Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Bread - Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Bread - Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2005

      MMMM! Fantastic bread! I couldn't resist this recipe even though I don't have a bread machine. I didn't have wheat gluten so I substituted a bit of white flour, and for the o.j. concentrate I added a bit of applesauce. I also added almost 3/4 cup of finely diced granny smith apples and 3 tsp. cinnamon. I warmed the applejuice, honey, and applesauce ever so slightly (not too hot or it will kill the yeast!) in a saucepan, and then added the yeast until it foamed. Stirred that in slowly to the dry ingredients, let it rise for an hour, punched it down, let it rise for 45 more minutes, and then baked around 350F for about 70 minutes (my oven is terribly slow). The result was a delicious, dense, not too sweet bread. Thanks a million for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Yum-m-m! Just pulled it out of my bread machine and tasted a little piece of it. Can't wait for breakfast! I threw in some coarsely chopped walnuts, too. I used 2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast and that worked well. This will be made often at our house. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      i totally messed up this recipe-- first of all the baking pan wasn't in right, so as soon as it started it was not getting mixed--i caught the mistake after an hr, fixed it, and started again. it was only when there was 30 minutes left that i realized i forgot to add the oatmeal, yikes! but it was too late-nevertheless, the kids devoured this, like they'd never seen bread before! i didn't get to even taste this , but i'm giving you 5 stars based on all the crumbs that were left:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      Wow. Delicious and easy. Especially given the fact that I dumped the ingredients in the bread machine and ran out the door, so I wasn't able to check the texture while it was kneading.<br/><br/>My changes: used apple cider for the apple juice. Used Triple Sec for the orange juice. Subbed one cup of white flour for one cup of the wheat flour, and used regular oats instead of quick oats. And I grated the apple in, as someone suggested.<br/><br/>My family of four devoured most of a loaf with dinner (potato cheddar soup) last night, and asked me to make another loaf today. Can't wait to use it for grilled cheese (with cheddar), toast, French toast and peanut butter sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      i tried this twice. It did not rise. Tried fresh yeast. Don't know what happened. It sounded so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Sorry to do this, but this came out just awful for me. I followed the recipe exactly except to omit the OJ concentrate. The texture was all wrong and it barely rose at all. It has almost no flavor to it either. So many good reviews....maybe it's just me?!?! Thanks for sharing though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Very good bread! I used 1/4 cup hulled hemp nut instead of the wheat gluten, and grated the apple. I also used about a tablespoon of cinnamon, and only two teaspoons of breadmaker yeast. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      perfect! i used milled flaxseed instead of wheat gluten, and old fashioned oats instead of quick. wonderful taste, great consistency. just finished the loaf and my husband and toddler have already requested another. thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This was a very tasty bread. The appearance was a not as smooth on top when I removed it from the bread machine, but it did have a nice consistency overall. I did substitute 2 tbs. of buttermilk for the orange juice concentrate, since we were out of orange juice. I also used diced pear instead of apple. I would make this again using the correct ingredients next time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      I really liked this, it had an awesome taste and did make fantastic french toast. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      This bread was very good.So good that I made another loaf for my sister. I didn't have orange juice concentrate so I used orange rind zest. I just left the gluten out, didn't seem to affect the recipe at all. I took the suggestion to make french toast with this and it was terrific, the apple flavour really comes out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2004

      Wow! Great flavors, and fun to put together. I won't provide a rating because I did a fair amount of adapting (not due to any perceived problem with the recipe-- just fun to do!). I used part applesauce for some of the apple juice, and 1/2 c grated Granny Smith. I also added an extra tsp cinnamon, and will probably add yet another next time I make this. A shot of soy powder, some liquid lecithin, and barley malt syrup instead of honey/molasses jacked up the health factor on an already-healthy recipe. After the dough cycle (which I ran it through a few times until I had it the consistency I wanted), I shaped it into a braided loaf, applied an egg white wash, topped it with some oat bran and cinnamon sugar, and baked it in the oven. Fantastic with soy nut butter, honey, and banana this morning. Thanks, Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      I had to dust off my bread machine because I have been wanting to try this for some time now. Very, very delicious. We had it for breakfast, toasted and spread with butter. This will be good also in the Fall, when the weather gets cooler. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Geema, This is great bread, Very healthy, made it just like the recipe said, I did use old fashioned oats as that is what I had, Dh and I had a slice toasted this morning very good toasted. I think next time I will use more diced apples or dried apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Bread - Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.6
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    59%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 351.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites