Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Whole Wheat and Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat and Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2009

      Very good bread. I made this by hand and accidentally added a full cup of oats. I also used 3 cups of King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour instead of half and half. I had to knead this for about 20 minutes (and it still could have stood a little longer but I was tired). It rose up nicely and baked into a beautiful, oatmeal-studded loaf. It is surprisingly moist. Thanks so much! **update - I meant to mention this last time - I don't have a bread machine, so I have to knead this by hand. It is VERY sticky. I probably add an additional cup of flour while I'm kneading - otherwise it gets stuck all over my hands and I have to scrape it off. Next time I will go ahead and add another 3/4 cup of flour before I start kneading and see how it goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This made a delicious loaf! I made this without a machine and changed a couple of things: I used about a tablespoon of honey instead of the sugar, used granary flour for the whole wheat and omitted the powdered milk. I've got a second loaf rising now it was so good! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I just made this today and we loved it. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Pretty good bread. Not sure I'd make it again but it was alright.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      I sub'd splenda for the sugar and applesauce for the oil as well as using all whole wheat pastry flour. I made a half loaf and then the other half of the dough into rolls, taking the rolls out of the oven after about 20 minutes. The bread turned out really moist with a crunchy crust--it was really great and a high fiber treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      This was wonderful! I used white bread flour instead of all-purpose, and I didn't use any gluten. I cooked the whole thing in the bread machine (I wasn't sure, but I set it at 1.5 lb loaf, and used the whole wheat setting). Made great sandwich bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Great recipe! This one is a definite keeper! My 4 year old boy kept asking for more. This is much healthier than Wonder bread is for him. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      This bread recipe is excellent. As a nutritious alternative, I substituted 2 T. honey for the sugar and added 2 T. of wheat germ. I also baked it in my bread machine on the basic setting. Makes great toast! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      This made a delicious loaf of bread. I was very apprehensive as to how it would turn out, as the ball of dough wasn't the usual texture that I am used to. I felt the water content could have been a bit more, but decided not to change anything. Well, it turned out really well. Didn't rise too much although I used instant yeast. Still it was light and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      A wonderful bread;I used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of the sugar.I will be making this one often;I've looking for a whole wheat recipe that wasn't dry; this one is PERFECT!;thank you so much GranJan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      This is wonderful! I added 1/2 cup of softened wheat berries (soaked in water for 24 hours, with several changes of water, then chopped). Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      this is a great bread! i just took it out of the oven and i'm in heaven! i did modify it though- sorry but i always try to make my recipes lighter. first off- no abm for me. so i let it rise 2 times in a warm oven. substitutions were applesauce for the oil, splenda for the sugar and no white flour. used 3 cups whole wheat. this bread has a nice crunchy texture on the outside and soft on the inside. yum! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Wonderful bread! I just wish I could give this more than 5 stars LOL! I kneaded the dough in my bread machine, and used quick rise yeast in place of traditional yeast (same amount). I took the dough out of the machine as soon as it was finished kneading, let it rest a couple of minutes, shaped it to fit a 8x4 inch loaf pan.... it took a shorter time to rise because of the quick rise yeast (18 minutes to be exact!), and then baked it for 25 minutes, in my air-bake convection oven. This loaf probably tripled in size when baked and was so airy and delicious, I am now kneading another loaf in my machine as I type. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe, this is a keeper for me!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat and Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.4
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    17%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 1.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 357.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites