddar soup) last night, and asked me to make another loaf today. Can't wait to use it for grilled cheese (with cheddar), toast, French toast and peanut butter sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB October 18, 2013

i tried this twice. It did not rise. Tried fresh yeast. Don't know what happened. It sounded so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosemary York December 05, 2011

Sorry to do this, but this came out just awful for me. I followed the recipe exactly except to omit the OJ concentrate. The texture was all wrong and it barely rose at all. It has almost no flavor to it either. So many good reviews....maybe it's just me?!?! Thanks for sharing though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom October 03, 2010

Very good bread! I used 1/4 cup hulled hemp nut instead of the wheat gluten, and grated the apple. I also used about a tablespoon of cinnamon, and only two teaspoons of breadmaker yeast. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue October 28, 2008

perfect! i used milled flaxseed instead of wheat gluten, and old fashioned oats instead of quick. wonderful taste, great consistency. just finished the loaf and my husband and toddler have already requested another. thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslie #9 August 16, 2008

This was a very tasty bread. The appearance was a not as smooth on top when I removed it from the bread machine, but it did have a nice consistency overall. I did substitute 2 tbs. of buttermilk for the orange juice concentrate, since we were out of orange juice. I also used diced pear instead of apple. I would make this again using the correct ingredients next time. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere July 31, 2008

I really liked this, it had an awesome taste and did make fantastic french toast. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos May 27, 2007
Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Bread - Bread Machine